We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mind Blowing - But Expensive”
Review of Momofuku Ssam Bar

Momofuku Ssam Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Momofuku Ssam Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #716 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Asian, Korean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: East Village
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Mind Blowing - But Expensive”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I've always wanted to check out one of David Chang's places and Ssam Bar did not disappoint. Brilliant creative food - the honeycrisp apple kim chi with bacon rocked my world. Incredible care is taken in the preparation and the ingredients are top shelf. I will definitely go back next time I'm in NYC.

Helpful?
Thank KStetson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    178
    78
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
164 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Rock and Roll Cuisine”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Went back to to this restaurant last night after my first delicious experience a month ago. This time I reserved their special rotisserie duck dinner (which by the way is the only way to make a table reservation; they also have a special pork dinner). There were four of us and we had a blast. First of all despite the fact that the scene is young and hip with music flowing thoughout the space (excellent music like Kraftwerk by the way) the folks in front were exceptionally friendly and accommodating, no hipper-than-thou attitude. The whole dinner was pre-arranged but since we were so hungry (my kids were getting grumpy) we asked for some pork buns, a signature dish that should not be missed. "Sure why not" and they arrived at our table swiftly, making happy smiles all around. What a perfect appetizer, soft bun surrounding a sweet sauce against the salty pork-belly that was just the right amount of meaty and fatty. A small but very satisfying bite. Next came the duck, presented on a platter over rice with chive pancakes, watercress and mint. On the side was a bowl of bib lettuce, perfectly arranged for wrapping the duck, plus four sauces all different and all perfect. I wanted a bit more salt on the duck but I think the seasoning was lowered to accommodate for all the condiments. The duck comes with two additional sides, so we picked greens and pickles but we couldn't resist the fingerling potatoes with black beans so we ordered those too; again, "No problem." I really like those two words at a restaurant in New York, too rarely heard. I must admit when they first brought the platter i was thinking it wasn't that much quantity and we would polish it off in minutes...long story short, we took home a large doggy bag; "No problem."

Two additional points: the waiter was very wine-knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations AND the price was insanely reasonable.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GrillMeisterNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A great place for lunch!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We went here for lunch, but it became more of an early dinner. We had the pork bun, the rotisserie duck with the lettuce wraps and the potatoes. The food was outstanding, and the place was quiet and not so pricey during lunch hours.

The place is quite wheelchair accessible. Everything is on the same floor, though the bathroom is very, very tiny.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IdaJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awesome food!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Had lunch here on multiple reccomendations and we were pleasantly surprised. The food was absolutely delicious - pork buns, 2 course duck and sorbet!!! Menu is a little pricey, but the dishes were well worth it in our view. Love the atmosphere of the place as well, highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A_and_D_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“GOOD BUT PRICEY AND NOISEY”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We went early so we were fortunate not to have to wait. Found the waiter rushing for us to make a decision which is difficult on your first visit. So noisey that it was disconcerting while you are trying these different foods. The pork buns were delicious. My favorite was the veal sweetbreads.
I agree with prior reviews that portions are VERY small and it is pricey. If you are a foodie and love to try to food flavors, you will love this place. Go early.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trueheartreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momofuku Ssam Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Momofuku Ssam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing