We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Ok - yet very noisy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Empire Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Empire Hotel
Ranked #321 of 463 Hotels in New York City
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ok - yet very noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

I stayed four days in the hotel. The location is good and the rooms are Ok, the noise level can be incredibly high though. I also stayed in other hotels in NY and some rooms in the Empire are way noisier than the NY average, especially the ones that overlook the back of the hotel (and are above the AC unit).
If you get rooms overlooking the street the hotel is quite Ok I find.
The Fitness Centre is a real joke though and doesn't deserve its name. It should be rebranded as "Two normal rooms containing some fitness machines".

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Benodon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Empiregmanager, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2011
Dear Benodon,

My name is David McManus and I am the General Manager of The Empire Hotel. Thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please be assured I have shared your review with my Executive Team. I do apologize for any inconveniences the external noise may have caused during your stay and we are looking at a few upgrades for the fitness center as well. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire Hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,670
    1,644
    1,076
    571
    364
See reviews for
1,211
1,704
318
943
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (934)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Great location, comfort and service.

Zuli and Helena at the front desk are supremely competent, and their smiles will make your day.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank inglea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear inglea,

Thank you for your recent review of the Empire Hotel on TripAdvisor. As the General Manager, I am so pleased to hear how Zuli and Helena made your day with thier contagious smiles! We look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the near future.

SIncerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

When we checked in there was a problem with the reservation. We had booked four nights, and they only had two in their system! Only after talking with them for a while, they changed our stay to what we had booked. I thought the receptionist was kind of difficult. At a certain point we thought we had to find another hotel for the other two nights... It's not professional to blame someone else (booking.com) for problems and to tell your guest it's not your fault. Professionally you should just have a look at the confirmation and solve the problem instead of waisting time on blaming another. Another guest checking in at the same time booked a special room through his travel agent and not being able to give him that room, it was the fault of the travel agent. Very unprofessional.
We asked for quiet rooms and rooms together, but as we checked this during check in, the rooms still needed to be assigned ('oh, i can do that for you') so we were on the same floor. This having booked in Octobre i thought was not professional. They clearly do not keep any comments on the reservation in mind.
All standard rooms have a buzzing sound coming from the airconditioning due to the location (inner courtyard) . It's a really present sound, quite loud. If you book, you should book a superior room (but there are some that overlook this inner courtyard as well).
If you take these improfessional issues away, and you don't have problems to sleep with noise, you will be ok in this hotel.
The room facilities are good: a small but nice bathroom, very good beds, beautiful design. The rooftop terrace is excellent when weather allowes, very nice view and friendly and efficient service.
Next to this, the location of the hotel is very good, only a 15 minute walk from Times Square, with a lot of shops and restaurants on the way. The Starbucks on the corner is a plus to have breakfast or coffee. There are always taxis outside and the Columbus Circle subway is only a 3 minute walk.

My conclusion would be that if they would try harder to provide not only 4 star facilities, but also a 4 star service, this hotel would be one of the best in New York.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheRockette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, General Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Dear Rockette,

My name is David McManus and I am the General Manager of The Empire Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor. Please be assured I will be sharing your post with my Executive Team for them to utilize as a learning opportunity for our staff. I apologize for any inconvenience you experienced, and do hope you will provide us with an opportunity to gain back your confidence in our ability to provide exceptional service.

Sincerely,

David McManus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Mold on the shower heads, maids walking into the room when we are asleep, key cards stop working, insisting you pay for wireless connection when it was stated that it was included......................the fact that most of our visit was spent away from the hotel doing the sites, eating etc. Means our stay wasn't spoilt..........we will go back to New York, we won't go back to the empire

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Perrymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2011
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

My name is Jennifer Baldwin and I am the Assistant General Manager of the Empire Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent stay with us. I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced while a guest of our Hotel. I would like the opportunity to discuss your experience in greater detail and can be reached at the property. I look forward to hearing from you as I would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back to The Empire in the near future.

Sincerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Don't believe all the reviews on this hotel. Having just stayed there for 5 nights, I can honestly say the whole experience was top notch! All staff encountered, service and products experienced were superb. Excellent welcome and check-in, superb bar staff with some lovely wines (and cocktails says my partner), lovely room with excellent standards of cleanliness and 1st class toiletries. Great location, really no need for cabs. All in all this is an excellent hotel with superb staff.

Room Tip: Relax & enjoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PDonalH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Dear PDonalh,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of The Empire Hotel on TripAdvisor. As the Assistant General Manager, I was pleased to read you enjoyed all the incredible amenities our Hotel has to offer including our location and the Lobby Bar. I have to admit that I agree with your assessment of our staff and levels of service. They are amazing and work hard to ensure our guest's enjoy their experience at The Empire. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

Warm regards,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

Very nice hotel as expected. Staff very friendly and a helpful concierge. Comfortable room with the best bed and pillows I have ever had on a holiday. Always very clean and tidy. Not far from central park or the shops! Excellent transfer in hotel car to airport on departure. Nothing negative to say!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lucy_worsfold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Dear lucy_worsfold,

As the Assistant General Manager of The Empire Hotel, I would like to thank you for your recent review of our property on TripAdvisor. We are so pleased to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to The Empire in the near future.

SIncerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2011

We were a little nervous about staying at this hotel after reading the reviews because we were traveling with our two children (5 yr old and teenager) and didn't want to deal with late night party noise inside the hotel or feel out of place. We needn't have worried! First, we were made to feel extremely welcomed by Romeo at the front desk. He was friendly and professional and our room was ready right away. Romeo gave us a beautiful corner suite with fabulous views of Lincoln center (right across the street) and the city. We were so happy! The location of the hotel is fabulous. The room was huge by NY standards and well decorated and the bed was very comfortable. Although there is a 20-something vibe in the lobby and presumably the top floor bar, we didn't feel out of place thanks to Romeo and the door men who were super friendly to us (and helpful storing our luggage for several hours after checkout) and didn't roll their eyes at our 5 year old as she climbed on the nice lobby furniture. Plus, there were plenty of other families staying there as well. We had a great sleep with only the typical NYC street noise, no noise from inside the hotel. We felt like we were treated very well and would be happy to stay here again. Romeo set the tone for the whole stay and we want to say thanks!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryNH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EmpireManagement, Manager at Empire Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2011
Dear Mary NH,

Thank you for your recent posting on TripAdvisor detailing your experience at The Empire Hotel. Your title "Exceeded Our Expectations" says it all! Romeo is one of the newest members of The Empire Team and we couldn't be more proud of his ability to provide the highest level of service to our guests! We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to NYC.

SIncerely,

Jennifer Baldwin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#378 of 463 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 5,470 reviews
Upper West Side
NYLO New York City
NYLO New York City
#182 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,076 reviews
Upper West Side
Hotel Belleclaire
Hotel Belleclaire
#223 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Excelsior Hotel
Excelsior Hotel
#248 of 463 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Midtown
Ameritania Hotel
Ameritania Hotel
#152 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,420 reviews
Upper West Side
The Lucerne Hotel
The Lucerne Hotel
#118 of 463 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Empire Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Empire Hotel

Property: Empire Hotel
Address: 44 West 63rd Street, New York City, NY 10023
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #321 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Empire Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 426
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on our own private corner of West 63rd Street between two legendary New York City landmarks - Lincoln Center and Central Park - this boutique NYC hotel provides luxury accommodations overlooking the Broadway / Columbus Avenue - the gateway to the Upper West Side. Location is essential to the spirit of the Empire Hotel and the interior motif and design is inspired by the earth tones of Central Park and the stately modernism of Lincoln Center. 426 Deluxe guest rooms and suites, WiFi, Pool Deck open seasonally, Ed's Chowder House Restaurant, Rooftop Lounge, Lobby bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Empire Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing