We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very pleased”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Broadway Hotel and Hostel
Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was my 2nd stay here at Broadway Hotel & Hostel. I got to spend a little bit more time here than my last visit.

My likes:

soft sheets, comfy bed
sink in room
a/c (great for white noise as well if you are a light sleeper)
bathrooms are plentiful and clean
elevator , slow but works ! beats the steps with luggage
nice staff, were always helpful to me and friendly
good size fridge, microwave and utensils
great location
great price

It would be nice if they had activities, (tours, walks etc.,) but hey you can't have everything!

Room Tip: I like the 2nd floor
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank j3dnight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,189)
There are newer reviews for Broadway Hotel and Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

454 - 460 of 1,189 reviews

Reviewed August 1, 2012

Very good location - close to the subway and lots of convenience stores and places to grab some dinner nearby. Beds were comfy (bunk style in the hostel rooms), big communal area downstairs. Each floor had about 4 bathrooms so it was very rare to have to wait for a spare one which was great!
Only complaint would be that wifi was only available in the communal area and not on the upper floors, but despite that I would recommend this place to anyone who wanted a cheap place to sleep in New York.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I was a female travelling alone for four days and the hotel was in a great location. The two blocks to the 103rd street station are a pleasure to walk and always safe - locals on the upper west side were always friendly, including the young African American guys who run the convenience store across the street.

Downstairs is clean and comfortable, with free wifi. Would prefer Wifi in rooms, and the TVs are always on very loudly. Not much by way of socialising as I've seen in other places, so guests don't tend to mingle much. If you're looking to make friends, I'd suggest staying elsewhere. The hotel does have a lift though, which may hostels don't and the staff are always helpful and friendly. 5-10 minute walk to Central Park. If you want somewhere to hang out for a drink and something to eat, Amsterdam Ave between 82nd and 86th has a bunch of bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: Was there during a heat wave, and although rooms have air con, they are too noisy to keep on through...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank globetrotter1298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We like the place because we can have our private room in a very reasonable price. We got a purple room with a bunk bed. There is air conditioning, a sink and lockers in the room too. Our floor has 6 bath rooms. Thus no waiting There is not much common area and no activities going on though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luciya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Our Girl Scout group of 10 high school girls and five mama chaperones had a wonderful experience at this hotel...we felt comfortable letting girls room independently, and never had trouble with access to the shared bathroom/shower areas. Beds were comfortable, rooms clean, and staff were knowledgeable and friendly. We had two rooms with ensuite baths, and two with baths in the hall. Vevita, the group sales manager, went way out of her way to help us secure metro passes. The kitchen facilities and shared fridge were helpful and well maintained. We visited during a heat wave (105 heat index!) and were completely satisfied with our window ac units. The neighborhood feels completely neighborhoody, very safe and an easy walk (even late at night) to the 103rd Street station. A crosstown bus station was also an easy walk (nice for access to the MET). Convenience stores, McDonalds, and a great breakfast/bagel shop are all within a five minute walk. If you can't handle a little water on the shared shower floor, pay for the ensuite bath. Otherwise, just take flip flops!

Room Tip: We loved two rooms with shared baths (#233 and #236) and two with private bath (#311, #415) Also ge...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganKira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

evening we had a beautiful hotel and very pleased with the services of our hotel will be transported back here one day last

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davircuong c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in a double Room on the 4th floor.

The room was clean enough but very small. A queen size bed, a cupboard, a bedtable, and a very loud and nonetheless very ineffective airconditioning unit.

The Bed was a real Queen size, however with a totally worn out mattress, that squeaked loudly with every movement and with a great, soft vally in the middle, no flat place in the whole bed.
Very inadvisable to people with any back problems.
One side of the bed was at the wall the other side had a bedtable, however no bedside lamp.

The bathroom was clean but also very small. No place where to put your toilet articels, no place to hang up your towels or anything else. Luckyly u can despose all u need in the small room, so its not really far away.

Then the staff was very friendly, patient and helpful.

Free wifi is offered only in the first floor where the other public facilities are located that consisits in three sections, one with pay computers, two with sofas and a television. Sometimes free popcorn is offered.

All in all it was bearable, however for the price we paid (180 Bucks per night, Tax included), we expected more, at least a decent mattress. Maybe this is just what you get in NYC at this price..

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StMarkCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#399 of 468 in New York City
542 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#225 of 468 in New York City
4,925 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#142 of 468 in New York City
7,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#272 of 468 in New York City
11,503 reviews
Midtown
Hotel 31
Hotel 31
#220 of 468 in New York City
1,560 reviews
Midtown
Row NYC Hotel
Row NYC Hotel
#351 of 468 in New York City
18,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Broadway Hotel and Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broadway Hotel and Hostel

Address: 230 West 101 Street, (at 101st Street and Broadway), New York City, NY 10025-4905
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Upper West Side , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 163 Specialty Lodging in New York City
Price Range: $66 - $235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Broadway Hotel and Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Broadway Hotel & Hostel is situated on the trendy Upper West Side. we offer clean, comfortable, and, most importantly, affordable New York City discount hotel rooms. A 15-minute ride from the heart of Times Square! Designed to satisfy even the smallest travel budgets, our chic yet inexpensive hotel provides wonderful value, in a colorful setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Broadway Hotel and Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Broadway Hotel New York City
Broadway Hotel Hostel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing