We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out for Valuables”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #213 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2008

We had an amazing stay at this hotel.... It was lovely and exceeded our expectations. We stayed for 9 days.

Unfortunatley I left my luggage with the hotel for 1 hour while we waited for our transfer to the Airport. During this time I had all my jewellery and other valuables stolen from my hand luggage. Luggage is stored in the hotels restaurant. Which we felt was fairly secure as the restaurant was closed. Apparently only Hotel staff had access to this area.

What a sad way to end a great stay in NY. It was very difficult to get someone from the hotel to discuss this matter. When we finally did after many calls from Australia. They really were not intrested. Took our complaint but that was it.

Great hotel but watch out for security in your room & during luggage storage.

Stayed: May 2008
2  Thank liznsean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,135)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,808 - 1,814 of 2,135 reviews

Reviewed July 23, 2008

We recently stayed for six nights at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chelsea, New York, and were highly delighted with it. It's a new hotel, and has only been open a short while, and is ideally placed as a base to explore Manhattan. The hotel's public amenities are few - for example, there's no pool. But there's a pleasant breakfast room, and a small, yet comfortable, lounge area. There's also a business centre, offering free open-access PCs and internet service. The bedrooms are very well appointed, attractive and comfortable, and the staff are helpful and friendly.

The hotel is in the middle of Chelsea's flower district, and there's a subway station at the end of the street. The Empire State, Macy's and Times Square are within walking distance.

Good value for money. Breakfast isn't included, and though we chose to make our own arrangements for breakfast, a peek in the breakfast room suggested that there's a very wide choice, including cooked-to-order food. There's also a small shop where basic food provisions can be purchased.

We'll definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DocDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2008

it was our first time in ny my husband my 9 year old son and myself we arrived several hours early and we were able to store our luggage so we could go see some of the sights we were there for 3 days and everyone was very nice they catered to our every need, they were very helpful when we were not sure where we were going they printed out maps for us put us on the right subways. the rooms were in great shape very clean all in all the hilton garden inn chelsea and the staff were excellent !!!!!!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank grumpy605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

Just stayed for 2 nights. Rooms were small but nice. Property newer and in good condition. Very quiet except for the opening and closing of other room doors. Bathroom was not as clean as it could have been. Found dried toothpaste on counter top and hair on toilet and shower. Nothing a few Lysol wipes couldn't handle. Most front desk folks were helpful and accommodating. One was very so-so - didn't want to be bothered with anything. For example, we wanted to have them hold our luggage on the day of departure and one guy at the desk paged a person to get it. 15 mins later still nobody to take luggage and no offer from front desk guy to do anything about it or re-page the person. We asked a women who appeared at the desk if she wouldn't mind paging the baggage person as we had been waiting and she profusely apologized that we had to wait and came over and took the bags herself - while Mr. can't be bothered just stood there. I would stay here again but it is a bit pricey if your paying regular rate. Great location.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank BringHomeTroops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We selected this hotel over several other Hilton's / Hampton Inn's in the Midtown area. Overall, we were very pleased. The hotel is very new. The rooms are a little small, but very nicely furnished. Staff was very attentive and friendly.

By far the best thing about this hotel is the great location. There is a subway station on the same block (7th avenue line (1)). You can walk two blocks east to get on the Broadway line (N,R,W), and you can walk about 3 blocks north to get on the 6th avenue lines at Penn Station (B,D,F,V, PATH). You can be anywhere in Manhattan in about 20 -30 minutes. Also, the 34th street shopping area (Macy's) is very close, and Time's Square is a short 14 block walk up 7th avenue.

A few considerations.

1. Breakfast is $14.95, compare to free at Hampton Inns. We went to the Whole Foods down 7th avenue to stock up a breakfast items. There are refrigerators and microwaves in the room.

2. No on-site laundry. In these days of carry-ons, it would be nice to have.

3. The restuarant choices in the immediate area (2-3 blocks) are somwhat limited. There are a couple of bar / grills on 7th avenue. Mustang Sally's was quiet tasty, although a little noisy. There are at least two other hotels currently being built on the same block, so maybe the restaurants will soon follow.

4. 28th street is pretty quiet at night. During the day, the sidewalk is overrun by flowers and plants from all of the wholesale flower ships. This makes the street nice and lively, but a little hard to walk down.

5. There are only 2 elevators for 23 floors, so the wait for an elevator can be a few minutes.

6. This hotel is so new that our cab driver from LGA didn't even know where it was. Make sure you have the address (28th between 6th and 7th).

I would stay here again if in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank BMIFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chelsea. I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member and used reward points. We had read reviews of other Hilton properties in Manhatten before deciding on this particular property.

We found all of the positive comments from previous reviews to be true. Our room, while small, was very clean. It had a cool flat screen High Def TV with at least 200 channels, including about 30 or more High Def. Our room was on the 19th Floor and we could see the top of the Empire State Building. My wife especially loved that. The workout room in the basement was about average for an HGI, which is a complement.

The one negative comment that we had noted regarded the speed of the elevators. We were prepared for it, but in the 8 days we were there, I only had 1 semi-lengthy wait. It really wasn't an issue for us.

We found the location of the hotel to be good (rather than great). It was a half block from the subway, but a few more restaurants nearby would have been nice. From that standpoint, a Times Square location would have been better for our purposes.

The best thing about the stay for us was the staff. Everyone we came in contact with, Front Desk, Maintenance, Housekeeping, Restaurant, was really helpful, friendly and terrific.

We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Husker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights and it was great. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was wonderful! We did tons of sight seeing in the city and loved coming back to the quiet location of this hotel and the cozy beds. It is central to everything and right by the subway which we used quite often. It has a refrigerator so we enjoyed bringing back our snacks from places such as Dean & DeLuca. the Chelsea Market etc. and having them for late night treats. My only complaint about the hotel is that the doors slam very loudly (including the bathroom doors) but once we figured that out we were careful when getting up in the middle of the night. This hotel truly was a place to look forward to getting back to after a long day in the city!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#146 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#51 of 473 in New York City
971 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#319 of 473 in New York City
2,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#258 of 473 in New York City
2,106 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#167 of 473 in New York City
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#77 Family Hotel in New York City
#190 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $132 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing