We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“It Ain't Pretty but Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It Ain't Pretty but Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We spend 7 nights at the Broadway Hotel, we opted for the Hotel facilities which included your ensuite, an absolute must, particularly if you are an older traveller.
The room was fine, and the bed was absolutely beautiful to sleep in, one of the best yet, the bathroom was a bit small. Being attached to a hostel the eating facilities are pretty non existent. There is a fridge and microwave, together with a kettle, toaster etc. Everyone was very considerate and used there own purchased items. You can purchase basic items from a little kiosk from Breakfast time to around 2.00pm. There are a number of excellent supermarkets where you can get ready prepared food which you could take back to the Hotel/Hostel If you didn't want to eat out.

The Subway is very conveniently located, you can use the one at either 96th Street or 103rd Street, we did find the Subway a bit confusing to begin with so get a map and orientate yourself. We also purchased a 7 day Subway card which is very reasonably priced and convenient.

If you're on a budget, but want a place that is close to Downtown, then this is ideal and we could not fault it. Central Park is also very close and well worth spending time strolling around, we had a lovely afternoon there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethW54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    456
    237
    82
    88
See reviews for
97
297
213
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This is more of a youth hostel than a hotel and defiantly not a boutique as described. First of all we were downgraded on arrival at this place due to overbooking, we found the rooms were bunk beds with no carpet and a metal locker no wardrobe, the shared bathrooms are left for the guests to clean after use. Staff did not apologise to gusts being downgraded they just offered a free breakfast (a Croissant and a muffin) we received no refund in the difference to our private room, so we overpaid for the room. The reception both at night and in the morning were receiving complaints about theft from the rooms, not surprising as the locks on the doors are not safe, we stayed in our rooms all night as we arrived late and made the decision to move hotels in the morning. We only stayed one night (booked for a week) and re-booked into a 4* hotel down the road for almost the same price! If your looking for a cheap hostel and are quoted around $60 a nigh then OK you may have deal here but if like us your quoted $165 then shop around there's much better accommodation in New York for that money!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Russell R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Pambrun, Saskatchewan, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I enjoyed staying at this hostel. Very clean, good price and not very far from Times Square. We all felt so welcomed and cared by the staff, specially by Maggie, she's the best. I would definitely recommend this place for those of you who are world travellers and don't want to spend a ton of money on a super fancy hotel near Times Square.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melissa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pambrun, SK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This hostel was extremely warm and friendly. The folks up front were extremely helpful. Maggie especially, offered great tips on where to visit and what to see. Comfortable accommodation with shared bathrooms. The elevator is slow and small, so ended up taking the stairs fairly often.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GottaBeKD277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Very clean, reasonably priced, great location.
The staff was incredible. Housekeeping goes above and beyond, and the upfront people are remarkable. Maggie is a super-hero! No joke, if you become this girl's friend you will never be in want! All of the staff are great though, none of them will hesitate to move mountains for you =)

Room Tip: • Some rooms have bunk beds. Be sure to ask what is in the room you are booking. • The elevator is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Booked a three night 2 months ahead of our trip. Got a good deal on booking.com. Our plans changed so we needed to change our booking from three nights to two. The policy clearly states that patrons are allowed to change their booking up to 24 hours before checking in. I made the change on booking.com and the room rate automatically went up. I contacted the hotel (who I had been in contact with previously, and also issued confirmation to me directly), They advised that I contact the website I booked with. The lady at reservations was extremely unhelpful!!! She pretended as if she had no way of changing the rate back to what we had originally booked at. So I contacted booking.com who then advised that Broadway Hotel/Hostel was NOT willing to give us our room at the rate we had originally booked at and we had to pay the increased price. Booking.com explained that the rate had gone up by default on their system, given the increase in hotel rates. OK, so just know that when you book your room with them well in advance, there is no guarantee that you'll be able to change your booking and still get it at the same rate! The reception from the reservations team was extremely unprofessional and unwelcoming. It was a week before our trip and we were scrambling around trying to find accommodation at a good rate. Anyhow, the lady at reservations eventually agreed to give us the room at the rate we had initially booked at. All in all, the room was average, bed was TINY! I would not classify this as a hotel, it is definitely a hostel. Didnt have much of a problem with the staff and the wifi worked well in the common room. I would probably budget a bit more for a hotel next time Im in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

New York is not the cheapiest city so sometimes it's difficult to find a nice hostel at a good price and location. I think Broadway hostal is a good option. It has a nice location, it's clean, has nice clean rooms, the staff is helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Galamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Gramercy Park
Hotel 17
Hotel 17
#270 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,238 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 4,330 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#228 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#377 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
Midtown
Wellington Hotel
Wellington Hotel
#322 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 6,057 reviews
West Village
The Jane
The Jane
#302 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Property: Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 194 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing