We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite hotel in NYC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lafayette House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette House
Save
You added Lafayette House to your Saves list
Ranked #387 of 478 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favourite hotel in NYC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel has loads of charm and character and I love it. It's not the slick and shiny experience that you get at the big high rise hotels (and of those, I love the Standard High Line) but a stay at Lafayette House is a completely different view of NY. It feels like you're staying with some incredibly wealthy long-lost relative, in rooms that have a gorgeous decadence to them. It's in a great location in the East Village, and the B-Bar Grill downstairs does an amazing brunch. And all the character and charm doesn't compromise the facilities - the bathroom had a great shower and an enormous bathtub, and all the rooms have working fireplaces. The room was also so quiet, it was the best night's sleep I've ever had in NY - the secondary glazing must be completely soundproof. I would go back tomorrow and stay for a week if I could!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zeffer_Relli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    17
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
190 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

The Lafayette House is a true TREASURE conveniently located to shopping and restaurants in the East Village. ATTENTION TO DETAIL is apparent immediately when you enter this well-kept brownstone. The mid-10th Century furniture offers a restful ambiance uncommon in NYC. Our room had a gas fire place adding additional charm. The bathroom tub and sink are likewise vintage, with an ingenious brass shower fixture (Barber Wilsons, London 1908). Additionally, the tub rim was capped with seemless marble. A relaxing bath in the copious tub is a real treat after a busy day in the City.

Room Tip: Room #5 has easy access from the front entrance and a nice view of the patio. Access to the patio i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carriagehouse37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked last minute on a Friday, and the staff quickly gave us the key and prepared the room, the French King Suite. We needed somewhere clean and quiet, and the Lafayette House was both. The original windows had another interior window installed overtop, so the room was quiet (the windows could still be opened). The bathroom was vintage, but clean and charming. The gas fireplace was a nice touch. We were concerned that smoking is allowed in the rooms, but a staff member said that an ionizer is used in all the rooms. We were surprised to smell no evidence of cigarette smoke. Linens were nice.There is a great bar and grill next door and fun Irish pub two doors down, so we thought the location was great. All in all, less expensive for our family for a place with lots of character.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanMaire_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
124 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nice town house with antique furnished rooms, beds are comfortable. The kitchenette (cutlery, plates etc. are provided) with a well stocked bar is a nice plus.
Service is friendly, yet minimal: hello & goodbye; someone on-site from 8 am to 10 pm. The area itself isn't too quiet, mainly due to ongoing construction work. There is no bar nor restaurant attached to it, however, B next door serves good food (can be ordered in the rooms as well) and plenty of other venues are close by. Get a room with balcony or private terrace to unwind on or to invite some friends over. Price is on the upper side considering the services provided, thus the average price/value rating - But hey, it's NY and you get a way more individual experience than with similar priced hotels.
Would have been nice to learn more about the story of the house, but the guest folder doesn't give away anything - Anyway, we'll be back!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We had read about the hotel in the New Yorker as a "must stay". It was significantly less expensive than the other "must stay" rooms that were between $500-$800 per night. Our room was $350. We stayed in room #4. A very large room with a little kitchenette and a private porch. It was like staying in your aged Aunt's home (Well, if you were a Rockefeller!) Antique furniture, chandaliers and mirrors....

The room is very large and incredibly charming. The bed is comfortable and the staff are helpful and responsive. The amenities are upscale and generous. Hotel is in the Bowery - a great location near lots of cool restaurants.

All that said - it is not updated. The bathroom is quite old with a plastic shower curtain sticking to you....a sluggish drain in the tub...nowhere to put your stuff to get ready - a very old fashioned sink and the small mirror is high above the rather dimly lit sink. The porch - while an incredibly rare and lovely NY feature has very uncomfortable chairs. And...you better be in shape if you have luggage! There are very steep stairs to get in and even steeper to the second floor.

So if you are up for a little quirky ...and want romantic or different - this might be the perfect place! If you are looking for modern and luxurious - perhaps not....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I found this place from a friends recommendation in desperation as the hotel I previously booked had a broken air conditioner (it was 97f out). I called last minute and they had two rooms to pick from. I needed four nights so this was welcome news. As I walked up to the front door I had to second guess myself as it looked just like a normal SoHo brownstone. It is perfect. The best thing is not having to deal with a front desk- just helpful staff that magically appears from under the stairs - the incredible privacy and amazing comfort of being surrounded by early century antiques. The restaurant next door (right next door) serves comfort food (to your room if you wish) and of course just steps away are so many other great places. Wonderful location. Wi-Fi was fast. Room was cool intemp. Very clean. I can't wait to try another room. Maybe in the winter so I can use a fireplace.... Keep in mind that this is a little expensive and for the same price you could stay in a very nice hotel with all the usual services (bar, front desk, concierge etc)

Room Tip: I stayed in the basement- had my own lovely patio. It was great for late night glasses of wine- woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janell V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in room #10 at the top of 2 very steep staircases. It was the heat wave of all heat waves and the room simply would not cool down. Also, the water in the bath sink had no pressure at all. As the room would not cool with the standard unit, they brought a fan and we still sweated through the night. Forget getting cool in the shower as the bathroom got no air at all. I complained about that fact that I was spending $325 for each of 3 nites and they moved us down to room #1 with a private courtyard for our last 2 nights. Very lovely. They were very accommodating and brought us complimentary waters, a oscillating fan and extra pillows. All my requests were immediately attended to. That said, the bathroom needs some work. Old, very poor lighting and the tub wouldn't drain during our last morning's showers. (nothing worse then standing in 4 "of water while you shower). Would I stay there again? Maybe. I see the room we were upgraded to was $450 or so. No way would I spend that. $325 tops. We went over to see the sister property "The Bowery Hotel" and saw a standard Queen for about the same price. Much brighter, great bathroom and of course, hotel services. The Layfayette House was very cool if you can get the courtyard. We had wine and cheese with our family and some friends and sat out there a long time. Very private, quiet and very New York. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49406Re_Act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#176 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#105 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#112 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#179 of 478 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,205 reviews
Hyatt Union Square New York
#97 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,241 reviews
SoHo
The Mercer Hotel
The Mercer Hotel
#334 of 478 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette House

Property: Lafayette House
Address: 38 East 4th Street, New York City, NY 10003
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #387 of 478 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lafayette House Hotel New York City
Lafayette Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing