We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BETTER THAN LAST TIME”
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
AKA Times Square
Ranked #114 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“BETTER THAN LAST TIME”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed here 3 years ago and liked it then but it has only gotten better. Perfect locale if you want to be near TS and theaters. Clear rooms, comfy beds, great shower in the room I was in (701). TV in both bedrooms as well as living area. No view in the room I was in but the room was still bright and cheery. There were three of us sharing the 2 bdrm apt so the per night price worked out well considering we split it 3 ways. Best of all though was the staff and service. So friendly and helpful and accommodating. Came right up to the room when needed, friendly on arrival, kept luggage all day after check-out until my car arrived. Really good French bistro across the street as well as a great little grocery/deli. Also Virgil's BBQ across street and upscale French restaurant next door. 2 blocks from Bryant Park, close to everything midtown. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    185
    33
    9
    11
See reviews for
225
209
12
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed at the AKA Times Square from the 23rd dec 2012 until the 2nd jan 2013. The location of the hotel is fantastic to say the least, Right off the centre of TS.

The rooms are well kitted out and spacious.

Whilst we stayed there, there was construction going on at the front of the apartments so we couldnt really see out of the window :(
The main reason we stayed at these apartments was for the new years eve celebrations. Being that the apartments are just off broadway/T.S we stupidly assumed you would be able to get a better location for the NYE celebrations if you paid extra (a lot lot lot extra) to stay in the middle of the action. When we left the apartment at 7.00pm on NYE the police wouldn't let us enter TS from our hotel street and we had to walk a number of blocks back up manhatten to access from there. We spoke to reception about why they charged so much for the night of NYE when there is absolutely no benefit of the extra money and they just said "that is how it is".

Going on that i'm returning to New York for a week before Christmas this year and i will not be returning to AKA Times Square.

Room Tip: Not worth the extra $$ for NYE
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linniebin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Best location ever, kind staff, loads of space, warm and functional. I could live here, could not have asked for more... Except I would equip the Apartment with those little essentials that make life easier such as washing liquid or a nice duvet instead of blankets. Overall fabulous.

Room Tip: Ask for atom on the back and a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fran C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

While I am not a big fan of the Time Square area, I needed to stay close to meeting locations, so AKA Times Square was an excellent choice. Here are the key points:
* Location a block from Times Square
*Adjacent to a very nice French brasserie (convenient for breakfast)
* Units are modern and offer everything a leisure of business traveler would need (mine had a study, separate living/didning area, two level penthouse suite)
* one thing that may be an issue with NYC hotels in teh winter is heat - this residency had great heating system mainiating even temperature troughout both floors)
* Internet is available, however in some of teh rooms the connection seemed to be slower
*being a residency, AKA Times Square has a very relaxed feel and fast in/out access (especially if you are in a hurry for a meeting)
* my room was quiet given the higher floor

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luxurymiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

our family of 5 stayed at the AKA in January - the location was superb, the apartment clean & spacious, but most importantly the staff were great. Warm & friendly & very caring - our daughter became ill & the staff were extremely caring & concerned.

the business centre was a real bonus as well as the freshly brewed coffee & fruit that was available daily.

we would certainly recommend the AKA as a really warm, friendly home away from home!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Centrally located near Times Square so within easy access of most of NYC. Large bedroom with well equipped kitchen, small functional bathroom and a spare room with not much more than a chair and light. For those staying longer there is also in room washer/drier. Hotel also has a small business centre and small gym. Staff were all very friendly. Only issue is the overnight noise from garbage collectors, and the old style key lock was a surprise. In summary, if you do not need room service then why not opt for more space?

Room Tip: Get room not facing main road if that it possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank po_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We came to NY for only 5 days, wanted to check it out hoping it would be great since the pictures looked good and the reviews weren't too bad. Plus it had a washer/dryer and we are coming to NY in Sept for 2 weeks. Well we got there and the bathroom floor was very dirty, looked like the floor had not been washed since at least the last people there. Also I took off my shoes after walking around in the kitchen and bedroom my socks were full of hair and dirt! Just gross, I mean who wants to pay $350 per night for that. Also the linens were awful. Bed sheets were poor, I think they could do better since they are charging enough per night. The heater is another story, very loud and the room was cool when we got back so we would turn it on, was very noisy. Then we found out that it's an extra $25 for maid service!

Anyway, I recommend Hotel Meila over this hotel any day!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#56 of 466 in New York City
3,169 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Premier Times Square by Millennium
The Premier Times Square by Mill...
#174 of 466 in New York City
755 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#72 of 466 in New York City
3,996 reviews
Midtown
The Iroquois New York
The Iroquois New York
#40 of 466 in New York City
3,613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Property: AKA Times Square
Address: 123 W 44th St, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-4089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Preferred Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelPower, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing