We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would got 3.5 stars if I could”
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #340 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I'll preface my comments be saying I'm not overly picky with hotel rooms. My wife is another story. Went for a weekend with friends. The service at this hotel was outstanding. Our suite was ready way before check-in but when we got there my wife was bummed as there was no bath tub. She's high maintenance, what can I say? One call to the front desk and they hooked us up with another one immediately that had a tub and we were set. The suites are the size of a normal smallish hotel room anywhere else but hey that's NY. The bed, however, was great. We slept very well. The showers all have the stupid half open set-up which I just makes no sense. When looking closely, you could tell a full door used to be there but they decided to be 'trendy'. What's not trendy is having to cover the toilet paper holder to avoid the open shower splashing it. Ergonomics people....get some. The hotel lobby was gorgeous and a nice place to chill. Location was great..we were able to walk to many places. I'd heard about noise problems from the bar if the room was high up, but we were on the 8th floor and never heard a word. Speaking of the bar....we hit the rooftop loungeone night and it was wall to wall packed. Hard to tell much. Based on the location and service, I'd stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leadhitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (6,151)
There are newer reviews for Empire Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,181 - 5,187 of 6,151 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2011

Tiny rooms, couldn't control the room temperature, staff ssssslllllllooooowwww to respond to request for heat, breakfast was overpriced. Felt like I should have my wallet surgically attached to my hand to get any member of the staff's attention...wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel?
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Luanne506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Luanne 506,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Empire Hotel. I would like to sincerely apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. I would welcome the opportuntity to discuss your experience in greater detail. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the Hotel. I look forward to hearing from you.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2011

I became worried after reading some of the very negative reviews of EH, but I had no bad experiences. Every staff member I had contact with--receptionist, engineer, doormen--was very pleasant and helpful. My room was clean; it was not tiny (as it sounds like other rooms are), but it was long and narrow. I couldn't work there because there was no desk or work space--only a narrow table covered with everything except a lamp. I was there for business for one night, and it served my needs well enough. If you need a clean and safe place to stay after long days and night out, the EH would be a good option. A lot of Europeans were staying there.

The main reason why I wasn't crazy about it has to do with Aesthetics. It is all done in dark, heavy colors (bronze, black) and drapes and animal-print patterns--and I found it oppressive. The lobby could be spectacularly beautiful--but the decor makes it closed and dark. I don't think of this as 'contemporary' but as some throw-back to a brooding interpretation of victorian times with dark velvet and drapes and no lights. I found myself just wanting to get out in the fresh air and openness.

I had breakfast there, which was a mistake. The restaurant opened 10 minutes late; the eggs were greasy; they didn't have wheat toast and burnt the white toast. I should have gone to Starbucks around the corner.

I should qualify this by saying my experience of NYC hotels is limited, so if the EH is the best deal you can find, go for it.

Room Tip: ask for room at end of hall. I heard a lot of people complaining about noise, but my room was quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank javl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear javl,

As the Assistant General Manager of the Empire Hotel, I would like to thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback. I am pleased to hear our staff and service exceeded your expectations. Please be assured I will share your review with our restaurant and I apologize for the inconveniences you experienced at Breakfast. I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Empire in the near future. Please do not hesitate to reach out to me directly at the Hotel if I may be of any further assistance.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

I was a bit apprehensive after being booked here for a business trip and seeing people either loving or hating the Empire. Fortunately, while there were a handful of small things that were annoying, my overall experience was quite positive.

The good things: The hotel is stylish and contemporary in the areas that count: the lobby and the rooms. Muted tones and surfaces create an atmosphere that is contemporary without being annoyingly trendy. My bed was very comfortable, although the pillows are like almost every other hotel's: excessively floppy and lacking support for side sleepers. The location is outstanding, with Central Park, Lincoln Center, shopping, subways and excellent restaurants no more than a 5-minute walk away (and usually less).

The flawed things: There were some layout decisions in my room that made me think someone really didn't think things through. The only electrical outlet by the desk was wedged behind the wall-mounted flat-screen TV, making it incredibly difficult to plug in the adapter for my laptop. With people carrying laptops, phones, cameras, etc. on every trip, it's frankly inexcusable for a hotel not to offer ample electrical outlets by the desk. The shower featured only a half-width glass panel, which would probably be ok if the overhead shower head wasn't located in the exact center of the shower. I encountered a small lake on the bathroom floor after every shower. And there's the previously mentioned pillows.

Overall, I was satisfied with my stay here. I slept well, I was conveniently located and I was able to get some work done, even considering the lack of conveniently placed electrical outlets. The flaws took a little shine off the experience, but nothing was approaching deal-breaker level. For a business trip, there's really nothing more I need out of a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tef5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Tef5,

Thank you for your feedback on your most recent stay at the Empire Hotel. As the Assistant General Manager, I am pleased to hear your overall experience was a good one. Please be assured I will be sharing your feedback regarding the layout of the room to our Executive Team. We take feedback from our guests very seriously and utilize it as a tool to assist us in moving the Hotel forward. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Empire in the near future.

Regards,

Jennifer Baldwin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

TERRIBLE HOTEL! I recently stayed here in November 2011. My laptop was stolen right from my room. The worst part was that my roommate was sleeping in the room when the robbery happened at about 11:30 at night. It significantly compromised our safety! The security staff was not helpful and the hotel did not reimburse me for my loss nor accommodate us in any other way. They did an "investigation" but the result was "inconclusive." After reporting the theft to the NYPD and speaking to a detective, my robbery was the 5th robbery this month so far from that specific hotel! It was advised to inform others to NOT stay at the EMPIRE HOTEL. Police are under investigation of the hotel staff as well as a lot of suspicious activity has been reported ever since the Hotel went under new management. Stay safe and DO NOT stay at this hotel!

Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
7  Thank Miranda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empiregmanager, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

Dear Miranda B.,

As the General Manager of the Empire Hotel, I disagree with your assessment of what transpired during your recent stay with us. As you know, there was a full, immediate investigation conducted in response to your claims, and the only individuals having access to your room was yourself and your roommate. No one else entered your room that evening and the room was in fact occupied during the time you are stating your items went missing. We take claims such as yours very seriously and we did everything we could to try and assist you in resolving your complaint. I apologize that our efforts did not meet your expectations.


Regards,
David McManus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Fantastic location, a block from Central Park. Clean, funky rooms as this is a Boutique hotel. Room and bed were on the small-side but staff were very helpful - particularly the Concierge. Refrigerator, TV and safe. Probably suited to younger people/couples.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are noisy from the A/C units in the lane
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GaryT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Its amazing dry cleaning service in 2 hours. Othe hotels I have to turn in at 12 pm to have it back in 6 hours and thats a 'rush.' People here get things doen no ifs or buts. If your business this would come in handy when you have an emergency meeting.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#174 of 468 in New York City
5,229 reviews
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#352 of 468 in New York City
4,346 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#389 of 468 in New York City
6,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#227 of 468 in New York City
3,679 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#73 of 468 in New York City
3,582 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#125 of 468 in New York City
5,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023-7029
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #340 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $192 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. Fun fact, The Empire Hotel was featured in Gossip Girl. Join us for a Chuck Bass cocktail in the Lobby Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing