We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocolate heaven”

Chocolate by the Bald Man, Max Brenner
Ranked #296 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Manhattan
Cross street: Between 13th and 14th Streets
Transit: L, N, R, Q, W, 4, 5 & 6 trains to 14th Street/Union Square.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I have always dreamed of having a dessert in Max Brenner. In my first visit to NYC, I hadn’t had the chance to visit the place due to the lack of time but in my second time, I planned to go there months before my stay.

Firstly, we tried our chance in Sunday afternoon and it was very busy with long queue of people waiting to be seated. Then, we came again in a weekday and there were lots of available tables. The waitress helping us was attentive and explained the menu with all smiles. We had a fondue for two with fruits, marshmallow, cake, chocolates and ice-cream! It was beyond being delicious. I loved every bite. We had coffees for drink and it was also good. I am %100 sure that I will go to Max Brenner again on my third visit to NYC.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank happilyeverafter0406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    866
    518
    191
    68
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great stop when walking from Wall Street to Midtown”
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We did a major walk our final day in NYC. Our party of seven got incredibly lucky and walked right in with no reservations to a prime table. We did just dessert and it was delicious. I had the s'mores concoction which had several elements to it all yummy. Our tween girls shared the fondue and they were in heaven. Not sure this would be my favorite spot without kids but they were so happy.......it gave us a great time and a fun memory.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seslrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Solid Pearl Sugar Waffles”
Reviewed April 19, 2014

The Suckao ($7.90), a d-i-y concentrated hot chocolate drink, was still as decadent as the last time. There was only one choice of chocolate, and we went for the dark side. Thick and rich, the hot chocolate shot was a fun toy to play with but wouldn't it be great if they can just serve all three kinds and allow diners to mix around freely?


The desserts all sounded very good on the menu, though they leaned on the pricey side. Loved the Tutti Frutti Waffle ($18.90) because the waffles made with Belgium sugar were so fragrant and buttery. The sugar gave it a solid crunchy exterior while the inner dough was thoroughly baked with no hints of wimpy-ness.

However, the O.M.G Double Chocolate Cookie made us go "O.M.G." for a wrong reason. Not only was it difficult to saw with knife and fork, it created so much cling clang on the plate that the noise hazard invited unnecessary attention from other tables. It was surely sweet and tasty, but why would someone pay around $10 for one piece of homemade like cookie and fresh squeezed orange juice sauce? Visit user's blog under profile for full review and pics.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank dairy_cream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best waffle”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

Very tasty waffle and nice atmosphere...busy due to its popularity! Convenient location too if you're using subways as u should be (we visited from England for my partners 30th birthday...he loved it too!)

Helpful?
Thank Kpatel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salt lake city
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Chocolate!”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Food was okay, mixed feelings by the members of our group, but the chocolate... oh the chocolate! I don't love things that are super sweet so I was surprised when I fell in LOVE with their milkshakes and hot cocoa. Not too sweet but just sweet enough.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank areese12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chocolate by the Bald Man, Max Brenner also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Chocolate by the Bald Man, Max Brenner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing