We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Morning Star Cafe New York,New york”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Morning Star Cafe

Morning Star Cafe
Ranked #592 of 13,559 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Morning Star Cafe New York,New york”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Old fashioned New York restuarant comfort food. Buttermilk pancakes bacon, sausages, omelets sides potates, burgers, fried shrimp. You name it! All reasonably priced. I always prefer to have my breakfast here. They also deliver if your staying in the area. The buttermilk pancakes are very tender and served hot. The chocolate milk super good. Busiest during the week end . So come early so you don't end up waiting on a line. Enjoy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank s i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    138
    33
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Didn't live up to the hype”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

We quickly got a table at 10:45 and were nearly harassed to place our order. The omelette was good but the home fries not warm enough. The Monte cristo was a little disappointing - two slices of challah French toast with a couple slices of ham and one of turkey tossed lovelessly on top with swiss cheese melted over top. It looked pretty messy and didn't taste that exciting. I saved some challah to eat as plain French toast with maple syrup, but found the maple syrup to taste more like Aunt Jemima's than pure maple syrup.
Service was poor after our food was delivered, and we had to ask for a water refill. It picked up again when they wanted to get us out of there to seat waiting guests.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drk2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate here our first morning in New York. They have a great breakfast menu and lots of booths. We ordered pancakes, eggs and bacon. It was all so good and filling. We will defiantly be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cwm0812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altamonte Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
246 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

I found the place while searching for diners on the internet. The place was close by our hotel, just two blocks. It was bustling, warm, with quick, attentive service. I had pancakes, one egg and one sausage, which they had no problem to comply. Thoroughly enjoyed it, prices fair for the area and will definitely go again.

Helpful?
Thank Luvsviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
74 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Nice NYC diner vibe but food quality was below average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Morning Star Cafe was mentioned several times in various NYC papers and magazines as a good diner selection therefore decided to pay a visit. Might be due to the expectations but the food did not live up to them and pretty far from it, the potatos served with our breakfast seemed to have been cooked over a week before and the milkshakes were watery and warm.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling4food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Star Cafe also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Morning Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing