We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, but good for the price we paid”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed April 10, 2013

After arriving late on the first day, it seemed like our 2 twin rooms had been given away to other guests. We were downgraded to a 4 bed dorm, which wasn't too helpful after a long journey. We were, however, given breakfast free of charge for the rest of our weekend stay.

The doors to the two floors that we stayed on slammed very loudly throughout the night. Other guests weren't too keen on keeping the noise down with loud music in the mornings and at night. The social areas (especially on Friday and Saturday) meant there was a lot of noise as well.

Having said that, the rooms were clean and the showers/toilets were kept very tidy. The free wifi, which is only available in the lobby/social area, was a little unreliable and, if you're using it on a smartphone or tablet, you have to login after every time your device sleeps.

Breakfasts were simple, but we weren't paying for them. We were able to take moofins or bagels out with us alongside hot drinks or juice.

Despite a mix up when settling the bill (charging to the wrong card, forgetting the deposit had already been paid, etc) the staff were always very keen to help and made sure that you had no questions left unanswered.

For the money you pay, it was a good stay and I would recommend it, but don't expect too much and expect a lot of noise throughout the night. It would be worth contacting them if you're going to be later than expected for your arrival.

Room Tip: Higher floors will escape noise from the social areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheForrestGump
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,223 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Very simple hotel/hostel. We booked a room with 2 queen beds for 6 days. The room was large but the beds were rock hard (i guess thats just depands on what you are used to). The shared bathroom was ok but not special. Luckely they kept it clean! Location of the hotel is close to the subway. Hotel is great for people with smaller budget!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sjoerd84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Broadway hostel was well placed for us to spend two days in NY. Metro stations are a short walk away and the line gets you to Times square very quickly. The neighbourhood seemed absolutely fine to us.

I can't say much about the rooms, it's a hostel, you get a room, that's it. We paid for a dorm, which was a room with a single set of bunk beds, no other residents at all. They are of a good enough size. The room was sparse as they're lacking furniture to put anything on, no sideboard or dresser, but this didn't overly bother us. One piece of advice, though, is take a decent padlock, because the rooms lack safes, they just have lockers for which you need your own padlock. Everything was a little bit worn and tired, but cleanliness on a whole was adequate for the money, bathrooms are basic, but clean enough that I was happy to use them.

Throughout, the staff seemed to make allot of effort for us (meticulously assisting us to plan our two day itinerary) and I appreciated this. The team are young, seem to have fun with their job and aren't overly formal, which adds to the atmosphere and they still do their jobs. One young lad in particular was a bit erratic, the rest of the staff seemed to work around him. We used the place as a staging area for getting out and about, but I guess the communal area is on the small side and all available seating was always taken by TV watchers when we arrived back in the evening. Not a bad atmosphere, but I felt a little old (at 33) in there and being so small an area, it does feel a bit like you're interrupting peoples movie time.

To tell the truth, this was my first hostel stay and I was expecting worse. We made friends with a guy from "hostelling international" on 104th/Amsterdam and joined him for his hostels pub crawl (his was free, ours was $20 per head). His hostel had much more to offer in terms of canteen, communal space and activities. However, hostelling international was nearly double the price, Broadway is a better price, better located and their coffee was better (for $1!) and I think that the staff at the Broadway do well with what they have.

Room Tip: For a pair, go for a "dorm" room - it'll be the two of you on bunks, when you're l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I am used to staying in hostels, as I have travelled a lot, and since this one calls itself a hostel and hotel, I was even expecting better than a hostel. However it was worse than any hostel I have ever stayed at, and in truth ruined my trip to NY. First of all we arrived at midnight to be told they didn't have a room for us, despite our booking-they then found us a room eventually but after such a long trip, and tehm knowing what time we were arriving this was a bad start to our stay. We then never got any sleep that night due to the VERY loud heating system. We complained about this and were told to just put heating off and that all heating systems sound like that(Totally untrue!!). However because we were desperate to sleep we put heating off, and it still continued to make the noise, that with traffic noise resulted in no sleep in 5 nights. We consistently asked to be changed to room we should of had but were told there were no spare rooms-yet they were still taking bookings?!. The state of the shared bathroom was horrendous. Blood in the toilet-pads in the bin (no sanatury bin?). The bathroom was also not cleaned till about 10am every morning. We complained to a number of different staff and were just shrugged off or told to go to our room and someone would come up-they never. Eventually spoke to manager on our last day and despite everything all she could offer in compensation was free luggage storage ($5) or free coffee. I honestly never normally write bad reviews, but in this case I wanted to warn people, as it did ruin my trip. The rest of my trip also had shared bathrooms in hostel type enviroment-but we never experienced anything as bad as this!!.

Room Tip: Do not go in winter if you need heating, or get room by road. In saying that you may not have choice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Becy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

For what i payed, this place is superb. I slept in one of many dorms, basically a room for 2. Hostel was clean, bathrooms and common area too. Helpfull staff, good location with best metro line closeby. Internet only downstairs but very Nice to sit there. Rooms are basic but ok.

Room Tip: Lower= less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D_vid13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

After a bit of a shaky start with our private room not being available on our first night and having to stay in bunk beds, the staff came through for us and got us into our private room for the rest of the stay. Staff are friendly and helpful. The room was nice, comfortable bed and a TV. This hotel is a bit out of the way of the main touristy New York, but, saying that it is very close to Central Park which is just lovely. For a good value place to stay, I recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jono D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a private room here for 10 days and were very comfortable. The location is perfect (very close to the subway) with some good restaurants near by..... The bathrooms were a bit 'old school' but were clean enough. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay here again when in NY. It was great value for the location - simple but clean and welcoming.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#236 of 473 in New York City
5,074 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 473 in New York City
1,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Watson Hotel
The Watson Hotel
#360 of 473 in New York City
4,521 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#389 of 473 in New York City
660 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#282 of 473 in New York City
12,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 162 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $62 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing