We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medium”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Medium”
Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Brodway Hostel for one week and i think my experience was average.

You split your room with one other person, which is a good thing if you want some privacy. Although, i think they lack on good sense about that, because i had to split with and old creep guy that farted and talked all night long. And, to be honest, since we are only two persons in the bedroom, i prefer to have the same gender as me, it's more comfortable. But, unfortanelly, they don't feel the same way.

Staff is nice: when i gave up my room, they moved me to another one right away (that was 3 am, way far from the check in time). They are always trying to help even on smaller things, like putting your bag in the taxi.

Room is always clean: a lady comes to clean up every day and change your towels. Bathrooms were also clean and have decent showers.

Wi-fi only works on commom areas, but it's fast. Actually, if you get luck, maybe you'll have it in your room, because the first one i stayed in had it. But that's the exception, not the rule, though.

Last, but certainly not least, we had a bad winter this 2014 and the heater didn't help there. I felt cold every night and had to sleep with a lot of clothes. I complained about it and they told me it was a building problem so there's nothing they can do.

To sum up, it's a good hostel: good location, clean, wonderful staff. But not the best i stayed in.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank andressa-d-amaral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to share your experience. We do have female dormitory rooms available by advance booking, and we apologize if a gender-specific room was unavailable at the time your reservation was made. We hope that you had a lovely time in NY, and we are glad that our staff made every effort to accommodate your needs. We are constantly striving to improve our amenities and service, and are grateful to receive your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    498
    262
    90
    97
See reviews for
110
336
229
32
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oss
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

It was my third time in New York and after staying in Midtown and Queens hotels, I decided to go for a hotel/hostel to save some money. Overall, we were really pleased with Broadway Hotel and Hostel. The location personally is a bit too much Uptown and since you are dependent on the red 1, 2, 3 line, it can become kinda frustrating to get back from lower/midtown Manhattan.

Staff were always very friendly and helpful. Checking in and out was done within minutes and the ability to store your luggage when departing (2 dollars per bag/suitcase) is always very handy. Wi-fi was so-so. We stayed on the seventh floor of the hostel and there was hardly any connection there, only on the ground floor lounge area the wi-fi worked pretty good. The hostel also serves breakfast (non-complimentary) and accomodates you with a kitchen for your convenience.

Our room was a private standard, which was pretty spacious. The rooms could use some warmer and extra lights and the beds were noticably old, but OK. Rooms were cleaned every day and clean towels were provided to you every day as well, which was great! The biggest problem we had were the showers. Every floor has 3 shared bathrooms, which were kept clean throughout the day. We hardly had to wait to take a shower in the morning or the evening, but the problem was that the showers (on our floor at least) either were extremely hot or cold. It was a disaster to regulate the temperature, which made showering an unpleasant part of our daily routine in these cold, winter New York days.

Guests should notice that this hostel/hotel is located directly on the corner of Broadway, so it can be pretty noisy at night with police/ambulance sirens or drunk people shouting the Star Spangled Banner. Also, this hostel focuses on younger people, so it can be a bit noisy on your floor when people arrive late at night or come back from a pub crawl.

Other than that, this was a very pleasant stay considering the 30€ per person per night we paid to stay at Broadway Hotel and Hostel; which is a bargain to stay on the Upper West side of Manhattan, minutes away from walking into Central Park!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JVBNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vivita B, Front Office Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for choosing to share your experience. We hope that you had wonderful time in New York. We are glad that you found our staff to be attentive, and we apologize for any temperature issues with the showers. Our maintenance team works hard to try to balance both water and room temperatures, and we are constantly striving to update our building and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed here from October 1-4th, I loved small kitchen where you could prepareyour own food, very close to Central Park, Times Square, very easy to go around. Was one of the cheapest hotels in NYC. I would stay here again! We arived at 6 am, and nobody wouldnt let us in the rooms before 2 pm. They didnt evan allow us to close our eyes in their (at that time) empty living room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleksandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights from 26th December to 1st January. Being that this is the most expensive time to stay in NYC we were looking to find somewhere that was reasonably priced and in a good location. The broadway met both of these needs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was on the small side however we expected this. We had an en-suite room which was clean and warm. Its a couple of minutes walk from a subway station where you can go to just about anywhere. There is a few shops and restaurants nearby which was useful. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anybody visiting the city on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlisle-couple-25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanic Falls, Maine
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I'll admit straight up, I'm a Broadway H & H fan. I love the place, the people, the price, the vibe, the location close to the 1,2,3 Subway.

We made our annual trek to NYC last month, settling in on a Wednesday night for a three night stay. Arriving around 3:30PM, I dropped the wife off at the door, then drove about three blocks before finding a free on-street parking spot. Parking all around the hotel (except on Broadway) is free.

We went out to Symphony Space (right down the street) for an evening show, then were getting ready for bed when... the wife saw a mouse skurry across the floor. Hey, we are tired, it was about 10°F outside, so give they little guy a break, let's turn in. Then we saw his brother poke its head out and sniff my shoe...

So a two count was too much, and I went down to the lobby. We were immediately relocated to a new room on the 7th floor that we enjoyed for the balance of our stay. The mice were less fortunate, as Mr. exterminator visited the next morning.

Anyhow, we will be back, the staff is great, from the doorman to the chambermaids, the common area downstairs is a great place to chill and meet new people, and the morning coffee is the best in the city as far as I'm concerned. Bring a book for the bookshelf, and exchange it for another to read.

As far as the little visitors, I don't blame them for trying to escape the cold...

Room Tip: WiFi only works in the lobby, ATT cell coverage is spotty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TAFCRacer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Terrible hostel, fully of noisy people, rude staff, very old furniture.
The whole month I was there the elevator was broken and we stayed on the 8th floor (you can imagine the torture every single night after the whole day walking through NYC).
We found a mouse in our room.
Share toilets are very old and the hot water never coma out of the rose.
Kitchen, fridge, living room were like a Armageddon place 2 minutes before clean stuff leave the place.
I could not get my money back, so I was forced to stay in this "rat house".

A complete nightmare.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SaezMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was wonderful. Nice people, very clean and tidy. The location isn't near to all the hot spots but the neighborhood is lovely and you feel like a new yorker. Breakfast was not included but they had cheap options to take for it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#401 of 468 in New York City
520 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,530 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 468 in New York City
4,810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#301 of 468 in New York City
1,356 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#277 of 468 in New York City
11,088 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#344 of 468 in New York City
17,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 162 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing