We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just lovely”
Review of Bistro Citron - CLOSED

Bistro Citron
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Upper West Side
Cross street: West 83rd Street
Transit: 1 at 79th Street and Broadway B & C at 81st Street and Central Park West.
Description: French Bistro on New York's gorgeous upper west side. Enjoy a glass of wine at our premiere bar. Dine on Parisian favorites from soupe a l'oignon and steak frites to boeuf bourgingonne and coq au vin. The true French bistro experience is at Bistro Citron on Manhattans beautiful upper west side.
brooklyn, ny
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Chose this place for a special meal with a good friend and we both could not have been more pleased. It's a lovely place and the staff is warm and attentive. The wine is generously poured and the food excellently prepared.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bkcrabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    65
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food, noisy enviroment”
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We very much enjoyed the food at Bistro Citron. But having conversation with our party of five was almost impossible. When they design restaurants they should consider acoustics as well menu.

Helpful?
Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely Pavement Restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I ate here on our first night in NY; Never having been to the city before, we simply didn't know where to eat and just wandered around from our hotel and found it.
The service was superb, very attentive, with water being frequently topped up and fresh hot rolls being offered.
We both had starters and a main course, both of which were delightful.
Lovely restaurant and if you're ever in the Upper West Side of NY it's recommended

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
216 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were welcoming and friendly. Drinks were served quickly and they ran through the extensive specials menu. Ordered the paella for 2 and it came plated on 2 plates which was unusual. However, it was loaded with fresh mussels, clams and scallops and way to much for me. Luckily my boyfriend was able to polish off the rest of mine. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoRo500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
243 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“ok, but stuck up”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Looked great from the outside so I walled in and sat at the bar for a meal. Service was slow and the bar tender gave me a feeling he was doing me a favor by serving me. The food was good but the service not.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank uri123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Citron also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing