We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #213 of 466 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Loved the location”
Reviewed July 21, 2008

We selected this hotel over several other Hilton's / Hampton Inn's in the Midtown area. Overall, we were very pleased. The hotel is very new. The rooms are a little small, but very nicely furnished. Staff was very attentive and friendly.

By far the best thing about this hotel is the great location. There is a subway station on the same block (7th avenue line (1)). You can walk two blocks east to get on the Broadway line (N,R,W), and you can walk about 3 blocks north to get on the 6th avenue lines at Penn Station (B,D,F,V, PATH). You can be anywhere in Manhattan in about 20 -30 minutes. Also, the 34th street shopping area (Macy's) is very close, and Time's Square is a short 14 block walk up 7th avenue.

A few considerations.

1. Breakfast is $14.95, compare to free at Hampton Inns. We went to the Whole Foods down 7th avenue to stock up a breakfast items. There are refrigerators and microwaves in the room.

2. No on-site laundry. In these days of carry-ons, it would be nice to have.

3. The restuarant choices in the immediate area (2-3 blocks) are somwhat limited. There are a couple of bar / grills on 7th avenue. Mustang Sally's was quiet tasty, although a little noisy. There are at least two other hotels currently being built on the same block, so maybe the restaurants will soon follow.

4. 28th street is pretty quiet at night. During the day, the sidewalk is overrun by flowers and plants from all of the wholesale flower ships. This makes the street nice and lively, but a little hard to walk down.

5. There are only 2 elevators for 23 floors, so the wait for an elevator can be a few minutes.

6. This hotel is so new that our cab driver from LGA didn't even know where it was. Make sure you have the address (28th between 6th and 7th).

I would stay here again if in Manhattan.

  • Liked — Great location, great staff
  • Disliked — Lack of nearby dining options
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BMIFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    858
    809
    224
    66
    47
See reviews for
638
508
149
368
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lenexa, KS
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2008

My wife and I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn, Chelsea. I am a Hilton Honors Diamond member and used reward points. We had read reviews of other Hilton properties in Manhatten before deciding on this particular property.

We found all of the positive comments from previous reviews to be true. Our room, while small, was very clean. It had a cool flat screen High Def TV with at least 200 channels, including about 30 or more High Def. Our room was on the 19th Floor and we could see the top of the Empire State Building. My wife especially loved that. The workout room in the basement was about average for an HGI, which is a complement.

The one negative comment that we had noted regarded the speed of the elevators. We were prepared for it, but in the 8 days we were there, I only had 1 semi-lengthy wait. It really wasn't an issue for us.

We found the location of the hotel to be good (rather than great). It was a half block from the subway, but a few more restaurants nearby would have been nice. From that standpoint, a Times Square location would have been better for our purposes.

The best thing about the stay for us was the staff. Everyone we came in contact with, Front Desk, Maintenance, Housekeeping, Restaurant, was really helpful, friendly and terrific.

We would definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Liked — The people.
  • Disliked — The room was a little small.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Husker82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

We stayed at this Hotel for 5 nights and it was great. The beds were extremely comfortable and the staff was wonderful! We did tons of sight seeing in the city and loved coming back to the quiet location of this hotel and the cozy beds. It is central to everything and right by the subway which we used quite often. It has a refrigerator so we enjoyed bringing back our snacks from places such as Dean & DeLuca. the Chelsea Market etc. and having them for late night treats. My only complaint about the hotel is that the doors slam very loudly (including the bathroom doors) but once we figured that out we were careful when getting up in the middle of the night. This hotel truly was a place to look forward to getting back to after a long day in the city!

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hbtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2008

Just enjoyed 3 nights here,first time in New York so not sure what to expect.We arrived early but were able to leave our bags & check in.Although I had asked ( on requests in Expedia who I booked through) for adjacent rooms( 2 double doubles) the rooms were on 4th & 10th floors,but it didn't really matter.On returning later on we had been moved to better rooms together on the 21st floor,quietly ans without fuss-very commendable.The rooms were fine,TV,power shower,fridge,microwave coffee maker etc.Even a view of Empire State building from one.The breakfasts are ideal to fill you up until late afternoon,and the staff were friendly and helpful.All in all we would certainly return there if we ever go back to NY.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, NY
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2008

I booked this hotel because of its price and location and it turned out to be so much more. After a series of issues getting to the hotel, I arrived to check in at 12:15 p.m. I knew if they didn't have any rooms available we were just going to leave our luggage and go, but it was more convienent to check in. I knew the hotel was sold out the night before, so I knew it might not be possible. To add to the confusion, the hotel Property Management System had been down all morning, so they were using paper lists to check in and out guests. When I asked for our room, a room with 2 double beds, Irene, the front desk associate told me their were none of those rooms available. She then called up to housekeeping to check the status of other rooms. She told me she could put me in a room they they told her was a double room. She told me she had no way to double check with the computer down, but if there was an issue to let her know. The room was not only correct, but beautiful. Refrigerator and microwave, great HVAC system, nice bathroom with a great shower and comfortable bed. The room was clean with a crisp contemporary design. The stay was great and staff really made the difference. As a hotel General Manager, I know how easy it would have been to say, "I'm sorry, your room isn't available", especially with no computer system, but Irene was outstanding and took care of us. She would definately be an employee I would want to have at my hotel's Front Desk!

  • Liked — Irene at the Front Desk
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rsjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

Stayed for 6 nights at the HGI and loved it. Bed was so comfortable, bathroom was a good size and location was brillant, will being staying here on my next trip.

  • Liked — Beds and location, oh and cool little water feature in reception
  • Disliked — Nothing-was fab
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank stokie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2008

Stayed here for one night. Typical hotel room for nyc in terms of size i.e. small but more than sufficient for a one night stay. We used points for our stay and so I can't comment on the value but it was substantially fewer points than many other choices. We found the location convenient, the staff very helpful, and overall enjoyed our stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — small room size - althought that is certainly par for the course in nyc. by nyc standards it was fine.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pdebate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#54 of 466 in New York City
803 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#211 of 466 in New York City
812 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 466 in New York City
1,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 466 in New York City
831 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#320 of 466 in New York City
1,974 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#179 of 466 in New York City
3,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#150 Family Hotel in New York City
#194 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing