We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible experience. Will never go back”

The View Restaurant & Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
The View Restaurant & Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #819 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $38 - $84
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Midtown
Cross street: 45th Street and Broadway
Transit: N,R to 49th Street, 1,2,3,9 to Times Square and A,C,E to 42nd Street. Buses: M7, M42, M10
Description: Perched atop the hotel, the View Restaurant & Lounge is New York City's only revolving rooftop restaurant. Enjoy a breathtaking 360 view from the heart of the Times Square Theatre District amid an all-encompassing dining experience. The seasonally changing "New American Cuisine" features the best products from artisanal producers including top quality steaks, chops and seafood. Prix-Fixe Dinner. Please join us for Sunday Mimosa Brunch from 10:00am - 1:30pm, $59 per person, including two mimosas for each adult guest. Please note: Reservations can only be made for dining in our restaurant; the lounge is first come; first seated. Thank you! Also contact us directly for details on our all-new Broadway Lounge with panoramic Times Square views, Crossroads American Kitchen & Bar, our elegant Concierge Lounge and our 100,000+ square feet of meeting space.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
2 reviews
“Terrible experience. Will never go back”
Reviewed January 21, 2014 via mobile

Not only was the waitstaff absolutely terrible, rude, inconsistent, and unprofessional, but the food was subpar and overpriced. You are paying for the view. We went to get the Pre-show fixed menu, and we were charged for additions when the set menu was unavailable, i.e.- the cookie to go was unavailable, so there was a $10 up charge for dessert at the table. We will never ever return or recommend this restaurant to anyone. Oh, the view is nice.

Helpful?
Thank Meredithscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViewDirector, Manager at The View Restaurant & Lounge, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit to the View Restaurant. We sincerely apologize for your sub par experience as that is not our normal. I have sent you a message privately to get more details.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,533
    1,501
    816
    403
    301
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“50th Birthday Meal”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We had been looking forward to our meal at The View all day and it did not disappoint we had a nice table by the window so took lots of pictures. The food was really nice I had shrimp cocktail and NY Steak and my partner had Foie Gras and Venison and we drank Mumm Champagne throughout the meal. We finished the meal with Cheesecake and choc mousse.
Oh by the way the revolving restaurant is inside another building so some views are not too good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pieandsausage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great view”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Very smart, very good service, lovely cocktail. Starters good but not special, main courses all excellent and also desserts. Not cheap, but probably worth it for the view and experience.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“View only”
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We ate there at a recent Marquis stay. As others state, keep in mind you are paying for the view, not the food. Although hotel guests with reservations, we were not able to get a table by the window, although the view was still very nice. We were placed next to a family with children who kept running around and slammed into our table. The were not able to reseat us but the family left after about 30 minutes.

We had the pre fixe which was $84. Immediately the waiter tried to get us to order cocktails and the wine pairings. When we declined, I asked about a specific wine pairing for my main course and he was not knowledgeable. The appetizers were okay, but nothing special. The entrees took forever to arrive. The waiter asked us how it was after one bite, at which point we though it would be okay, but soon realized everything was extremely salty, even the side vegetables. A table near us heard our comments and said they felt the same way. We all had different entrees, so it wasn't specific to any one entree. It completely ruined the food. Due to lack of time, which I mentioned to the waiter, we finished them because we had to get out of there. The desserts were excellent, however, but by then we were running really late and needed to leave to make it to the theater.

The final frustration was waiting for the elevator. We had gotten up to the restaurant very fast without delay, but back down was another story. We waited over 10 minutes and when one arrived, they took it out of service so we had to wait for another one with a very long line of people. Plus, that just takes you to the 3rd floor so we had to wait another 5 minutes to get back to our room to grab coats. Hopefully it was an off night because it is a shame to pay premium prices for poor food and mediocre service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carol P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayes Center, Nebraska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A revolving restaurant and bar”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This revolving restaurant and bar is in the Marriot right in the heart of the theater district so go up for drinks before a play and see NY as the lounge revolves.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank nomuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The View Restaurant & Lounge also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The View Restaurant & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing