We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
AKA Times Square
Ranked #169 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is the perfect location - tucked in enough from Broadway so that it is much quieter when you return to the apartment/condo and yet so close to the "action" just down the street at Times Square. A very safe area. Great for our family in summer and we also came for New Year's Eve. We could see the ball drop from our window and be down the street for all the action too. Perfect location for a stay with teenagers. Shopping at Forever 21 is around the corner and open until 2:00 am! We like the ability to stock the fridge a little and not eat out for every meal or just have snacks and beverages on hand. It's a minimalist environment, but clean and much more space than any hotel room you would find that close to Times Square - or maybe anywhere. Nice, courteous staff as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marty533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    171
    29
    8
    11
See reviews for
191
188
11
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for in a 2 bedroom apartment for 10 nights with our teenage daughter and would recommend this apartment hotel to anyone. The apartment was to be serviced just once while we were here so we paid for an extra service to be done. We loved the fact it had a washer and dryer in the apartment and a full kitchen however the kitchen wasn't used as there are so many great restaurants close by. The staff were also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luluk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was my first time in New York and celebrated my 55th birthday here with my husband. Location fantastic. Theatres, Time Square and Bryant Park for relaxing all close by. Spacious apartment with kitchen and washing facilities very handy. Next time I would ask for a floor higher up as its pretty noisy early on the weekday mornings (we were on the 3rd floor). Would definitely come back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Travelled from Australia had 8 nights at AKA, suited our need perfectly. Great to have facilities to wash clothes, cook basic meals and get great advice from the staff. They helped us with our planning, responded to all queries and ensured our stay was smooth and memorable.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelThomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I have stayed at another AKA with the family and it was great so thought I would try this location on a recent business trip. Staff was nice and my room was ok but not great. But most of all the room was hot!

The room was so-so, the staff was nice but he room was a bit worn and HOT

I would not stay at this hotel

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed and again we were very impressed. Very comfortable, modern and clean. Also surprisingly quiet given its location. Great staff as well.
There are many great restaurants in the immediate area. Only disappointment is that the rooftop bar is still not open. When we stayed in March 2012 we were told it would be open shortly!
Even so, highly recommended.

Room Tip: A studio room provides greater space to spread out for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

What a great place. Right in the thick of things. 44th street. A two minute walk up the street and your on Times Square. The hotel is more like having a condo. The unit had a nice look to it with a full kitchen and washer/dryer. The staff were helpful and courteous. Needless to say, this really is the heart of Times Square so everything is available to your heart's desire.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AugerP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Premier Hotel
The Premier Hotel
#128 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#188 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Times Square New York
Hyatt Times Square New York
#53 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Night Theater District
Night Theater District
#240 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,013 reviews
Midtown
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
The Kimpton Muse Hotel
#48 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Property: AKA Times Square
Address: 123 W 44th St, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-4089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#123 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing