We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great downtown option”
Review of Lafayette House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lafayette House
Ranked #402 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I love this property, as it's really well located close to bowery/east village and all of the restaurants and bars that come with the neighbourhood. The rooms are a lot larger than almost anything else I've seen in the city, and it's got a laid-back feel.
The mini bar is very cool and well stocked, without being too overpriced, and the design has real character.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 48 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

After very upsetting experience at another neighborhood hotel, found this jewel of a hotel completely by accident. Beautiful 'row house' hotel built in 1848 and in excellent shape! The room was clean and comfortable furnished in elegant Victorian style. The bath was huge with an 'olympic sized' tub equipped with an overhead shower that reminded me of a tropical rain. All the room amenities (and more) of modern and more expensive hotels. The staff couldn't be more accommodating or pleasant. Great place to stay with great value, especially for NYC. Highly recommended and will definitely stay again!

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2011

Anyone staying here needs to realize this is a guest house, not a hotel. You are paying for a room only. There is no common space, no lounge, no front desk, no doorman, and no staff whatsoever after 10 pm. To charge these prices for so little in the way of services, the rooms had better be pretty great, and they are – large, beautifully if quirkily furnished, with comfortable seating, good firm bed, luxy bathroom and working fireplace. The pictures on the website are accurate. The problem is that if something goes wrong after hours, you are basically out of luck. In our case, the issue was a noisy party in the room below us, perhaps not a big deal for some people but it was very annoying for us. We tried both the operator and the “after hours” number – no answer from either. Ultimately it proved impossible to get hold of anyone on the hotel staff. The party ended eventually, but it would have been a big concern had there been something more seriously wrong. It was well into the following week before we got a call back from the hotel about our complaint. The staff when they did finally get in touch was apologetic and comped the room for that night, which we appreciated. So just be aware – lovely place in a great neighborhood, but casually managed. More like living on your own (amidst gorgeous Victoriana) than being pampered by a full service hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AMN27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

We've just had a week in NY staying at Lafayette House. I booked it because I wanted to explore this part of Manhattan and come home to a working fireplace each chilly evening. Well - the location was great but the fireplace was a big disappointment. When I enquired about using it, I was told that as 'it wasn't winter yet' the fireplaces were not working. This seemed a bit unkind because it was definately winter weather - everyone on the streets was rugged up in overcoats and boots and scarves etc.
We arrived at around 10pm and, as arranged, collected our key from the bar next door - all good. But our room was freezing when we checked in and the central heating radiators were stone cold. I called the 'after hours' number, which our 'welcome' letter advised we must not hesitate to use, only to receive a recorded message asking me to leave a message. All very unsatisfactory. However, once we sorted out the heating (without being able to light the fire) we got used to the hotel and enjoyed the area. Lafayette House is quirky and quaint, albeit rather shabby, but I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Roseanthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2010

I just stayed here on business for 4 nights. A friend had told me about it sometime ago and I had been meaning to give it a shot. As the UN conference was happenning the same week, rooms were hard to find and not only did Lafayette house deliver on availability, they also seemed to offer on cost. The room although without a seperate living area was huge (King Suite) and very tastefully furnished with antique furniture. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom huge. The building is an old brownstone and the entire building has been restored to it's original glory. There are no facilities on site, but plenty of restaurants and bars very close by. My only negative comment was about the construction work going on outside, which has been going on for several months and with this much distraction I can't understand why the hotel didn't mention this beforehand. I have to be up fairly early so not a huge problem for me, but at 7.00am every day diggers would start up & the construction work would start.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iain B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

One of the nicest guesthouses in Manhattan is on a side street in the quickly being gentrified Bowery near all the East village boites and the boutiques of NoLiTa. Owned by the same duo behind the Maritime and Bowery hotels, of its 15 rooms, all have working fireplaces and cosy chic Parisian flea market decor. I also love that the keys to the front door are left at the Bowery Bar next door, which also provides room service, if you arrive after six (when the manager leaves).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fashion3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

Almost didn't write this review because i didn't want anyone else to find out how good this place was in case we couldn't get a room next time. Each room is unique and the style is old world brown stone new york, with a hint of a 1950's brothel vibe. Great bathrooms.
Make sure to ask about the best rooms as there is some major variance.
it kind of feels like your living in your own apartment, which is great but don't expect room service or any service for that matter.
Great location and cosy fireplace in each room

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank lumei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#244 of 473 in New York City
731 reviews
Greenwich Village
The Marlton Hotel
The Marlton Hotel
#119 of 473 in New York City
638 reviews
Greenwich Village
Washington Square Hotel
Washington Square Hotel
#134 of 473 in New York City
1,524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Bowery Hotel
The Bowery Hotel
#81 of 473 in New York City
675 reviews
East Village
St. Marks Hotel
St. Marks Hotel
#416 of 473 in New York City
463 reviews
SoHo
The Mercer Hotel
The Mercer Hotel
#366 of 473 in New York City
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lafayette House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lafayette House

Address: 38 E 4th St, New York City, NY 10003-7008
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , NoHo
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #402 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: $325 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lafayette House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Lafayette House Hotel New York City
Lafayette Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing