We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$177
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$339
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,230)
Filter reviews
1,230 results
Traveler rating
231
520
276
95
108
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
231
520
276
95
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssubway stationcentral parknew yorkupper west sidelounge areacleaned every daybagelstwo double bedstimes squarefew blockslocation is greatvisit nycsinkbroadwaymanhattanensuitecomputers
Filter
Updating list...
298 - 303 of 1,230 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights here and could really take it or leave it. Staff weren't all that friendly unless you were an overly attractive leggy female, in which case the young door guy would stare creepily. The lift is mega old and slow, a bit hard opening the old doors while trying to drag out and giant bag or case (no one offered to help, also while dragging my case up the stairs). Room was basic, I had a corner room which was pretty roomy and spacious. There is no WiFi in rooms, only in the foyer and common areas downstairs (apparently, I could hardly ever get WiFi at any time). This place is not bad if you're just passing through for a night or two but I probably wouldn't recommend it for any longer, especially if your only way of contacting friends and family and finding you way around is with WiFi.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts. We are currently working to update our wifi, and hope to have the building fully wifi accessible soon. We do our best to provide quality service and comfortable accommodation at an affordable price, and we apologize if we did not meet your standards. We hope the you still had a lovely time in New York City.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2014

The hostel is perfect for a city trip to New York. The subway station is next to the hostel from where you get downtown easily. The staff is more than friendly and helpful with every request you might have. The beds could be better and the sharing bathrooms could be cleaner - overall you get what you pay for in Manhattan.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank NicolettaOnTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your experience. We are happy that you found our staff to be accommodating and that you found it easy to navigate from our location. We hope to see you again on your next trip to NYC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2014

This was my first ever trip to New York, I stayed in the hostel and my room was okay: carpet, tv, two very comfy small double beds and a little storage space, and two windows! No-ones doors or windows shut properly.
HOWEVER
The other students from my school were in 2 people rooms and the rooms were dreadful, no carpet, dirty, stained, smelly beds and rooms, broken windows, dirty, no storage space, an absolute shambles considering the price.

Breakfast wasn't very good, chocolate muffins aren't chocolate, vanilla are almond-like, not impressed at all.
The lighting downstairs was so dreadful it was somewhat hard to see who people were and i got muddled in crowds of people.
I would NOT recommend staying here at all, it was dreadful and rather unsettling.
Definitely worth paying more for a proper hotel.

Room Tip: Double bed rooms have carpet and two windows- beds are comfy, you'll also get a chest of drawers.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for your honest review. We do our best to continue to renovate our property and update our amenities while still maintaining a low price for budget travelers. We apologize that our property and café offerings did not fulfill your standards, and hope that you had an enjoyable time exploring the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The hotel is generally good and nothing bad about it. Probably, a bit expensive for the price as you get the bunk bed. May be if 2 or more people going together can get the better hotel in same price if they can share.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces
Thank Khan20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. If you would prefer a private room in the future, we also have standard hotel rooms with both private and shared bath. Our prices for 2 people in a private room with shared bath are often comparable to the price of 2 beds booked in the hostel. We hope to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good value and great location, walking distance to Central Park, Columbia University, etc. The lounge area is quite nice, the staff is friendly and the wifi is reliable in the lobby, but you can also get it from the 2nd floor. There is also a shuttle bus for the NY airports. The only disappointment was the size of the room (2 person dorm), which was very small. But it was still comfortable, and the shared bathrooms were kept very clean, so overall it is a very nice place to stay in New York.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eva156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2014

Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are glad that you had an enjoyable time in New York. We hope to see you again on your next trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews