We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Momofuku Ssam Bar

Momofuku Ssam Bar
Ranked #528 of 13,476 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: East Village
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

They don't take reservations so if you don't want to wait, I recommend getting there early. Everything we had was amazing and a real treat for the palate. Our favorite thing was probably the steamed pork buns!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank brown_okstate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

529 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    177
    72
    9
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The best pork bun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

We were very impressed with the pork bun! My boyfriend who doesn't eat pork even had a bite and absolutely loved it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Warunthorn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A little attitude, some good service, and great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

we were slated to get the bo ssam (roast pork) prix fixe menu but instead wound up with the bo ssam large format menu as confusion had occurred. As the one who organized this for our party it put me in a bit of a spot (though I preferred the large format menu myself). Service is a weird mix - many rules (no standing in the bar, so we had to wait at a bar down the street) and some inflexibility, and then friendly, informative, well informed and helpful at other times. Bottom line though: the food is killer and unique. Get 5-9 friends together and go for the bo ssam large format (reservations required !)!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank DKDC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had the duck special; very good. Busy for a Monday night, but that's NYC.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gregg1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Brook, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Between average and very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have to give this restaurant a very good because it is not average. However, beware that they serve extremely small portions. The food is very good but overpriced for the amount that you get. I am small and do not eat a lot but for example their shared Spanish octopus should have cost at least half of what we were charged (tiny tiny main dish). Be prepared to order two of them if this is your main dish. The service was not excellent either. We had different servers helping us instead of having an assigned one. There were times when we had to ask whoever was around for help. Because of these reasons, we will not recommend this place and we will not go back there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank restaurantgoer41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Momofuku Ssam Bar also viewed

 

Been to Momofuku Ssam Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing