We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced”

The View Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #835 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $38 - $84
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 45th Street and Broadway
Transit: N,R to 49th Street, 1,2,3,9 to Times Square and A,C,E to 42nd Street. Buses: M7, M42, M10
Description: Perched atop the hotel, the View Restaurant & Lounge is New York City's only revolving rooftop restaurant. Enjoy a breathtaking 360 view from the heart of the Times Square Theatre District amid an all-encompassing dining experience. The seasonally changing "New American Cuisine" features the best products from artisanal producers including top quality steaks, chops and seafood. Prix-Fixe Dinner. Please join us for Sunday Mimosa Brunch from 10:00am - 1:30pm, $59 per person, including two mimosas for each adult guest. Please note: Reservations can only be made for dining in our restaurant; the lounge is first come; first seated. Thank you! Also contact us directly for details on our all-new Broadway Lounge with panoramic Times Square views, Crossroads American Kitchen & Bar, our elegant Concierge Lounge and our 100,000+ square feet of meeting space.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

The food was very average and we felt rushed - at a cost of over 300 Dollars. (Wasn't offered the buffet!)

The view is ok, until you come to the part when you can see directly into the bedrooms of the w hotel. Just what you want to see as your tucking into a slab of meat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at The View Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Thank you for dining and letting us know about your experience. We will review your comments with our Culinary team to ensure we are meeting our goal of providing an exceptional dining experience. I hope you will give us an opportunity to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,590 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,544
    1,514
    820
    408
    304
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spalding, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great 'View', good food and all without getting dizzy!”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This place certainly has a buzz about it. Nice atmosphere and accessible right in the heart of Times Square. It is a bit pricey for what you get on the set menu but the premium comes for the novelty. Our dining experience was improved having specified on my reservation that we were celebrating an anniversary which resulted in a complementary cake at the end of the meal. The food arrived quickly (arguably too quickly) almost as if they are concerned about table turnover but overall, pleasant visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDavis23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good ambience”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Enjoyed the views. Food was good but disappointed it was a set price menu. $85 bit pricey but the food was very good for the money, would have preferred to choose number of courses as didn't really want 3 but enjoyed it all the same. Drinks extremely expensive. $20 a cocktail and $15 for a glass of wine. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant and asked if we could be moved to a window seat and were told that 4 others were waiting for a window seat. Seemed odd since there were open tables the whole time we were there and no sign of the other couples. Our waitress moved us to a window table to enjoy our desserts without us asking, very nice of her.

Overall a nice experience for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazzaCalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not bad”
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We were advised to go to this restaurant on our recent
to New York. It wasn't bad food good but views not worth the
Hike in prices. Staff were very pleasant and helpful but considering how much this cost I would not return

Helpful?
2 Thank ptrudy708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Terrible Quality”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

If you want to pay a ridiculous amount to sit in a revolving space with dated decor, rude staff and terrible food then this is the place for you! We stayed in the Marriott and decided to have a drink at the View after seeing a show. My husband ordered a Grey Goose martini and was served a gin martini. We he told the waitress that she had brought him the wrong drink, she was willing to bring him what he ordered IF we wanted to pay for a second martini. We ended up spending over $50 on two drinks and one of them wasn't even as we ordered. The view is ok but nothing you can't get from Top of the Rock or Empire State.
Skip this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank airesdra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Guest Relations Manager at The View Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We appreciate you visiting The View and providing feedback about your experience. Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy yourselves and that the drink you ordered was not correct. I will review this with my team, as well as with our staff to ensure they are resolving issues properly. I hope we have a chance to serve you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 

Been to The View Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing