We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will stay again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #213 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Will stay again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2008

What a great hotel. We stayed here from April 3rd to April 7th. The rooms were very big with plenty of space to unpack luggage...a small size closet and a dresser. The in-room microwave and fridge really helped as well. The hotel was sold out so we were stuck in a handicap accessible room. The room itself is much bigger than the other rooms (friends stood in a regular room) but the bathroom does not come with a tub. It is a standing shower and water splashes everywhere. Make sure that you request a room that isn't handicap accessible (if you don't need it).

The hotel staff was so friendly. The lobby was beautiful. We did not use room service but it is available. There is a gym on the first floor as well as a business center. The bed was very comfortable and the room came with an HD flat screen tv. It is also CLEAN. That was my biggest concern and I was so pleased with how clean the entire hotel is.

The hotel is also very close to everything. If you make a right out of the hotel, the next street is 7th Avenue. Make a right on 7th and within 3 blocks, you are in front of Madison Square Garden. Walk a few more blocks and you are in Time Square. I suggest the pizza parlor that is on the corner of 7th and 28th and also the one on 8th and 28th. The prices of things like water and snacks at the hotel is very expensive but there is a McDonald's on the corner of 6th and 28th that delivers as well as a pharmacy on 7th and 28th.

This really is a great hotel and I will stay again.

  • Liked — Clean, big, friendly staff, area
  • Disliked — The bathroom in the handicap accessible room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PembrokePines_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    832
    779
    213
    63
    47
See reviews for
614
488
145
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
lake tahoe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2008

We had a very nice stay at this hotel from March 28 to April 2nd, 2008. The room was recently updated with very trendy decor. The bedding was luxuruious!! Rooms were very clean.

The plus for the location was the proximity (within 1/2 block) to the 1 2 3 subway. Just a few steps and your on the subway system which will take you to Penn Station (next stop), Time Square, and Central Park. This hotel is located on 28th street right in the wholesale flower district. The streets and local shops are filled with plants and flowers! Just lovely.

We had a marvelous stay and would recommend this hotel. We obtained a great price per night on Priceline.com

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mauilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sooke
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2008

Stayed here March 12 to March 16 2008. Can't say enough about this hotel. We got an excellent rate booked through the hotel website. Hotel is walking distance from Penn Station, 5 min to Empire State building, 5 Minutes to Macy's, and about a 15 min walk to Times Square. It is right in the flower district so when you look out your window you look down on a street of colourful flower shops. The Subway is close by, and for a couple of girl's from a small city who though the subway would be confusing and complicated, it truly is the best way to get around the city!
The hotel rooms are small but how much time are you really going to be spending in the room? The bed and linens were really comfortable. The only thing I was dissappointed in was the housekeeping. They changed our towels daily but they never cleaned the bathroom the entire time we were there. We are pretty tidy people anyway so it wasn't like we made a mess but the floor was never swept, and the mirror was never cleaned. They have an environmmental inititive where they only change the sheets if requested which is really great but I still expect the bed to be made and not just the Duvet to be thrown back over the rumpled sheets. If I had been paying the rate listed rigfht now on the website I would have said something, but like I said, we were barely in our room.
Check in was quick and the staff was really nice and helpful. If you get back to your room and are hungry but your feet are too tired to go out again ask the front desk a good place to order pizza. They recommended a great place to us that is a block away from the hotel and has great thin crust wood-oven baked pizza. To Die for! Too bad I can't remember the name!

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and if I ever make it back I would stay there again!

  • Liked — location, price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucygoose01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#175 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#315 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,869 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#196 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing