We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty decent place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed August 21, 2008

While the hostel is not as flash as it appears in the website photos, it is a pretty nice place for price. I found it to be very clean and the rooms were roomy enough, freshly painted, A/C, basin, mirror. There were 4 clean bathrooms on our floor, just don't plan to shower (or pee!) at peak times. The lounge/kitchen is a great place to meet other travellers and you are allowed to bring alcohol in, with plasma screens showing movies. Bank of computers with internet at a decent speed/price. The elevator is sooo slow, take the stairs. Lots of shops, restaurants, cafes, laudromat etc close by and seemed like a decent neighboorhood. Short stroll to the subway station, longer walk to Central Park. My only criticism is that the rooms are all co-ed. It was fine most of the time, because I was travelling in a mixed group, but one girl had booked separately and was put in a mixed dorm - a little intimidating for a young female traveller. I'm going back to New York and am staying at a different hostel purely because of this reason, if I was not travelling alone or they introduced single-sex dorms, I would definately go back.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank AussieGirl1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,188)
There are newer reviews for Broadway Hotel and Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,188 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2008

the lobby looks very nice but the rooms of the hostel look very different. i thought it's a very nice hostel until we heard some strange noise at night. we had mice in our room and so we asked for a different room. we immediatly got one - that was great - but in the other room we had also mice !! we were so tired, that we just closed the hole where they seemed to come out and at the next morning we had to change room because it was overbooked.
so it was very exhausting at this hostel : (
the good things were the elevator, free wlan and every day some nice movies at the tv-room and on weekends with popcorn : )
the bathrooms and the position of the hostel were okay too.
although there were some good things at this hostel i wouldn't recommend it because the fact of the mice overweight everything. it's a great pity : (

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank grigra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwayManagement, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2008

We do apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay in regards to mice. Our housekeeping staff works very hard in trying to keep the hostel as clean as possible. They provide guest with service daily and the linens for the beds are cleaned and changed daily as well.

However, some things may be beyond our control. We are in New York City, a city where mice can be a problem for most buildings...even the famous ones. That is why our hotel policy is for our guest not to bring any type of food into the rooms.

We are continuously working daily to upgrade the property so that we can provide our guest with the most enjoyable stay possible.

Best Regards,

Jeremy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

Stayed at this hostel for a week. There was 4 of us so we had our own room. We had no trouble checking in and the lift was working but was quite small so two of u took the stairs. The room was quite small and we had just enough room to fit our suitcases in and move about. It had a sink and a mirror in that was handy. We were on the 3rd floor and our room was directly outside the bathroom. This was blocked and overflowed on severeal occasions and was not nice as the carpet outside our room would always be wet! We never left the room without shoes on.

However saying this the location is good and directly outside a subway station, and there is a great diner to eat in only a few mins down from the hostel.

The staff were friendly and nice to us too. I just think they need to sort the bathrooms out and it would have been better.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lisa2310_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2008

My friends stayed at this hostel. They left their valuables in the locks. These locks were opened by thiefs and everything was taken, passports and cameras and everything.

And this is a hostel deemed "safe" that has a security guard on duty!

My friends tried to retrieve the copy of their passports that had been taken by the hostel staff, but these copies had mysteriously disappeared.

The hostel offered no help (other than a free night, valued at what? 50 bucks?), no apologies. My friends were left out in the city with nothing.

Need I say more?

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank HostelNightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2008

Stayed there with my friend for only 3 nights, instead of 6.
We had our beds in a dorm for 6 persons but as the guy in the reception gave us only one key they eventually "overbooked" our room and for short time there was 7 people staying in the same dorm.
The staff there is rude and it takes a long time to check in to the hostel!
The elevator doesn't work properly and the stairs are a nightmear especially if you have luggages.
The rooms are small (what you can expect to have in a budget hostel) and the bunk beds are very shaky and you don't want to sleep on the upper bed.
The bathrooms are disgusting. Although they are cleaned once a day, they get quickly very dirty and damp - the water stays on the floor with lots of hair... There were three (or four) bathrooms on the same floor, all in the same condition.

Must have been the worst hostel ever.

The only good things are that the location is ok and we felt pretty safe there.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank MangoFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2008

this was definatly the worst hostel we stayed at in our trip round america. When we arrived there it took over an hour to check in, we then had to carry our bags up seven flights of steps because the lift was broken; only to find somebody else in our assigned room. It then took them another couple of hours to sort out this mistake in which time we realised that the hot water had broken, and it wasnt fixed for another two days. The beds were also very uncomfortable, seeming to consist mainly of very large springs.
When the lift did start working, we were unable to use it as it was ridiculoulsly small and very slow and seemed in danger of breaking at any moment.
However the rooms were cleaned every day, the location was good and there was hardly any street noise and most of the staff were very nice, however when we asked them to get us a taxi for the airport they called a private firm who charged us much more than a taxi would have.

The downstairs of the hotel was lovely, sadly the rooms in no way matched the standard of the lounge areas. The free film screenings everynight were excellent however.
It wasnt appalling but i definatly wouldnt visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank ellie_244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BwayManagement, Manager at Broadway Hotel and Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2008

Thank you for your review. Comments from our guests such as yourself are important to us and help us continue to strive for excellence in providing the best accomodation and services possible.

We apologize that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you would have liked. However, due to unforseen circustances the elevator had to be taken out of service because of electrical work being done by the City Electric Company. This not only affected us, but also the buildings around us.

The hot water was shut down due to an emergency boiler repair. It was shut down from 12am midnight to 8am and not for the couple of days that you stated.

We appreciate you complimenting us on our friendly staff and our lobby area. In regards to the bellman booking a private car for your trip...Our staff only has access to private car companies for travel arrangements. The NYC Taxi services do not have dispatching service and we have no way of contacting them for pre-arranged transportation.

We hope that your next stay here in NYC will be much more enjoyable.

~Jeremy~

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#398 of 468 in New York City
541 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#227 of 468 in New York City
4,923 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#144 of 468 in New York City
7,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 468 in New York City
11,496 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,559 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $68 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing