We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
AKA Times Square
Ranked #99 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great hotel in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the AKA in June for 6 nights. The location was fantastic - very central but far enough off Times Square to be away from all the madness. The reception staff were wonderful and couldn't do enough to help us. Our room was spacious, modern and had everything we needed. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    184
    31
    9
    11
See reviews for
221
202
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at the AKA Times Square for ten nights at the end of May 2013 and were delighted with the room, location and staff.

Located just minutes from Times Square the room was a one-bedroom suite with a roomy office. The room was very spacious with it's own washing machine, dryer and dishwasher. It was spotlessly clean and looked as though it had never been occupied.

The friendly staff, without exception, greeted you cheerfully with a smile every time you passed by and nothing was a problem from providing additional room supplies to information about directions and dining options.

We would happily stay here any time we returned to New York.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel-Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

A wonderful apart hotel in a prime location, at the heart of all the action, just a few steps away from Times Square and major subway lines stations, hence with easy access to other parts of the city.
We had a one bedroom apartment that was VERY specious, even not in NYC standards (important when it comes to storing all of the shopping!!).
Very clean and modern with well equipped kitchen which is very convenient.
Staff are all very friendly and helpful (special thanks to Hande!)
A great choice for NYC!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guyguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
289 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you have a family or are traveling with another couple, AKA suites are perfect. Rent one suit instead of two hotel rooms, and live/feel the NYC style. Top shelf modern accommodations in the heart of the city. Limited but friendly accommodating service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom penthouse, I was travelling with my husband and my 87 year old father. The staircase was a bit of a challenge for my father as the stairs seem very narrow and steep. The hotel was in the greatest of locations, right in the heart of Times Square and the staff were extremely helpful. We stayed 8 nights so the apartment was ideal for our needs. The room was quiet and comfy. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ieatapepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed in 2-bedroom suite 809 for 3 nights.

Location is fantastic, just off Times Square.

The apartment was spacious and reasonably quiet. The trade-off is the windows looked on to...brick walls, which meant virtually no natural light. The lighting in the apartment is good, but if you were staying more than a few days you'd want some natural light!

Bedrooms a bit small but OK for New York, with very comfortable beds. There was a lack of storage space which meant we ended up living out of suitcase for our stay, and one of the cupboards was virtually inaccessible being behind the bedroom door.

As other reviews have stated, for a 2-bedroom flat there is only 1 tiny shower room, which is nice, but simply insufficient for 4 occupants.

Living area and kitchen nice, and reasonably well-equipped, although if these apartments are aimed at medium-term lets I would expect a better-equipped kitchen.

In summary, a good base to explore the city, but my main issue is the price. It's close to luxury hotel rates, and for self-catering with few add-on services, that makes it poor value.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite at the side or rear for a quieter room. Beware the smoke alarm. Ours went off whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brasil
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

AKA Times Square is an excellent option to stay close to the attractions. You can do everything on foot. Theater, shopping restaurants. Felt very safe and could chose to go out to have dinner or buy stuff and cook in the apartment.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front have more light and are quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ricardo58Brasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
The Premier New York Times Square
The Premier New York Times Squar...
#164 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#61 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,903 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#76 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Property: AKA Times Square
Address: 123 W 44th St, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-4089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#80 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing