We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Italian”
Review of Basso56

Basso56
Reserve with OpenTable
Basso56 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 13,630 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Fine dinning restaurant
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

What a gem! This little place had great service and food. Best Italian I've had since going to Italy. Menu is very similar to what you would find in Italy as well. Be sure to make reservations.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lindsay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,206
    496
    150
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Italian meal with attentive staff”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Made reservations here to have our pre-marathon carbo load meal. 6 diners total; all loved our entrees! Home made pastas, variety of specials, delicious sangria, quaint ambience....Our server Wioletta was amazing and very attentive to everything. I would definitely recommend this restaurant for an authentic Italian meal, with wonderful service and a nice ambience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jldrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good place for italian in New York”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We truly enjoy the dinner, the ravioli ricotta and spanish was delicious, great service and a romantic atmospere for an italian traditional meal in New York.

Good selection of wines, we had a great time

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheMontrealers_AS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing!!!!”
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here last night .
Attentive service and great home made pasta.
Will go back again when in NY.

Make reservations in advance because this place fills up.

Helpful?
Thank Barnam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
309 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Times Square (almost) and reasonable”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

This great new restaurant is within walking distance of Times Square and the theater district but worlds away from the other touristy restaurants in this part of the city. The atmosphere was uncrowded and extremely pleasant. The staff to a person was friendly and attentive. We were brought several wine samples to make our selection and all wines on the extensive wine list was reasonably priced. Our salads and entrees were GREAT! The overall experience was perfect and we will go back many times!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basso56 also viewed

 

Been to Basso56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing