We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love, love, love this place. Will definitely be back.”
Review of AKA Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
AKA Times Square
Ranked #114 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2012

I usually come to NY a couple of times a year so I have stayed at a variety of different hotels all over town throughout the years. I just discovered this place because I was using American Airlines miles and happend to see it on the list of hotels available for my dates on the AAdvantage redemption website. I am so glad I discovered it.

We stayed in room 808 and had a view out onto 44th St, so not a great view but at least it wasn't a view to a brick wall, which you get sometimes at NY hotels. It was fine with me but if you're after a high rise, panoramic city view, this building is not tall enough to provide that for you. I happened to call before I booked the room and was told by the front desk that there are renovated apartments and also some that have not yet been renovated, so if you get the opportunity, request one of the renovated ones.

One thing to be aware of is that there is only housekeeping service once a week, and they will tell you your cleaning day when you check in. It is usually in the middle of your stay. If you need towels or anything in the interim, just ask and they'll bring them up, no problem. We actually prefer not to be bothered by a housekeeper coming in every day as we work during the day from our room, and it's more of an interruption for us. It's really more like an apartment than a hotel, so look it at it like that. No restaurant or room service in the building, but there are probably a thousand restaurants that will deliver to you, so you're not missing out.

Our 1 bedroom apartment was really very nicely appointed. The living room was large enough for us to have 9 people (including myself and my husband) for dinner one night (Chinese food delivery). The hotel was very helpful and brought us extra chairs, opened up the leaf on the table for us, brought us extra plates and silverware, showed us how to turn on the ice maker, etc. They were extremely accommodating.

The apartment had a full kitchen with a very nice built-in Sub Zero fridge, GE profile stainless steel appliances, dishwasher, microwave, etc. There's a coffee machine, all the kitchen stuff you could need. I could live there forever and be quite comfortable and everything was new and spotless.

Each apt also has a stacked washer and dryer, so you can go home with clean clothes in your suitcase, if you so desire.

The bedrooms all have a king size bed (unless you happen to need one of the ADA/handicapped equipped rooms, which have a Queen bed). More on this later.

The bathroom had a large a walk-in shower with a rain shower head from the ceiling -- very nice. The bathroom is not attached through the bedroom which is important if you have family members sleeping on a rollaway in the living room. This way they don't have to come traipsing through your bedroom while you're sleeping in the middle of the night.

We had an elderly family member joining us for the last few days of our stay so we decided to be extra cautious and move into one of the ADA-compliant apartments as it had grab rails in the shower, as well as a shower seat. We had to give up our king bed for a queen, but it was worth it for the safety aspect. The hotel staff was so wonderful about helping us move. They couldn't have been any nicer about it. We got a rollaway bed in the living room for our guest, which she said was quite comfortable. It was nicer and thicker than I pictured. It was definitely not one of those skinny army cots. They came and made it up with fresh linens, and got us all settled in (again).

As for the location, if you like being in the heart of the action, then just walk a half a block up 44th street and you are right smack dab in the middle of Times Square. Take pictures of yourself under where the New Year's Eve ball drops, see a Broadway show, etc. If you prefer not to be in the mob scene, then just go half a block in the opposite direction on 44th St and you're just in a normal business district, not very crowded at all. The subway is either at Times Square (mob scene) or in the quieter direction, at Bryant Park. You can get anywhere in town quite easily.

I can't say enough about how great this place was for us. We really felt like we lived there rather than feeling like hotel guests. If you prefer to have some space to hang out in as opposed to just having a standard hotel room, I would definitely recommend AKA.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank denisetraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

292 - 298 of 603 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have just stayed for 10 nights and have thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff are very pleasant and were most willing to help with whatever we required. The apartment was very spacious, full kitchen, washer and dryer, and we had the apartment serviced twice while we were there. It is in the midst of all the action of Times Square, close to the subway and you can walk most places. Highly recommend AKA Times Square.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank purds5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We travelled from Australia and stayed as a couple for 10 nights in April 2012 in a 1 bedroom apartment. The property is only 50 steps from Times Square, in the heart of Broadway on Manhattan Island. We could see a glimpse of Time Square from our window. As I write this review, the interior of the building is just on the tail end of a complete interior renovation while keeping the beautiful exterior facade. We were impressed firstly with how quiet the interior of our apartment was, given its close proximity to the very busy Time Square. The interior fit out of our apartment was minimalistic and modern. It had a spacious entry, leading to a combined lounge/ dining and full kitchen. Although we didn’t cook, the kitchen was fully equipped with a large refrigerator, oven, hotplates, microwave, dishwasher and adequate cupboard space. The lounge/dining was spacious by NY standards. The main bedroom boasted a comfortable king size bed, quality bedding, built in cupboards/draws and a wall mounted TV. The bathroom was newly renovated with a large walk in shower and a shower rose which felt like you were standing under a waterfall – very nice to stand under for a minute (or five). Further, we were offered free wired/ wireless internet (bring your own CAT-5 cable for wired). The staff were polite and willing to assist. There are several restaurants either size of the apartment building and across the street for meals if you (are like me and) don’t want to cook on vacation. The subway was a 2 block walk. Our only criticism of our apartment was that the main bedroom only had one bedside table (which needs to be addressed by AKA) and our air-conditioning (heating) was a little noisy. But these two features might be unique to our room #1003. Would we book AKA – Time Square again? Yes definitely. The positives certainly outweighed the few negatives. Best Wishes - Michelle

Room Tip: Higher floors have a glimpses of Time Square. Corner rooms have two windows in the bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SkierAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

My wife and I had heard many horror stories about New York hotels, i.e. low standard accommodation, inflated prices and everybody must get tipped, (even for just saying hello to you).

This fear was crushed after about 5 minutes, the standard of the rooms was fantastic, two bathrooms, kitchen, laundry room, office, free use of the internet, free coffee and fruit, in the lounge. This accommodation could not be faulted.

But the cherry on the top was the staff, they could not have been more helpful or accommodating in any way than they were, to use an American expression, they went the full nine yards for you, and never once did anyone expect a tip.
The only time I got a strange look from them was when I asked how far to Times Square, but the doorman was very polite and pointed about 50 yards down the street and said, that's it.

All in all, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnarguineguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here in September 2010 I believe. We enjoyed being right off of Times Square. Yes it is full of hubbub and it was spectacular. We could walk to the TKTS booth and get our tickets on sale for the top shows. Do NOT buy from scalpers unless there is no chance for you to get a ticket otherwise and you bid them way waaaay down. We did but then I would not have seen Billy Elliot otherwise. We saw so much. We used the subway to get all over the city. The location was excellent and an easy commute. We drove to NYC and parked in a parkade the entire time and picked the car up when we left. No worries. The hotel was clean, well maintained, and great location. It had a full kitchen and even the studio (we were in both the studio and the one bedroom) had an extra room called the office. High end appliances and lots of room. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: We were in two rooms while we were there and quite frankly both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank naninottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Fantastic location so close to everything, tubes, times sq, Battery Park, shops...

Apartments are moden and spacious for New York, best value we could find for the money. Pricey but not as pricey as some.

Definetely would stay there again as just a really great package all round.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annakmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at end of March 2012. Having booked after finding a recommendation in one of the sunday newspapers we were delighted with this place. Very clean and modern and spacious with great features including dishwasher and full kitchen equipment, washer and drier as well as a fitness room and free wifi. The rooftop bar was being renovated while we were there so we are looking forward to enjoying that on our next stay. Even though this contruction was happening and impacting on the small lobby it was kept clean and quiet and the staff were most helpful. Location has advantage of being in walking distance to many attractions and although close to it was much quieter and less frenetic than Times Square. One comment we would make is that the apartments facing the street would benefit from black out blinds to cut the glare from the Times Square lights at night. We would definitely recommend this hotel and will be back next time we visit New York.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
AKA Central Park
AKA Central Park
#227 of 470 in New York City
455 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#105 of 470 in New York City
485 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
AKA Wall Street
AKA Wall Street
#224 of 470 in New York City
109 reviews
Midtown
LUMA Hotel Times Square
LUMA Hotel Times Square
#21 of 470 in New York City
269 reviews
Midtown
The Knickerbocker Hotel
The Knickerbocker Hotel
#75 of 470 in New York City
2,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AKA Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AKA Times Square

Address: 123 W 44th St, Between 6th & Broadway, New York City, NY 10036-4089
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#94 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $280 - $716 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — AKA Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AKA balances the style and hospitality of an intimate hotel with the space and comfort of a fully appointed luxury condominium. Recognized for long stay comfort and value, AKA stands for unparalleled metropolitan locations; contemporary design; and exceptional business, fitness, and lifestyle services.AKA Times Square is located in the heart of the theater district, surrounded by the vibrant spirit of New York City's Times Square neighborhood. Just steps from Sixth Avenue's business corridor, ours is a superb location for business travelers as well as visitors seeking the best of Manhattan’s dining, entertainment and nightlife scene. AKA Times Square provides a perfect environment for stays of a week or longer, offering 105 total apartment residences, including spacious studios, one and two bedroom suites and duplex penthouses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your AKA Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aka Times Square Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing