We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely pay more for the private rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed November 5, 2008

NYC is like London: expensive overpriced lodging, most of which have misleading professional photos of the actual rooms.

However, if you can afford to spend ~ $65 dollars/night, definitely go for the private ensuite double rooms. THESE are the red-walled rooms advertised on their website with dark wood furniture.

We had a nice double bed with clean sheets (and no bedbugs!) + a small ensuite shower --> a huge blessing that we did not have to share bathrooms with other people who leave it really dirty!

Did not see the dorm areas so cannot confirm the tatty carpets and shabby rooms (unlike the advertised pictures).

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mphetamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

621 - 627 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2008

I stayed at the broadway Hotel n Hostel on a recent trip to New York with friends. we chose this place cos we wanted a hostel to save money, but this one stood out from the rest as it looked like it would be just that little bit more comfortable, with more ammenities due to the fact it was also a hotel.

Bearing in mind we planned to stay in a hostel, it had everything we needed, but wasn't worth the extra money we'd paid expecting a more up market hostel, as it had nothing to back that up. The lobby area is lovely, really modernly presented, but as soon as you go up the stairs to your room, the carpet seems to run out as soon as you turn the corner from reception, and the great presentation of reception, is no more. this would be fine if it wasn't for the fact that the website makes the hostel appear to be more than it actually is.

Our dorm was an 8 bed, and was pleasent enough, very basic which is what you'd expect from a hostel, but not what you'd expect from what the website shows!!! on our floor there were 3 bathrooms, between about 7/8 rooms (i'm not sure if they were all 8 bed though) which can be a hassle in the mornings with everyone trying to shower. also each bathroom is a shower, toilet and basin, there are no seperate toilets, which when everyone's showerring can me crossing your legs. we had the added problem on our floor that one of the bathrooms didn't have a lock, luckilly i have good friends though, so we'd read a magazine in the corridor while th others showered to avoid having to wait for one of the 2 working bathrooms.

the only other downside would be that the staff aren't particularly helpful, they just didn;t seem that switched on. The doorman was lovely, but the actual reception staff were a little useless, they alwys said they's help with whatever you asked, but never seemed to deliver. from the moment we arrived we were asking for extra blamkets as the room got a little cold at night, they were always in the wash and would be brought to us in 10 minutes. the first 10 minutes lasted 3 days, we finally managed to get our extra blankets on our last night!!!

all in all, i wouldn't say don't stay here, but i would say, don't go with the high expectations you may get from the fancy website.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2008

Don't be fooled by either the website or the lobby, it is just a facade (though obviously undergoing renovations, so it might get better in the future). Booked a private room for two nights (so my experience may differ from those who book dorms)
I will pass on the cockroach (there was only one in the bathroom, I was expecting worse), the staff being unfriendly, with the very long wait to get checked-in (or to check out), the antique elevator, the creaking bed, the lack of quietness, and half of the TV channels either having a poor reception or being in spanish, I was not expecting anything much anyways.
But what made the stay so terrible is that when we came back the second evening, the room was a little too cleaned: All our belongings had disappeared! They were not stolen, but apparently housekeeping thought we paid (cash and in advance, of course) only for one night, so all our clean and dirty laundry were put, along with toiletry items, in a single bag in a "Lost & Found" room. All our food (including special allergen-free food) had been discarded.
After long negotiations with Property Management on the checkout morning, we managed to get a financial compensation to make up for the hassle, but I won't try it again any time soon.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank elPadawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwayManagement, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2008

We apologize that your stay here with us was not as enjoyable that it could have been.

Our housekeeping staff takes great pride in doing everything possible to service our guests and providing them with a clean, comfortable stay.

As you stated, there was some confusion with housekeeping in regards to your check out date. They followed procedure and cleaned your room as if you were due to check out. We did what we could to compensate you for your inconvenience and we apologized for that.

We are making continuously effort to always upgrade our facilities. To say we are a just a facade...is unfair and not true.

We do hope that you will return in the future so that I can ensure that your stay here at the Broadway will be a better one.


~Jeremy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2008

I stayed in the four people dorm 7 nights, checking in was really quick. The lobby was looking good, it was safe, I didn't loose anything. It gives you the opportunity to meet people since there are a lot of young people staying there. The room was very small though and the flooring was all torn out. The restrooms were clean, and the room were also clean. They did the beds every day. It was with easy access to downtown. A lot of places where to eat in the area. Facing Broadway street, great location. Security man who opens the door for you each time you enter or go out. The rooms are mixed between man and women which might be a problem.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dorisone47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2008

We stayed in a 6 bunk share room for the first night and a private ensuite for the following 9 nights.
I didn't like the share room, as there is no luggage storage in the room, and if you dont have locks on your bags, then you better hope there is nothing valuable in them! The share bathrooms were clean enough considering how many people were using them!
The private ensuite was great and at US$100 a night, you can't really complain!! It was clean, the sheets and towels changed daily, had fully functioning AC and TV. No issues.
The only things I didn't like were the slow lift, MUCH faster, though a pain as we were on level 4, to take the stairs!
Reception. Check in was slow and a painful process. The girl there must have been training, but was just so unnapproachable! Luckily there was a guy there who seemed to be the manager who took over and looked after our booking.
All in all, I thought it was in a great location, was safe and clean.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank oz2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

While the hostel is not as flash as it appears in the website photos, it is a pretty nice place for price. I found it to be very clean and the rooms were roomy enough, freshly painted, A/C, basin, mirror. There were 4 clean bathrooms on our floor, just don't plan to shower (or pee!) at peak times. The lounge/kitchen is a great place to meet other travellers and you are allowed to bring alcohol in, with plasma screens showing movies. Bank of computers with internet at a decent speed/price. The elevator is sooo slow, take the stairs. Lots of shops, restaurants, cafes, laudromat etc close by and seemed like a decent neighboorhood. Short stroll to the subway station, longer walk to Central Park. My only criticism is that the rooms are all co-ed. It was fine most of the time, because I was travelling in a mixed group, but one girl had booked separately and was put in a mixed dorm - a little intimidating for a young female traveller. I'm going back to New York and am staying at a different hostel purely because of this reason, if I was not travelling alone or they introduced single-sex dorms, I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AussieGirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2008

the lobby looks very nice but the rooms of the hostel look very different. i thought it's a very nice hostel until we heard some strange noise at night. we had mice in our room and so we asked for a different room. we immediatly got one - that was great - but in the other room we had also mice !! we were so tired, that we just closed the hole where they seemed to come out and at the next morning we had to change room because it was overbooked.
so it was very exhausting at this hostel : (
the good things were the elevator, free wlan and every day some nice movies at the tv-room and on weekends with popcorn : )
the bathrooms and the position of the hostel were okay too.
although there were some good things at this hostel i wouldn't recommend it because the fact of the mice overweight everything. it's a great pity : (

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwayManagement, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2008

We do apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay in regards to mice. Our housekeeping staff works very hard in trying to keep the hostel as clean as possible. They provide guest with service daily and the linens for the beds are cleaned and changed daily as well.

However, some things may be beyond our control. We are in New York City, a city where mice can be a problem for most buildings...even the famous ones. That is why our hotel policy is for our guest not to bring any type of food into the rooms.

We are continuously working daily to upgrade the property so that we can provide our guest with the most enjoyable stay possible.

Best Regards,

Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#413 of 470 in New York City
555 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,014 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 470 in New York City
1,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#140 of 470 in New York City
7,396 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#355 of 470 in New York City
19,901 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 470 in New York City
11,815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $67 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Orbitz so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing