We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Morning Star Starts Your Morning Off Right”
Review of Morning Star Cafe

Morning Star Cafe
Ranked #835 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Midtown
Albany, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The Morning Star Starts Your Morning Off Right”
Reviewed May 28, 2012

The food was a bit dry and needed some seasoning, but what this place lacked in taste, it more than made up for in service and ambiance. The staff, primarily Eastern Europeans from what I could tell, were incredibly accommodating. The diner looked like something out of the 1950's. The food could have been better, but for the price it was okay. I'd go back. I'd recommend it to others, too.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grenba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    145
    34
    11
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
336 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Home style Food”
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I eat at this diner every week - sometimes 4 or 5 times. The food is very good. The specials include soup or salad, main course, and coffer or tea. The portions are big and the food is fresh. The staff is very courteous and welcome everyone. I frequently see the same customers returning day after day just like I do. The prices are very reasonable. Sometimes I have to take some home because the portions are big. I recommend this diner over other ones I have eaten in New York.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Re27k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good experience”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

This is just a great little cafe on 2nd Ave that we happened across looking for somewhere to eat breakfast. Our breakfast was so very good that we went back over the next few days. We also ate dinner there on one occasion, and totally enjoyed this as well.

The service, atmosphere and particularly the food were amazing. The owner and staff could not have been more accommodating and helpful. Thoroughly recommend their Lox Benedict and breakfast potatoes.

This place is perfect for families or tourists looking for a good value, quick service, freshly cooked meal.

We look forward to our next visit to NY and this lovely little cafe.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Camillepatrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Breakfast in America - fantasy NY dining experience”
Reviewed May 3, 2012

Legendary NYC Diner, like the one in that Edward Hopper painting - this is exactly the place I wanted to eat my omelette to order in New York. Had pancakes too. they have jugs of coffee that keep getting poured into your cup. It never seems to close, and it was around the corner from the Pod Hotel.

really enjoyed eating here - got me fuelled up for a day's wandering around Manhattan and also sorted me out for food very early before catching a flight.

top marks!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murnauontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
409 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Classic NYC Diner”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Holy cow ... these guys are fast! I don't know how those cooks do what they do as fast as they do it, but awesome! Small diner, super friendly service and lightning fast. We had a bagel with a schmear of cream cheese, my boyfriend had the lox eggs benedict, which he loved. Great location, felt like a local. Wish I lived in the neighborhood so I could stop by all the time :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Morning Star Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Morning Star Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing