We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great after theater choice”
Review of Nook Restaurant - CLOSED

Nook Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Seating
Neighborhood: Midtown
Description: New York City/ Hells Kitchen's little melting pot of cuisine, serving eclectic dishes. We are open for brunch on weekends and holidays, and lunch and dinner throughout the week. Reservations are accepted for dinner only. We allow customers to "bring your own" beverage (BYOB) with no corkage fee. Also be warned: Service depends on the mood of the server and your attitude. ;-)
Pasadena
Level Contributor
124 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great after theater choice”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Given the LIMITED seating, consider yourself lucky to enjoy a meal here. The mushroom cigar appetizer is not to be missed. I had a pan seared salmon plate with scrumptious mashed potatoes and my spouse Thai Grilled Lamb. We switched plates during the meal and we thought the to choices excellent. The peanut butter pie was fine. ;-). Warning BYOB.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CalinCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    35
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, QC, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Tiny and good”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a really tiny restaurant. We were there for brunch around 11:30 and had to wait about 45 minutes for a table. They do not take reservations. There is a bench right outside so you don't have to stand while waiting. Food was decent. Prices were good. Cash only. BYOB. Only thing to complain about, you can't sit, relax and chat with your friends after you are done eating. You have to eat and leave. They actually ask you to leave. Too many people waiting at the door. It was good, but not sure I would go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank guest2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
208 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Tasty menu options in small, BYOB cash-only place”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We found the server (Ramon?) to be very friendly and helpful. Definitely recommend the mushroom appetizers, they are fabulous. Three out of four entrees were very tasty. I had the lamb, which was just OK, not as tender as it should have been.
There are a couple of liquor stores in the area to provide for your alcohol needs.
As others mentioned this is a small place so if it is crowded you might want to try another night as the wait can be long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelTalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, PA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch Around Theatre District”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was looking for a tasty place for brunch in the Theatre District after buying tickets for "Newsies" at TKTS in Times Square. I saw Nook rated and decided to give it a try. This is a fabulous little find that I will surely visit again. I ordered a "scramble" of eggs, spinach, tomatoes and goat cheese. It came with greens and a scoop of a sweet potato mixture with a kick. I don't even like sweet potatoes but this was delicious. My sister and daughter ordered the Eggs Benedict Florentine and loved it. The prices were extremely reasonable and surprisingly low for New York City between $9 and $12 for each meal.

The only odd feature is that you have to walk through the kitchen to get to the very clean bathroom. I will definitely go here again on my next trip to NYC. Zagat rated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nook”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Great place to eat after a play,,very small, byob, cash only, fresh, homemade food and desserts, friendly service,

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank meg0217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nook Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing