We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stop-over”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Red Deer, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One night stop-over”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A couple, in our 50s, with a one night layover in NYC. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Very clean room. We booked a room without a bathroom, but were pleasantly surprised to have a sink and ample towels in our room. The shared bathroom was clean, and the water hot.
The TV did not work, and when we asked about it, they immediately offered us 10% back on our credit card.
Very good location for metro, restaurants, Central Park. Not enough time for us to enjoy the area, but another trip...
The rooms are not overly sound-proof, but that is why they make earplugs.
There is a kitchen/sitting area on the main floor, wifi was intermittent in the room, but not bad.
We had an early flight out of JFK, and found it worked great to take the metro(one block walk), then LIRR, Airtrain. Total trip was under $15 each, and only took 45 minutes. We found the times/route/prices online. Taxi was going to be about $60, if I remember right. Not a big deal, but $30+ saving and adds more local flavour to the trip.
Would stay there again, for a night or two, but prefer own bathroom for longer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlbertaMack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are so glad that you took advantage of the perks of being on the Upper West Side in your brief time here. We hope to see you again soon on your next visit to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    507
    264
    91
    99
See reviews for
114
341
234
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

Good location with close connections to the subway. Central park is a few blocks away and it takes about 45 minutes to an hour to walk to times square.

The neighbourhood is safe and has a few cool bars/restaurants.

Rooms are large and clean.

The staff are awesome.

Would definitely stay again..

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are happy to hear that our staff made a positive impact on your NY experience (and that you took advantage of our location). We hope to see you again on your next trip to NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We wanted to stay in and see New York City. We didn't want to pay the earth for a hotel room that you would only spend so little time in anyway, so we chose this hotel. My wife and I chose to stay in one of the bedroom suites with an en suite shower facility, whilst our daughters, who were coming to the end of their round the world trip were happy to stay in a room only, with a communal shower and toilet facilities. Whilst we were two floors apart, the hotel was just what we wanted, as base from which we could explore the city. True you had to go down several flights of stairs, or use the lift, to reach the lobby and the kitchen facilities, but they were all clean and tidy, with helpful staff to give you guidance of how to get around. TV and Wifi connections in the communal lounge, were good although you had to endure some very poor taste in TV watching whilst using the internet etc.
The hotel is reasonably well placed with easy access as you would expect to all of the city sights amenities etc. We had no issues using public transport and the tube. We spent many hours walking around the city and Central Park, which is just two blocks away. True we were spoilt by the weather, mid eighties with plenty of warm late season sunshine, but if you want a good base but not to pay extortionate prices then we would recommend this establishment. Don't be put off by the word Hostel appearing alongside the word hotel, yes there were several groups of students there, but they were well organised / supervised and like everyone were only there first thing in the morning/evening. There were no issues in the hotel and we would happily return there for another visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twiztrussler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for sharing your experience. We are glad that you found accommodation within our property that suited the needs for all members of your family. And, we are thrilled that you had the chance to explore Central Park in nice weather. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you on your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

BACKGROUND ON US:
We like to stay in nice places normally. Nice boutique hotels or the big chains (ie. Hyatts). This was a choice we decided upon - less expensive stay for the comfort of paying for cabs all throughout New York. We just stayed here for two nights and stayed with a friend for the rest (which was much more comfortable!)

FIRST IMPRESSIONS:
We arrived at the Broadway Hotel/Hostel and the lobby area and common area were much more attractive than the rest of the place, but that is okay. I read that this was the case in the reviews and was not shocked.

CUSTOMER SERVICE:
The front desk people were very helpful - there is a $5 deposit for the key and checking out by 11:00 am. Which I got back by doing just those things! We did not need to ask for much from them just checking in and checking out.

ROOM:
We were happy with the sink, having a hand towel, shampoo and soap. We had four large towels as well. It was old the window FELT like there was wind coming in, but we were perfectly snug as a bug in the room and never felt cold. The sheets had holes, maybe some old stains, but I tried hard to not look for problems and just deal.

As others have mentioned the TV did not work, which did not bother me one bit - I had realistic expectations and knew of these problems.

BATHROOM:
Communal - never felt comfortable going in there ...in fear of seeing bugs (as pictured in other travelers photos) We were on the third level so there were two bathrooms and I chose to use the newer looking one every time. The shower was great! It had a rainfall shower head - BRING FLIP FLOPS! I forgot to so I laid towels inside and outside of the shower. PLUS New York and bathrooms --- completely disgusting. Where are the freaking seat covers?! Everyone just pees all over the seats. ICK! Not just here but EVERYWHERE.

I give it 3 out of 5 because it really did assist in saving us money and I knew where we were going.

Room Tip: Choose a corner room - it has more privacy and less neighbors for noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for your comprehensive review. We are constantly striving to improve, and we use reviews as base indicators for how we can do so. We are happy that our low price assisted in your abilities to indulge in what the city has to offer, and we hope you had a lovely time in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last week split into 2 visits by a trip to Boston.It is the 1st time I have Hostled. The main selling point is its location Just off Broadway and the Subway (No1 train) very close by. The rooms are ok but the traffic noise outside can be a distraction early in the morning if you have a room facing onto Broadway. The rooms are cleaned daily

My biggest gripe was that the TV in the rooms didnt work, no problem there, but you only got a 10% discount if you asked, this was a standard discount being given out. My point is that you shouldnt have to ask it should be up front at point of booking in Seemed like a way to make a liitle extra money.

The breakfast in the morning was a coffee and a scone for a $1 each

For anyone going to NYC looking for somewhere near Central Park and the Subway this would be your place

Jim C UK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 613JimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were able to easily navigate the city from our location. Our deepest apologies for our past television issues. I assure you that we were not looking to take advantage of the situation. Our televisions have since been fixed and are now in working order. However, we will keep in mind how discount distributions could look if we ever happen to run into a similar unfortunate circumstance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Brodway Hostel for one week and i think my experience was average.

You split your room with one other person, which is a good thing if you want some privacy. Although, i think they lack on good sense about that, because i had to split with and old creep guy that farted and talked all night long. And, to be honest, since we are only two persons in the bedroom, i prefer to have the same gender as me, it's more comfortable. But, unfortanelly, they don't feel the same way.

Staff is nice: when i gave up my room, they moved me to another one right away (that was 3 am, way far from the check in time). They are always trying to help even on smaller things, like putting your bag in the taxi.

Room is always clean: a lady comes to clean up every day and change your towels. Bathrooms were also clean and have decent showers.

Wi-fi only works on commom areas, but it's fast. Actually, if you get luck, maybe you'll have it in your room, because the first one i stayed in had it. But that's the exception, not the rule, though.

Last, but certainly not least, we had a bad winter this 2014 and the heater didn't help there. I felt cold every night and had to sleep with a lot of clothes. I complained about it and they told me it was a building problem so there's nothing they can do.

To sum up, it's a good hostel: good location, clean, wonderful staff. But not the best i stayed in.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank andressa-d-amaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to share your experience. We do have female dormitory rooms available by advance booking, and we apologize if a gender-specific room was unavailable at the time your reservation was made. We hope that you had a lovely time in NY, and we are glad that our staff made every effort to accommodate your needs. We are constantly striving to improve our amenities and service, and are grateful to receive your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oss
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was my third time in New York and after staying in Midtown and Queens hotels, I decided to go for a hotel/hostel to save some money. Overall, we were really pleased with Broadway Hotel and Hostel. The location personally is a bit too much Uptown and since you are dependent on the red 1, 2, 3 line, it can become kinda frustrating to get back from lower/midtown Manhattan.

Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was done within minutes and the ability to store your luggage when departing (2 dollars per bag/suitcase) is always very handy. Wi-fi was so-so. We stayed on the seventh floor of the hostel and there was hardly any connection there, only on the ground floor lounge area the wi-fi worked pretty good. The hostel also serves breakfast (non-complimentary) and accomodates you with a kitchen for your convenience.

Our room was a private standard, which was pretty spacious. The rooms could use some warmer and extra lights and the beds were noticably old, but OK. Rooms were cleaned every day and clean towels were provided to you every day as well, which was great! The biggest problem we had were the showers. Every floor has 3 shared bathrooms, which were kept clean throughout the day. We hardly had to wait to take a shower in the morning or the evening, but the problem was that the showers (on our floor at least) either were extremely hot or cold. It was a disaster to regulate the temperature, which made showering an unpleasant part of our daily routine in these cold, winter New York days.

Guests should notice that this hostel/hotel is located directly on the corner of Broadway, so it can be pretty noisy at night with police/ambulance sirens or drunk people shouting the Star Spangled Banner. Also, this hostel focuses on younger people, so it can be a bit noisy on your floor when people arrive late at night or come back from a pub crawl.

Other than that, this was a very pleasant stay considering the 30€ per person per night we paid to stay at Broadway Hotel and Hostel; which is a bargain to stay on the Upper West side of Manhattan, minutes away from walking into Central Park!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to share your experience. We hope that you had wonderful time in New York. We are glad that you found our staff to be attentive, and we apologize for any temperature issues with the showers. Our maintenance team works hard to try to balance both water and room temperatures, and we are constantly striving to update our building and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#395 of 466 in New York City
533 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 466 in New York City
4,885 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 466 in New York City
11,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#226 of 466 in New York City
1,552 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#152 of 466 in New York City
7,072 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#347 of 466 in New York City
18,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 164 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing