We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Soho Loft
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in New York City
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Solita Soho Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
The Broome(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
NOMO SOHO Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
11 Howard(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NobleDEN Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
CITY ROOMS NYC SoHo(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Crosby Street Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
SoHo Garden Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Nolitan Hotel(New York City)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Sohotel(New York City)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveler rating
6
6
0
2
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
6
0
2
11
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 25 reviews
Reviewed November 14, 2007

I recommend this place for those who are comfortable with hostels.

You might think of it as a place where you'd live if you were new to Manhattan and didn't have much money:
- The rooms are small with no windows.
- There's no housekeeping.
- You might have to wait for a bathroom, there might not be hot water and some of the plumbing could be broken.
- The space may be used to host an event; you're expected to leave or stay in your room.
- It's very loud, due to the hardwood floors, thin walls, and the dance studio downstairs.

The biggest positive: the staff seemed fairly eager to please.

Note: This review is for Soho Loft at 199 Lafayette, whereas some of the other reviews seem to be for the unrelated Soho Loft at 153 Lafayette.

Stayed: October 2007
2  Thank dntla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2007

Do not stay here! This place is a disaster waiting to happen. We spent 5 long nights here in September. The guest rooms are tiny little spaces built out without windows, air, proper lighting, and any regard for inhabitation. The construction is scary; electrical wires without protective conduit, registers without air duct connections, a sliding glass door entry with a high threshold (a tripping hazard) NO LOCKS, 2 shared dirty bathrooms with exposed wires and hot water ONLY in one bathroom at a time. Additionally, one of the bathrooms had to have the hot water faucet in the sink running in order for the shower to work.

The pictures taken on this website in the public areas do show the design intent, although most of the wonderful furniture pieces photographed weren’t there. The rooms shown are gravely misrepresented. The “red” room is the only room with a real closet. The rest have cheap wardrobe boxes or hangers mounted on the wall, and one has an electrical/data closet being used as a closet. Each room has a double bed against one wall, thus the poor person sleeping against the wall has a challenge getting to the bathroom at night. One of the rooms has a tiny path around the bed, which a small child would struggle navigating around.

I don't understand how some of these reviews could be good. They must have stayed at a different place.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank LAtravelers007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2007

This hotel was great. The bed was really comfortable and the tv was nice as well. It is on the third floor without any elevators that I saw so you get a small workout - keep that in mind when carrying luggage. Never a lot of noise despite an event and being on top of a dance studio. Our room was not too hot or stuffy and I would prefer not having windows with that New York traffic outside. Simple small breakfast choices but for a single person or couple this place is great. Close to the subway and great location in SoHo - near great shops and food options.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pinkhurricane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

I went to the Soho Loft overnight for a business event in the area and found the experience to be really convenient for me. Some of the rooms are smaller than others, but it's not an uptown hotel, it's a downtown bed and breakfast. It's great if you're going to be in and out of town and just need a comfortable place to stay. I do plan on staying in the loft for future NY business visits.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2007

Staying at the Soho Loft was a wonderful experience. The people working there were extremely friendly. They made excellent restaurant recommendations and I felt like I was actually living in NYC. I would definately recommend this accomadation to friends, family and my business associates.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JRO79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews