We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”
Review of Basso56

Basso56
Reserve with OpenTable
Basso56 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #72 of 13,689 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: Fine dinning restaurant
Ontario
Level Contributor
111 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great food, decent prices, atmosphere good and staff were great. We went with a group of 5 and the total bill was $250 for apps, mains, drinks for all plus tax and tip. Would recommend and go back.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MegMarTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,907 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,213
    498
    150
    31
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pompton Plains, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I agree with Tripadvisors this was a great place”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I used the reviews from other Trip Advisors and went to Basso 56 last week, the place is a great deal! I had my daughter and God daughter and the service was excellent and the prices reasonable ( for NY) I also thought the wine was affordable. I had the Veal marsala and the girls had the Fish special and everything was enjoyable! I will say the grilled calamari and the mozzarella was fantastic as appys!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthjerseyWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So good we ate here twice!!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We used Tripadvisor to find this place and we were not disappointed!! We loved the food and the atmosphere. We ate here twice the food was that good! Great wine selection for any budget. The staff is very friendly. I know there are so many choices in New York but don't miss out on this restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bf_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Reminded us of Italy!”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

First night in NYC and used Tripadvisor recommendation for Basso for dinner. Easy to make reservation. Staff very attentive and very friendly. Wine list is mostly Italian, which we appreciate. Good variety of options and price points. All food portions made sharing feasible, so we all ordered something different and shared. Salad with goat cheese and champagne vinagrette was simple and fresh. Lamb shank with mushroom risotto fell off the bone, it was so tender and well seasoned. Ravioli of the day was stuffed with spinach and ricotta in a brown butter sage sauce. Nice light flavor. Loved it. Seafood fettuccini also excellent. Seafood was cooked perfectly, pasta was al dente. Nice light red sauce did not overpower seafood favors. Had chocolate torte for dessert and it was lovely. Not too sweet or bitter. With cappuccino. It was a nice relaxing, well paced dinner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stp2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
555 reviews
269 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Wonderful Italian!!”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our first night in NYC was kicked off with a perfect dinner.
Great service, timely and even had great recommendations, but only when we asked - the way it should be done.
I would recomment the grilled Calamari for sure. Also the risotto special was unbelievable. Will go again when we return to NYC!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basso56 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Basso56? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing