We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Long Stay...Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #223 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Stay...Excellent Stay”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family stayed at this hotel for 25 days this past June 2013...more than enough time to see the entire staff and judge their effectiveness at providing a quality stay. As a very frequent traveler, I stay at hotels all over the country. So my review comes from years of hotel experiences.

First off the front desk staff and bellmen: Friendly, efficient, and always courteous. I was surprised how nice they were (considering we're in NYC...not a place known for out going hospitality). But everyone we spoke with was helpful and willing to give that little extra to improve our stay. The manager made a special point of saying hello and was very open to and sought our opinion and review of his hotel.

The waitresses and chefs: Each morning we were greeted with a smile and attentive service. The chefs made a large amount of good tasting food. We never waited for any food to be brought out, there were generous amounts ready to be served. Plus, they'd cook special requests for breakfast as well. The waitresses were sincerely nice. They were attentive but not overly intrusive. Plus, they remembered our breakfast likes, so they anticipated our requests and filled them quickly.

The cleaning staff: Very attentive and professional. We made some special requests that were quickly responded to.

Location: Easy walking distance to most things you'd like to see in NYC. Cabs were relatively easy to get. The #1 Red subway line is at the end of the block, not far from the front door of the hotel.

Overall: Considering how well we were treated, how great the staff took care of us during our extended stay, I cannot praise them enough. The rooms are just big enough to two beds, a desk/closet/drawer unit, and a night stand...not a lot of room, but considering you're only sleeping there and not lounging around, it was fine. Would we stay there again if ever in NYC? Absolutely yes.

Room Tip: There is a new hotel being constructed adjacent to the west side of the hotel...although we heard no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear M R ,


Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.Our staff does a great job of welcoming and offering personal attention to each guest. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to seeing you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    796
    219
    66
    47
See reviews for
627
500
147
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel over the July 4th weekend. All of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room accomodated 4 people very well and was clear and quiet. The location was great - within walking distance of many things and the subway. We also took advantage of the valet parking which was nice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Patricia J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Patricia J,


Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope you had a great 4th of July , You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a really convenient hotel, located in the Flower district. It's within walking distance to Times Square but in a quiet area away from the noise. The room is relatively small and compact but given the limited time spent in the room and the fact that this is standard in NY this is not an issue. The inclusion of a microwave and a small pantry of reasonably priced convenience items is advantageous. The inclusion of an in-room safe would be beneficial. However, reception does provide a safe.

Beds are comfortable and rooms are quiet.although there is some noise from the adjacent building site.. Air conditioning is efficient but a little noisy. It actually blocked any construction noise. Hot water is excellent.

Fresh coffee is provided in the lobby each morning and water and cookies in the afternoons which is a nice touch. Staff are courteous. Room cleaning is prompt and efficient.

We would stay here again when we next visit NYC.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Cas S,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand the complaints about a small room. This is New York. Rooms are smaller as space comes at a premium. The best thing about this hotel was the staff. Particularly the breakfast server and the doormen. I felt that the doormen were always on the lookout for the safety of the hotel guests. The location gave us easy access to everything we wanted to see and do. We had two rooms on the 14th floor and they were clean and quiet. The breakfast was better than the breakfast we were served later in our stay at the millennium Hilton ($54.00 pp thank you). Great value; great staff!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Catherine P,


Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed in the hotel a month back. The hotel has unreliable elevators. We came back from the city tour in the night and were heading to our room. We got stuck in the elevator. We pushed every button in the elevator and none of them worked. After repeated screams for 15 minutes, we were able to get the attention of the hotel staff. I reported the problem to the manager and it appears the whole problem was ignored. I would never stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vg p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear VG P,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for the elevator issue you encountered and know that our guests’ safety is our utmost priority. Our management team responds immediately and swiftly to ensure the safety of our guests. We also have our elevator company’s emergency unit that responds immediately to these situations, Once again, for our guest’s safety. At no time was there a long wait for anyone to be removed from the elevator. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you experienced and if I can be of any further assistance please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,

Silvio Zinnanti
212-564-2181
Silvio.zinnanti@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This hotel has a good location close to the subway and in the middle of Manhattan. However, we had a few issues. We had made reservations months in advance and listed 4 people in the room. There were only 3 towels/washcloths left. I had to ask 2 times for another one. Finally, on the last day they left 4. When we checked in I asked about breakfast. I had booked a room that was titled double room "with breakfast". The guy at the desk told me it did not come with breakfast. I said how can a room titled "with breakfast" not include breakfast. He kept telling me it didn't. We went out and I spent a lot of my time trying to get someone to forward me an email from home to show them I was supposed to get breakfast. When we got back to the hotel and I had the email ready to show them they said they found their mistake and gave us breakfast. The breakfast was great and the 2 waitresses were friendly and wonderful. If you want breakfast, it is better to get it included in your rate when you reserve your room. When we came in the first evening all sweaty and needing a shower we found the vent in the bathroom did not work. So after several showers the bathroom felt like a sauna. I was sweaty again before I left bathroom. The AC in the room did work very well but did not help in the bathroom. I called down to the desk and let them know. They sent someone in that day and when we came in that evening the vent worked but made some noise. It stopped working again the next day, we called and let them know, someone came and checked it and said it was burnt up and they would have to order one. Overall, it's a good hotel with reasonable rates. I have just been having these same type issues with the last several times I have stayed at a Hilton. I picked the hotel and was embarrassed our friends had these issues. The view was also disappointing. The best things at this hotel were the waitresses, breakfast, and the bellmen.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

The Hilton Garden Inn is a great place to stay. The rooms are clean, quiet and very comfortable. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful and the location of the hotel is very convenient to Penn Station NY and midtown. The subway stop is at the end of the block.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Margaret M,


Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! You and every other guest of ours are very important to us. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#152 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,830 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 742 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#197 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#318 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing