We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great NYC Find in Chelsea Flower Market!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #202 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I was a bit apprehensive of our NYC vacation, having heard the worst of the worst horror stories regarding hotel rooms. We opted for this Hilton Garden Inn for a three-night/four-day stay, and both my hubby and I were pleasantly surprised. Hubs had thought the room was going to be closet-sized, but it was generous in proportions, and only about a third smaller than a standard Hilton Garden Inn. My concerns are always more around cleanliness, and I too was pleasantly surprised. The sheets, bathroom, towels, floors, etc... were all meticulous. The cons: tub did not drain well, so an average shower led to bathtub full of water. We opted to not have cleaning service one day and were left a generous portion of towels and bath goods hanging on the door, which was a nice touch as a lot of places won't do that. However, the day it was serviced, our full trash can was not emptied (only the bath), coffee cups not replenished, and a random pillowcase was left on the dresser. A bit odd.... Upon request, the cups were brought up by staff. We adored the free-flowing, complimentary good Starbucks coffee - note that even if you do not buy the breakfast ($17.95 I think), the coffee is still free!! My husband went out searching for coffee shops for us the first morning until we realized this treat. I'll also add that we requested a quiet room, which ironically enough, placed us on the side of the hotel with the only shared wall to the construction next door, where they are building another hotel. My hunch based on the baby down the hall and family with young kids as well, is that "quiet room" requests are likely assigned a specified floor. I would encourage them to not use the side of the hotel next to the construction. Thankfully the white noise app on our phones helped us sleep, although it was more of the tossing and turning variety once the construction started up around 3 or 4am every night. NYC noise is to be expected. All in all, I give this hotel 4 stars and highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side of the hotel away from the construction.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Fievel1079,



Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location pleasing. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,040)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

893 - 899 of 2,040 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights, and found it convenient to the subway, near a supermarket, fast food, and on a strip of road known for flower wholesalers, so pretty as well! The rooms were quite sizeable for other NY rooms I have been in. We paid $200 Australian per night, and thought that was good value considering other NY hotels we also stayed in. Front desk personnel were friendly, happy to help and call taxis/vans etc. I never did see a concierge at his desk, but the Reception people seemed to do that as well. The bar at the back of the reception area is small, but nicely set up. The lounge area at the front is also small, but comfy. I would stay here again, and recommend it as a convenient place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fish096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Googa66,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Spent a "reunion" weekend in NYC with three other women--we were college roommates more than 30 years ago. Hilton Garden Inn offered rooms with two queen beds at reasonable rates and the Chelsea location is convenient and fun. As has been my experience with HGIs, the service is excellent and the rooms are very high quality for a mid-priced hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
2  Thank SueJG2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Trip advisor member,


Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job exceeding expectations and making sure everything is spotless. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures.Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

rooms are clean. location ideal and price is right for nyc. staff was helpful and friendly. room service was great and quick and would stay there again in a heart beat. buffet looked good although never tried it (lots of variety) and starbucks in the lobby too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Marcia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Marcia A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and convenient. We also agree that our location is ideal and located on a beautiful street lined with fresh flowers each day. Our staff does a wonderful job exceeding expectations and making sure everything is spotless. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My family enjoyed a four night stay at this HGI recently. The friendliness of the staff, and overall level of service, was excellent. The hotel was clean, the breakfast (both quality and service) was outstanding, and we would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Jeff C.


Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location pleasing. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was quite a find. The room was generous by NYC standards. The staff at the hotel was amazing. I would not hesitate staying here again nor recommending to friends and family. I did have Diamond coupons so I enjoyed the breakfast served although I doubt that I would have bough it had I not had the coupons.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Jim B,


Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel rooms convenient. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel that I typically stay at when in NY was booked and I was able to find a room here. When I arrived the area wasn't quite what I expected (construction nearby and not as close to my client as I thought) but boy , o boy would was I pleasantly surprised. The staff was absolutely incredible. Extra friendly, helpful and I felt so safe and completely welcomed. I travel a lot and stay at a lot of places. The customer service that I received here is so much better than what I've grown to expect. Overall experience was awesome. Housekeeping staff did a great job, even changing the sheets mid week. When I realized that some of the other hotels were not in that practice I began requesting double beds so that I can have clean sheet options-lol. On any note, a fabulous stay and I have officially made this my hotel of choice when I'm in NYC on business.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank danette03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Danette03,


Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#207 of 468 in New York City
828 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,904 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#262 of 468 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#314 of 468 in New York City
2,026 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#115 of 468 in New York City
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#147 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $157 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing