We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shop Gotham NYC Shopping Tours - CLOSED
Review Highlights
Great Experience!

Surprised my wife for her birthday! Designer handbags and scarves. Marla hooked it up with a... read more

Reviewed March 6, 2020
adambB6514ZN
,
Orange County, California
via mobile
Shopping tour

It was a great tour! It was my 7th time! I love going to the showrooms! Great guide! Great fines... read more

Reviewed December 18, 2019
130vickiej
Read all 519 reviews
  
Reviews (519)
Filter reviews
519 results
Traveler rating
491
11
8
3
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
491
11
8
3
6
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 519 reviews
Reviewed March 25, 2017

I can't thank you enough for putting together such a fabulous day for our girls day in the city. Such a fun experience in the heart of the garment district.Loved seeing the behind the scenes action and having the opportunity to set the designers behind the lovely creations. I'm so excited by all the new editions to my wardrobe.Thanks again Shop Gotham for yet another fun day of shopping and friends.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank pb2017384
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 25, 2017

A Birthday Celebration that has now become an annual event with Shop Gotham! While the Birthday Girl keeps getting older, her yearly request to take the Shop Gotham tour never wears thin. This was our groups fifth time taking the tour and it was as fun and fresh as five years ago. The owner of Shop Gotham consistently delivers in an organized, thoughtful and fun manner putting together varied and creative itineraries. Purchases piled up as we visited an array of showrooms and received one on one attention from designers. Our tour guide was knowledgeable and helped keep the group on schedule. Another wonderful experience that has added more memories of Shop Gotham to my wardrobe!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank MOBWestchesterNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 22, 2017

We had three moms and three teen daughters in NYC for Spring Break--we contacted this shopping service, and they immediately responded with a professional e-mail, including all the details of their service. Melanie was our tour guide, and she was amazing! Moms in their 50s and daughters in their teens have different shopping needs, but she pleased ALL of us! Very helpful in guiding us to cute little boutiques and one amazing store with interactive shopping technology! We can't wait to book Melanie, again! I would highly recommend their Soho tour!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank lillian1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
ShopGotham, Owner at Shop Gotham NYC Shopping Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2017

On behalf of Shop Gotham and Melanie, thank you soooo very much for the wonderful review and for taking the time to write and post it. Most importantly we are so glad that it was a fun and fruitful program for you. We never tire of hearing that.
all the very best, Marla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2017

Our Garment District tour was led by Keve, whose exuberant personality, knowledge of NYC and the designers we were shopping, really Made the program. We shopped 5 Showrooms: each carrying entirely original clothing or accessories and we loved the options and the opportunity to buy at Wholesale. One designer showed us her Fall 2017 sketches and another regaled us with a funny story from fashion week. Thanks so much. We loved!

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank emilynn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 5, 2017

I booked this tour for a friend and her niece that were visiting town and love to shop. Let's start with the basics. The tour is advertised as 2.5 hours, ours was a little less than two.

Our tour guide said a lot of stores were having sales this time of year and we'd get good discounts. But the reality was different. We visited a number of shops and everything was expensive, very few had anything on sale.

There was a lot of info about celebrities and architecture, and our guide clearly loves living in the Soho and Nolita areas of the city, but there was absolutely no discussion of fashion trends, styling, etc. as mentioned in the tour description. The tour guide just seemed like a fan of the area, not a fashionista as advertised.

We did get a map of the area with stores marked with discounts but we didn't visit most of the stores on the list and the tour guide didn't tell us anything about the stores or the discounts. Our tour included a paper and card store and two sweet shops, none of which sold clothing or accessories. Not the laser focus on fashion I was expecting, and a surprising sidetrack from our 2 hours on the tour. If we wanted to book a general tour of Soho and Nolita, we would have done that instead.

For example, we visited Toms, a combination coffee shop and shoe store. The guide took us straight to the back then pointed out the garden where she apparently loves to hang on nice days. Considering it was 30 degrees out, I'm not sure why we were there. She didn't talk about the shoes, or the brand. Then we were back out the door.

Next time I'd find another tour for visitors interested in fashion, maybe the garment district tours.

Date of experience: March 2017
1  Thank AuntStacyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews