We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thoughtful in NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #215 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Thoughtful in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

This hotel was a gem! The hotel itself was very nice - clean, comfortable, etc - but the real treasure is the kindness and attentiveness of the staff. Location was great for subway access and walking.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Dawn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Dawn P,



Thank you for sharing your 5 star feedback with us! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased to hear your enjoyed your stay and would look forward to recommending us to your friends and family. We hope to welcome your back the next time you visit New York City,


Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    839
    786
    217
    64
    47
See reviews for
621
495
146
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Petersburg, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

Resort level service at this Hilton Garden Inn. Great spot. Great folks. The entire staff understands the hospitality business. So well run for a mid-scale hotel. It has become the only place we stay in New York.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Robert G,


Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team, we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City.


Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn from April 10th through April 13th. The hotel lobby is beautiful and the rooms are nice. With that being said, the reason I gave them a Poor rating is because my jeans stolen right off of the bed. When my mother and I returned from bridal gown shopping, I contacted the front desk right away and explained to them what happened. I gave the hotel staff the benefit of doubt and thought maybe my jeans got tangled up in the dirty sheets when the maid was changing the sheets on the bed-however, my jeans were never found. The girl at the front desk was very nice and said she would speak to the managers regarding the situation. What makes this even worse is they were my FAVORITE jeans, were NOT cheap, and the hotel managers did nothing about it. All they said was "We did not locate your jeans and we've already spoken to the cleaning staff. Sorry." Well I do not believe "Sorry" is good enough and that is why I am writing this review. I am now stuck with having to go purchase a new pair of jeans. Needless to say, I will not be staying at the Hilton Garden Inn in Chelsea ever again and I do not recommend staying here if you value your personal property!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
Helpful?
2 Thank Jamie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Jamie,

It is unfortunate that your jeans could not be found, but I can assure you the Executive Housekeeper did all that was humanly possible to find your jeans. He called the laundry to have them go through all our linen to try and find them. We did and on site inspection to make sure they were not on the hotel property.
The housekeeper who cleaned your room has been with us for quite a while and we have had no complaints concerning her or any of the staff members. In fact we have had almost no concerns expressed in this regard at the hotel in the last seven years.
We have turned in by the housekeepers on a daily basis I Pads, I phones, phone charges, shirts, pants, socks, dresses, ties, rings and other jewelry, and cameras to name a few items. If the owners call and want them back we ship them back to the guest. I am sorry the jeans could not be found, but we did try our best.

If I can be of further service please feel free to contact me.

Sincerely,

Barry M. Shatoff, CHA
General Manager
HGI NY/Chelsea
Direct line: 646-329-7222 || Fax: 212-564-6581
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
104 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

We spent 6 nights at the hotel and found it very comfortable, warm staff with a big smile , accessible to the subway and just nice. I Would recommend it !
the breakfast is 18$ pp + tax and tip (so about 21$) but kids are free and that made it really worth the money.we also had in our room a coffee-tea machine, fridge and micro,
at the lobby there is also a free coffee machine and cookies - how nice us that? :-)
all in all - worth the money.

Room Tip: get a room with 2 DBL unless you are a couple. so much more room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hhsol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear hhsol,

Thank you for your thoughtful review! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we sincerely look forward to your return trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

If lots of people in Times Square lead to you feeling suffocated, this hotel located 1 subway stop away in Chelsea is worth considering. Chelsea is the garden district so the hotel entrance is surrounded by a street of flower stores which provides a nice contrast to the dirty NY streets. The red subway line on the same street as the hotel provides access to the rest of Manhattan and beyond.

Our first impression when checking in was not great with the front desk employee being curt, so I'm marking down for that (how hard is a friendly greeting when you've just arrived in a new city from across the country). Although we came to learn that a lack of friendliness is not uncommon in NY. The hotel was clean, although the room was small. From what I have read this is standard for NY though.

The breakfast provided for a reasonable price was quite good. The hotel uses a nearby restaurant for its dinner, Mustang Sally's. We ate there a few times and it was good.

I agree with what others have written about the lifts. In peak times the wait for a lift can be excessively long which is frustrating.

In summary our stay at this hotel was good and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Simon F ,


Please allow us to apologize for any inconveniences you experienced during your recent stay with us. Please be assured that all of our guests experiences are important to us and we do our best to ensure they have a memorable experience when staying with us , We appreciate the feedback our guests provide us with, so that we are able to pursue our goal to provide the highest quality service and experience to our guests., we certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

The service at this Hilton Garden Inn is really, really excellent. My hat is off to the GM (who seems to be present quite often) or other management. Everyone from Housekeeping, maintenance, doormen, desk staff, restaurant employees are friendly, helpful and seem genuinely interested in taking care of all needs. The rooms are, lets call them cozy. Breakfast is overpriced and with no draft beer in the little bar, I am just not interested particularly when I can walk 8 - 10 blocks and be somewhere great. They do like to provide you with lots and lots of complimentary hot drinks though, which although more and more common is still appreciated. If you are in the wholesale clothing business or plants, this is the location for you. If you are a tourist or doing a convention in the Javits, not so much. It's blocks to any decent attractions, restaurants or night spots. 28th between 4th and 12th is pretty much a dead zone. But it does beat fighting the Easter and other holiday crowds in Time Square. Just bring some walking shoes.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Doug N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Doug N,

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review. We are very Happy to know that your stay at the Hotel met your expectations and forward to hosting you again should you return to the city.Your kind words regarding the friendly service of our Staff is greatly appreciated and we look forward to sharing them with our team. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!
We look forward to seeing you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

Had stayed in this hotel two or three years ago and found myself looking at it again for our trip in February. The hotel didn't disappoint. Friendly staff, rooms nice and tidy, bathroom clean. Room is small, but that is typical of New York hotels and doesn't affect my review.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Jordan ,


Thanks so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed our location. We are thrilled to hear your wonderful service comments our staff constantly provides great service daily and look forward to sharing your comments with our team.
We certainly hope you will choose to stay with us in the future the next time you are in New York City.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,813 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#199 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#317 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing