We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AKA Times Square
Ranked #142 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Al Jubail, Saudi Arabia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed in Aka Times Square between 22nd till 26th May 2014 with my family (2 adults and 3 children). And I can describe my stay there as expected and more!! The staff (specially Cynthia) was friendly and helpful. The apartment was clean and furniture was almost new. The proximity of the hotel around Times Square attraction made it perfect fit for people enjoying NYC.
I loved my stay and definitely will stay again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    171
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
191
188
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

If you are looking at a longer stay or if you are traveling with large size family, AKA is a great place to consider. Its suites of 1/2 bedroom are perfect places to stay in Times Square. I was on a business trip and stayed here for 4 nights. It was lovely stay and I will definitely stay here when I am back in NYC next.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nitin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I stayed here with my mum and siblings in December 2013 for 7 nights in a two bedroom apartment. During this time it was super cold in NY and snowing quite heavily. Having AKA to come home to was the best. it was warm, cosy, modern and lovely. The staff always greeted you morning or night and it smelt like hot apples and cinnamon constantly. The room itself cannot be faulted The beds were comfortable, the heating worked wonderfully and the there were 3 tv's (important for us considering we all like to watch different things!)

The kitchen was also great as after several nights traveling you dont exactly feel like going out, so it's nice to be able to cook for yourself or at least warm something up in the comfort of your own apartment.

The only thing that may bother some people is the lack of window light. All rooms have windows but they are not very big. This wasnt an issue for us but may be for some.

Finally, the location is what really makes it. Don't let the fact that it is situated in times square put you off, its in a quiet theatre lane which is busy enough that you dont feel unsafe but quiet enough that it doesnt affect you in the room. It's a 5 minute walk to bryant park which is also a lovely hang out. Times square, rockefeller, moma, grand central, magnolia, duane reade, 5th and 6th avenue shopping are all within walking distance. In fact, we walked home from central park a couple of times and probably would have walked even further had it not been so cold!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank katschultz214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here in April 2014 and were a party of 4. My husband, 11 month old baby, my mother and myself. We were all impressed by its convenient location to theatres and Times Square. We enjoyed seeing a few musicals and shows and were able to walk out of the doors and locate theatres very easily. Very close to 42 nd St Subway to get around too.
As NYC accommodation can be expensive we intended to stay in a one bedroom apartment with myself, husband and baby in the bedroom and my mum on a pull out lounge. We were very glad that there was a pull out sleeper in den/study that provided extra privacy for my mother. The kitchen and was well equipped and even a washer and dryer to do some laundry was great.
We stayed on level 8 and it was fairly quiet except for a few evenings when there was some work being carried out on the street.
When we arrived the doormen was very attentive and the concierge too. In our room, there was music playing and a welcome note. We had requested a baby cot and that too was set up in our room. We had preordered a welcome pack of food, drink and snacks as this was waiting for us. These little things were lovely after an afternoon of driving back (then returning the car) from a side trip to the Hamptons.
As we travelled in April, the thermostat in the room was set to warm so it was, at times too hot in our room. As it was effecting our sleep, we had to let concierge know. After returning home, a portable air conditioner was put into our room and enabled us to get a good rest.
Overall we had a great holiday and the location and attentiveness of the hotel and its staff added to this experience. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelKat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was not ready at check in time. Even though hotel staff were apologetic but it did not help me especially when I was travelling with a child. I stayed in one BR apartment. Rooms are small and very poorly designed. Bedroom is very small. Bathroom is very small with no shelf to keep things. Poorly lit rooms. It did not seem worth the price. I definitely would not stay here again. I would consider suites in hotels that could be available for similar price.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank MrPSY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Had a one bedroom apartment which was very modern, clean and sizeable. The front office staff were friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend this accommodation to anyone visitng NY particularly for an extended stay. We stayed for 7 nights. Very conveniently located

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KBR472013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, Australia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This Hotel is not too bad,our room had a small kitchen and laundry but it is very dark and cold feeling. The staff are very pleasant the rooms are very small and the whole apartment is badly designed. We visit NYC a bit and feel that the Hotel will not be my first choice when next in NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 792Carol_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#129 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 578 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#185 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 386 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#240 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,014 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#47 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Property: AKA Times Square
Address: 123 W 44th St, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-4089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing