We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chocolate Heaven”

Chocolate by the Bald Man, Max Brenner
Ranked #295 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 13th and 14th Streets
Transit: L, N, R, Q, W, 4, 5 & 6 trains to 14th Street/Union Square.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Chocolate Heaven”
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

LOVED THIS PLACE. Added this place to our plan based on good reviews and I'm so glad I did. Went with kids (12&16) and my 12yo voted it the best place to eat in NYC. We got Brenner burger, sloppy max (12yo says it was amazing) and the cheese steak waffle (delicious). All recommended. Puddings were all delicious too. Walked straight in at 4pm on a Sunday. Guy serving us was friendly, service was quick and the place was cool. It's not cheap but I found it good quality food with great pudding choices and would defo go back. The Caribbean punch cocktail was pretty amazing too (if not a tad expensive)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L7TLC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    856
    516
    190
    68
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“VeryGoodPlace!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014 via mobile

I love this place. People are friendly and dinner was great. But best of all was the dessert!!!!! Selections from chocolate to ice cream to milkshakes was all great. I enjoyed this place, that it why it's given a 5-Starr restraunt!!!!!!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank quint879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
805 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 334 helpful votes
“Love love love Choclate”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

This is the place for chocolate lovers. This time we tried the food and enjoyed it a lot. The sandwich was made in waffle-like bread, which I never ate something like this before. The deserts were fantastic. Don't miss the Mocha Cappuccino, I loved mine with melted white chocolate….

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon_zz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We had soo much fun eating here... Food was good.. but the dessert were excellent..... Loved it... Chocolate shot is a must try!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank qtindian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What's the Fuss About”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

I was I "had" to take my 13 year old granddaughter to this "Very, very, in place." Both of us felt it was a poor imitation of Serendipity 3 which has been around for more than 50 years. The food was "okay." The chocolate drink ordered by my granddaughter was cloyingly sweet. It was pricey for what you got. They had a large retail section...though I have no problem with selling your wares, but the chocolate was nothing special. Extremely noisy in a loft / factory like setting with NO noise dampening. If it's a great chocolate and funky experience you want coupled with excellent food, stick with Serendipity,s.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alice S R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate by the Bald Man, Max Brenner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Chocolate by the Bald Man, Max Brenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing