We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious, friendly, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro 61

Bistro 61
Reserve with OpenTable
Bistro 61 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,097 of 13,551 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: French, Soups, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper East Side
Cross street: NW corner of 1st Avenue and 61st Street
Transit: 4, 5, 6, N, R & W trains to 59th Street/Lexington Avenue, and Roosevelt Island Tram.
new york city
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, friendly, affordable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Delicious French bistro fare with Moroccon influence.
Go for weekend brunch. Other specials throughout the year. Old LP album covers enclose menus

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelinlight08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    14
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice french style restaurent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stumbled across this really nice restaurant on 1st avenue. Served by a waiter from Paris (France) who was very helpful and friendly. We shared a creamy Moules starter followed by seafood pasta and a veal escalope. Both dishes were very good, especially with the bottle of cotes du Rhone. $106 before tip - excellent value.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank SKHatIsabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Miserable Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The cranky French manager who seated us yesterday seemed terribly put out by any request we made: Can we have some water? Do you have any specials? Can we have some more bread? He also brought the wrong salad without apology.
The food was not very special. The tiny moules mariniere were the size of my thumbnail.
The people who own Marche du Sud across the street also own Bistro 61 but the differences were like night and day.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luckypoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
251 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

I judge of French bistro buy it red and its muscles and french fries. all were mediocre. I also got the sauteed artichokes that I was excited to have and they were bland. oh well

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hockeylover59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powhatan, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We enjoyed two nights of dining at Bistro 61 - it was convenient to our hotel on a rainy night so we gave it a try - it was so good we went back the next night. Mussels were great!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 61 also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Bistro 61? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing