We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bucket List Check!”

Tavern on the Green
Ranked #1,008 of 14,664 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A modern tavern nestled in a bucolic Central Park setting, Tavern on the Green is an iconic, landmark restaurant unlike any other. Centered around a hearty, rustic menu shaped by local, seasonal ingredients, Tavern on the Green invites patrons into a warm, celebratory gathering space that captures the spirit of Central Park and the energy of New York City. Originally designed by Calvert Vaux and built in 1870 to house the sheep that grazed in Central Park's Sheep Meadow, Tavern on the Green has proudly served locals, presidents, royalty, artists, actors, and first-time visitors since 1934.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had Brunch on Sunday and it was amazing! The pastry basket with butter and preserves was scrumptious. My husband had the burger and I had the blueberry compote French toast with a mimosa. Very romantic setting with warm reception!

Thank auburnlucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavern M, Manager at Tavern on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was great having you stop in, auburnlucy, and we're all so pleased that the experience was an enjoyable one! It really means a lot to hear that our brunch menu made such a great impression. I know the team will love hearing how much you enjoyed your meal here, and we look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 50 of 2,536 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent service in a classic setting and delicious food made this the perfect birthday celebration for my husband and our dear friend. Terrific finale to our theatre week in NYC. The Vaux Tower of seafood was so fresh—chilled jumbo shrimp, king crab legs, stone crab claws, dungeness crab/avocado salad, 2 kinds of eastern shore oysters on half shell, little neck clams. The splurge was worth it! Three of us shared the bone-in 35 ounce ribeye. Complimentary funetti birthday cake and ice cream.

Thank Vicki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavern M, Manager at Tavern on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Vicki, we’re so glad we could be a part of your celebration! Hopefully it was one of the best ones yet. I know the team will love hearing how much you enjoyed your meal here, and we look forward to having you dine with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a VERY nice waitress, but unfortunately, after ordering, didn't see her. Our coffee, water and drinks went unfilled, food served sporadically, condiments and other items we requested showed up mid-meal or not at all. The food was delicious and portions were quite large. But would not return due to service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Vegasthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went for happy hour on a friday night and it was a fun time.....appetizers were good and the drinks were good.....the inside and outside were crowded but we were able to get seats at the bar and the service and staff were friendly and attentive.....will definitely be back when in new york.......

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kasrneu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavern M, Manager at Tavern on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello! We are so glad you had such a fun night with us, and that the service and food made such a great impression. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I were with my cousins last Friday.
We were just for drinks. We had an amazing time together, also the place very beautiful and the waiters were very professional.

Thank dannidani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavern M, Manager at Tavern on the Green, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi dannidani,
Thank you for coming to visit us with your cousins! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your bar experience. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tavern on the Green also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Tavern on the Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;