We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“1 night stay at Lafayette” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette House
Save
You added Lafayette House to your Saves list
Ranked #386 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“1 night stay at Lafayette”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We stayed at Lafayette House for one night with three people. We were very happy with both the service and the atmosphere of the place. The hotel is old, and quite dark - but that is part of the charm. The location is fantastic - very close by to some of our favourite places in East Village. We stayed in room 2 on the bottom floor with access to the private garden outback which was a positive surprise given the usual sizes and standards of hotels in NYC. Even though there was no front desk, Dave from the hotel was extremely accommodating from our first encounter until we checked out. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone travelling to NYC and would for sure consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Room 2 was great - shared the private garden outback together with room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellinor D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Lafayette House, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
It was lovely meeting all of you! We hope to see you very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our experience at Lafayette House will be one of our most memorable stays anywhere. We stayed in room 15 and were stunned by its generous size and exquisite decor. Beautiful antiques and mirrors made us feel like we were staying in a luxurious suite from another time. The bathroom had the deepest tub and was like an oversized jewellery box. Divine! We were spoilt with top quality toiletries, not generic chemical rubbish which you usually get in most hotels.

The enormous king size bed had the finest linens and was really comfortable. The suite also had airconditioning and heating but we didn't need either as the weather was just right. The mini bar was well appointed and quite reasonable. On some days it was quite difficult to drag ourselves out of the room it was so lovely and comfortable but hey, we were in New York and there is so much to see.

This is located in such a great neighbourhood. Other reviewers have mentioned that this place doesn't have a restaurant or bar but you certainly don't need it at there is a really cool place just next door which had a fantastic menu breakfast, lunch and dinner and is really stylish but reasonably priced. On the other side is a little bar if you feel like a beer or a wine. We had our favourite New York restaurant, Calliope, just 5 mins down the road. We walked 10 minutes to the Bowery Ballroom one night (saw the Milkcarton Kids. Loved it!), so close. Walked back from seeing Alec Baldwin in a Broadway play too, about 45 minute walk. It is such a relatively peaceful location but everything not too far away.

We were really impressed with David the manager and the chamber person (the room was always impeccible and he was so friendly and helpful). Even though it doesn't pretend to be a hotel style service/concierge provider, when my partner had a painful ear problem David located a walk-in medical practice and phoned them ahead to check on when we could see a doctor. He could not do enough. He also spoilt us with one or two treats during our stay and we were grateful.

If we were regulars to New York I would be reluctant to write this (as it should always be booked up) but since we hardly make it there I am happy to share what a special time we had here. Wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, General Manager at Lafayette House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
It was our pleasure having you at the hotel! Hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I chose the Lafayette House because of it's location and it's charm that I read about on Tripadvisor. My daughter and I stayed in No. 10 which is on the 3rd floor, has a rear view and windows on 3 walls. This king bedded room has velvet drapes, antique rugs over wood floors, an antique armoire, a chest of drawers, a cafe table with chairs and a lovely seetee. The very small kitchenette area has a frig - circa, 1940 - and a new mini frog. There is a stove top that we did not use. The bath is comfortable and is as small or large as any 4 star hotel in the city.

Upon check in, Asia met us at the front door and helped up to our room. She is lovely. The services at Lafayette House are first class. They are only a phone call away. The property has no lobby or front desk. It feels as though you are coming home to a rooming house in the 1900th century --- only nicer. The manager, Dave Partee, was the most gracious host and took our calls no matter what time. It's owner, Sean MacPherson also owns the Bowery Hotel which is around the corner. Their restaurant, GEMMA, is wonderful. The Lobby Bar at the Bowery Hotel is lovely and you feel as though you are in your home.
As a guest of Lafayette House you are invited to use the gym at The Bowery Hotel. The room is very small, intimate and wonderful.
The B Bar, next door, will delver meals to your room. Great perk.

Room Tip: I chose the Lafayette House because of it's location and it's charm that I read about on Tri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emmy6_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave P, Manager at Lafayette House, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review! We would love to welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

When you step into the small entry hall of the Lafayette House, you've crossed the portal of a time machine taking you 100 years back into Old New York. The narrow staircase leads to a series of private rooms, each decorated with turn of the century furniture, many with working (gas) fireplaces.

It would be wrong to call it a hotel, though very accommodating and knowledgeable staff are on duty most hours of the day to take care of your needs. The furniture and fixtures are a bit run down, but that's part of the charm, and makes the place seem a bit more welcoming and relaxed. Nice big bathrooms with deep soaking tubs, a good shower, and the rooms are quite large by typical New York hotel standards.

Sure there's no hotel bar or restaurant - who needs one, you're in the East Village! There's a great diner, B-Bar, a few steps away on 4th St, and one of the best wine bars in the city, Aroma, is right next door. On top of all that, it's actually less expensive than your typical sterile NYC hotel. If you want to take a trip to New York and want the feeling of actually living in the East Village rather than staying in a hotel, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has loads of charm and character and I love it. It's not the slick and shiny experience that you get at the big high rise hotels (and of those, I love the Standard High Line) but a stay at Lafayette House is a completely different view of NY. It feels like you're staying with some incredibly wealthy long-lost relative, in rooms that have a gorgeous decadence to them. It's in a great location in the East Village, and the B-Bar Grill downstairs does an amazing brunch. And all the character and charm doesn't compromise the facilities - the bathroom had a great shower and an enormous bathtub, and all the rooms have working fireplaces. The room was also so quiet, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had in NY - the secondary glazing must be completely soundproof. I would go back tomorrow and stay for a week if I could!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Lafayette House is a true TREASURE conveniently located to shopping and restaurants in the East Village. ATTENTION TO DETAIL is apparent immediately when you enter this well-kept brownstone. The mid-10th Century furniture offers a restful ambiance uncommon in NYC. Our room had a gas fire place adding additional charm. The bathroom tub and sink are likewise vintage, with an ingenious brass shower fixture (Barber Wilsons, London 1908). Additionally, the tub rim was capped with seemless marble. A relaxing bath in the copious tub is a real treat after a busy day in the City.

Room Tip: Room #5 has easy access from the front entrance and a nice view of the patio. Access to the patio i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriagehouse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked last minute on a Friday, and the staff quickly gave us the key and prepared the room, the French King Suite. We needed somewhere clean and quiet, and the Lafayette House was both. The original windows had another interior window installed overtop, so the room was quiet (the windows could still be opened). The bathroom was vintage, but clean and charming. The gas fireplace was a nice touch. We were concerned that smoking is allowed in the rooms, but a staff member said that an ionizer is used in all the rooms. We were surprised to smell no evidence of cigarette smoke. Linens were nice.There is a great bar and grill next door and fun Irish pub two doors down, so we thought the location was great. All in all, less expensive for our family for a place with lots of character.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanMaire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#174 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 552 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#93 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#116 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,207 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#98 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,248 reviews
SoHo
The Mercer Hotel
The Mercer Hotel
#336 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette House

Property: Lafayette House
Address: 38 East 4th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #386 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lafayette House Hotel New York City
Lafayette Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing