We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes!!!!”
Review of Awadh

Awadh
Reserve with OpenTable
Awadh is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,498 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $35
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Description: Awadh, once a princely state in the land of the Taj Mahal, is among the most ancient of Hindu regions. The enchanting history of this land of the Nawabs, kings known for their refined and extravagant lifestyles, is recognized through the richness of its cuisine. Here at Awadh, we bring you these bold flavors that balance elements of spice, intensity and acidity. Awadh is Gaurav Anand's latest endeavor, following Bhatti Indian Grill in Murray Hill and Moti Mahal Delux on the Upper East Side. With Awadh, we present a culmination of culinary finesse of the finest food from India's sacred and historic land. We hope to create experiences and memories through flavors as you explore meats, vegetables, seafood, kebabs, curries and breads that will leave a lasting impression on your palate.
Columbia, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Yes!!!!”
Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful upscale Indian restaurant----with ambiance, hospitality and food obviously made with care---tastes and presentation were outstanding. In addition, our party of 3 could have a conversation with ease---no easy feat in today's often noisy restaurants in NYC. This is a winner, and a great addition to the UWS.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Neilki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    34
    14
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“This may turn out to be our favourite Indian restaurant in NYC.”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

There are several Indian restaurants in the neighbourhood. We've tried them all and definitely have a preference for this one.

I grew up on Indian food and always look at the clientele for South Asians to determine the level of authenticity and whether I want to eat there. The atmosphere was very pleasant and typical for what you'd expect from a finer establishment in the City except the service was seamless, professional and deferential...qualities nicer restaurants don't have any more.

The food was delectable! Granted that we only had vegetarian selections, they didn't all come out tasting alike. We like to have our dishes super spicy and aromatic but forgot to tell them our preference. In conclusion, it didn't matter. Everything we ordered: potli samosa, lemon rice, paratha, makhani dhal, kairi ki dhal and crispy okra were all fantastic. Can't wait to return and crossing my fingers that the consistency continues. Maybe we'll even try a meat dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank InternationalPursuit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not enthusiastic after a first visit but will give it another try.”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

Awadh is a new addition to the neighborhood which has already a number of very good Indian restaurants. It has a bar area and seating on two levels, nice, dark decor (although the chairs felt a bit too low) and salsa music playing. We hope that the restaurant will thrive. On first visit, the food was quite disappointing - we had chicken Korma and Black lentils (Dal Makhani), both dishes seemed too heavy in the salt department and not so well-spiced. Unlike many other Indian restaurants, they did not serve papadam (crisps) with chutneys along with the meal. Still, the service was good and the presentation nice. We will give Awadh another go go and try different dishes, which may change our mind!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank se9834a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are always on the hunt for good Indian Food and this place was amazing. The food was fresh and the service was great. Hoping it is just as good when we go back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank giolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav A, Owner at Awadh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Giolo,
Thank you for dining with us at Awadh. We truly appreciate your feedback and hope to maintain the quality of food and service, so you can have the same experience when you return. Look forward to serving you again, soon!
Best wishes
Gaurav A.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
704 reviews
465 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Indeed a welcome addition to our neighborhood”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This Northern Indian restaurant fills the spot on Broadway between 97th and 98th vacated over a year ago by Alouette and while there is another Indian restaurant at 100th and Broadway, this new place is a cut above. First of all, it's Northern Indian cuisine; secondly, it is a more pleasant ambience.

We chose vegetarian dishes together with garlic na'an (what's an Indian dinner without garlic na'an?!) and we were more than satisfied. Including tip, the check came to $38 for the two of us.

The owner's wife stopped to chat with us (the owner is the chef) --- they own two other restaurants here -- she was pleased to get our feedback; another good sign.

We noticed that even though they opened only a few days ago, they were drawing many patrons (there is an upstairs dining area as well) --- we hope they "make it!"

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaurav A, Owner at Awadh, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Mr. Trup,
Thank you for dining with us at Awadh and for your review.I am glad that you spoke with my wife, she was very pleased to get your feedback. We hope that you rerun for some more vegetarian options and look forward to serving you again at Awadh.
Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awadh also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Awadh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing