We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent budget hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent budget hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The staffs are great and helpful. The common area is lovely, where you can enjoying watching TV, access to internet, or even prepared some simple food over there. The location of the hotel is near subway, just need some 2-5 minutes walk. The room can accommodate 2 people and the toilet is clean. I will definitely stay this budget hotel if I visit NYC again. Love it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chiwawa86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    488
    253
    88
    95
See reviews for
107
326
226
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Free upgrade due to big groups coming which I think was very respectful. Staying here for 13 nights. Really friendly & helpful staff. Not your typical hostel, no stove or oven and cutlery but we were creative & made use of toaster oven & microwave to make yummy meals. Paper & plastic utensils provided (we grabbed a cheap microwave bowl from hardware store across the road). Very clean & tidy! We stayed on level 6 and took the stairs most of the time for exercise. Lift is not that slow, it's slow but if you are travelling and relaxed then it shouldn't bother you. Great spot on the Upper West Side, right near 103 Street subway! West side Markets 4 blocks away, great fresh food & wicked homemade meals. Had nails done & massage all very close by. Close to Central Park & bicycle hire shop. Loved that it's not in a touristy area! We stayed in mid-town for 1st few nights which was gr8 but for long term stay, it really feels like home on the Upper West Side! It's New York so everything is convenient! Everything you need close by. Starbucks & laundromat 2 blocks away. Recommend this place if u r laid back & easy going & a traveller. Maybe not for business & u r stressed out. Comfy couches and wi-fi in communal areas. No such thing as a smelly guy on level 3 like previous reviews. Thank u 4 a gr8 stay Broadway a Hostel & Hotel! Sad to leave in 4 days.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Louie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Starting with the cons: We stayed in the private room, shared bath. Emailed them to ask if they could put the single beds together as we are a couple, and they said they couldn't do that, so we ended up sleeping on opposite sides of the room, which is such a simple thing to fix for us!. Beds themselves weren't really comfortable. The wifi is only in the lobby, which is just ridiculous considering that wifi is free and accessible basically everywhere in the US including on Amtrack trains, so couldn't they just have it throughout the hotel ??! Also agree with the other review that the so called "door men" were very confusing- there were all these people just hanging around downstairs and sometimes you felt you were getting in their way! Our TV didn't work for 2 days and each time we spoke to the people at reception, they had never heard of this problem, so clearly nothing was being done about it, although the staff were friendly and tried to be helpful each time.

For the pros: downstairs there is a large common room with TVs, a little coffee area and sometimes they had free popcorn. When we complained about the TV for the 3rd time (and again they hadn't heard of the issue), they ended up moving us to a private room with ensuite, which was very cool. That room was a massive improvement on the private room shared bath, so I'd recommend getting that if you can afford it! Room was a good size and bathroom was new and fresh. Location is good for upper NYC, just off Broadway and walking distance to Central Park. Good bagel place across the road and lots of Starbucks around!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKJAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

I was in a two person dorm which was so small I couldn't open my suitcase all the way, however it is NYC so if you're in your room for anything other than passing out after an awesome day of soaking up the city, then there is something wrong with you!! I visited two of my friends staying there in August and they had a private room which was much more spacious and overlooked the street.
It's on the Upper West Side, which is a fantastic location!! I cannot stress this enough! Right on the 1 train and walking distance to Central Park (and subsequently the B and C trains).
Great stay and would go back, even if it is a little squeezy in the dorms!





  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quito, Ecuador
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

Nice hotel, clean and organized, close to metro stations and easy to access. I think the experience depends on the kind of roomate you get.

Buen hotel, limpio y organizado cerca de estaciones del metro y de fácil acceso desde el aeropuerto.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davitokun88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I booked a private room with ensuite for a four night stay. It wasn't terrible but it wasn't great either. I wouldn't say the staff were rude but they were very indifferent. Sometimes there were what I can assume were meant to be door men at the front. Sometimes they opened the door, sometimes they just got in the way. Our room was clean and of a good size. Everywhere looked like it had a new lick of paint! The bed was incredibly uncomfortable, really hard to sleep in. Maybe instead of paying those men to hang around by the door, they could buy some new beds. The common room was really nice, WiFi was only available in that room! Very close to the subway, in a nice area. Overall it was a great price for New York. I can't speak for the shared rooms, but as long as you don't require luxury, this place is fine.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank hanzorah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

My friend and I booked a room for a 2 nights stay.
First, the address is extremely confusing, my taxi dropped me off downtown instead of the upper west side. Following this bad experience, the room was not ready, even though hostelworld.com asks for the arrival time.
When we finally got into the room, it was creepy! We had bunk beds for 2, and no bathroom. We had to share bathrooms with the floor. There were roaches there, sharing the bathroom with us.
We made the bed, and blankets were sticky and hard!!
We asked to get our money back so that we can go somewhere else, their policy was strict and we booked another hotel loosing the money we left there... When we returned the key, Alex at the front desk was extremely mean and told my friend "just go". We paid and are entitled to stay as long as we want... But we ran out of this rathole.
My advice: don't even try!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Elle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,495 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#213 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,614 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#320 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#386 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#258 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,322 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#327 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 167 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing