We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #194 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 23, 2009

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for a week in May and were really hppy about our choice. First of all, the rooms were clean and comfortable, especially the bed. Then, all the people there were very friendly and helpful. We booked the “Romance package”, which included a magnificent breakfast and the possibility of an early check-in provided the room was available. We arrived at 9 in the morning and could go straight to our room! Also, the location is very convenient. It is a good starting point for whichever part of town you want to visit and there is a subway stop a few metres away. There is also a free wireless internet connection in the rooms. We recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cristina020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,720 - 1,726 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed here for 10 nights with family of four with a 10-year old. The location is pretty central with subway station within 2 minutes, good restaurants nearby. Restaturant had a very nice Bar and amazing, almost all-including brekfest with very good service. Rooms were very big, cozy, clean and huge TV-channel selection. Hotel also had very very good gym and business room with printing abilities. The ride to the airport arranged by hotel was very oo value for money also!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirre99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

Set in the heart of the Flower District, this hotel is a gem. The service was great and the room was large and clean. A few drawbacks: the hotel does not have a full-service restaurant. They do a great breakfast buffet but for dinners, they offer take out service, which is fine. Also, right around the hotel, there are not that many restaurant options. It is located between 6th and 7th, but closer to 6th. You have to walk to 7th for anything even close to meal. In this area, 6th doesn’t seem to have any restaurants. 7th is not far, but it is a little inconvenient if you are tired from sightseeing or traveling.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceeceerose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2009

To be perfectly honest, if i was to find something wrong with this hotel, i'd be being picky!

The rooms are amazing, really nice, a little small for 4 girls but who could complain at that! The location is good, your not too far from a lot of the attractions.

If you look it up on google street view or whatever, dont let the view of the street put you off!

The staff were fabulous, happy to do anything you ask - luggage, take pictures whatever you wanted. They were really chatty too.

If your lucky enough, you could even get a view of the Empire State Building from the rooms at the back of the building - unfortunately, we weren't one of them. No traffic noise either (we were on the 14th floor however!), i would definately stay here again.

Free internet, only downside is there is no complimentary breakfast, but as I say i'm just being picky!

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilLou25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

We stayed here one night, getting a good deal on Priceline. The hotel is on 28th St near 6th Ave, on a block which has much scaffolding and unattractive store fronts.

The hotel itself had a small nice lobby. The room we had had about 200 sq ft, and a small bathroom with the usual small bottles and good towels. It was clean, and the furniture and rugs were presentable. The beds had the new soft fluffy tops. The staff was pleasant and accommodating, giving us the 2 double beds we had requested. The extra blankets we called down for were brought up in a short time. We did not eat there.

While the hotel was in an unattractive area and the rooms were on the small side, it was reasonable for a short stay at a good rate.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jed3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2009

If you are looking for somewhere that is clean, modern, spacious (well, spacious for New York!), has polite staff and easy access to the local sites and nightlife then I would highly recommend the Hilton Garden Inn.

It was late at night before we checked in but everything was sorted very quickly and efficiently. We had a room on the 21st floor that was more than large enough for us with modern, clean facilities, a large flat screen TV (with more channels than you could ever need) and free wireless/wired internet that was fast enough for checking email and the news.

One small thing to note is that I don’t think the booking option of an Empire State building view is valid any more as during our stay a new building was in the process of being completed that blocked our view and I think would for just about all rooms.

If you plan is to spend as much time exploring the city as possible, and need somewhere comfortable, modern and in a good location to stay I would say the Hilton garden Inn ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingtups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2009

I found choosing a hotel bewildering for my first trip to NYC and did a lot of research. I'm satisfied I chose well with HGI Chelsea.
Rooms were a good size, with a huge very comfortable bed, had all the facilities you wcould want (hairdryer, excellent range of toiletries, a lovely fresh coffee machine and a microwave!).
The hotel staff were very friendly and approachable.
The location is excellent - Chelsea district was very nice, and only a 10 minute ish walk up 6th avenue to the hustle of Times Square.
The hotel has a little shop which sells food etc, but there are plenty of shop sand supermarkets nearby. A McDonalds at the end of the street. Loads of cafes, delis etc.
I saw Harrison Ford just down the road! :-)
I'd stay at this hotel again and reccommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindsayDobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#153 of 470 in New York City
1,956 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#326 of 470 in New York City
2,099 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 470 in New York City
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 470 in New York City
942 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#188 of 470 in New York City
3,518 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $137 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing