We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #196 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Have just returned from here after a five nights stay. The hotel staff are very friendly and very helpful. Great location close to the Empire state building,macys and Madison square gardens. Rooms cleaned everyday to a high standard. Really enjoyed our stay here and if/when we return for our next trip to new york we would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevinolley77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our rooms are very clean and well maintained. We agree with you that our location is ideal. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,185 - 1,191 of 2,090 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for five nights just before Thanksgiving with friends. The hotel is in a great location, a few blocks from the Macy's and the Empire State. There are also subway stations close by and a couple of friendly bars on the junction with 7th Avenue. The rooms were a decent size and cleaned every day. We didn't spend a great deal of time in the hotel, as you don't go to NYC to sit in the hotel room, we tended to be out early and back late, but at all times we found the staff to be friendly, from the doorman to the manager who we bumped into in the lift. Overall I thought it was a great base for a busy trip to New York. Would certainly stay there again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank ljlh6302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel spotless and location convenient. Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Hotel staff at front desk was very helpful and nice. Natasha and her co worker made everything right from check in till check out. Hats off to those women. Area is pretty functional to catch a cab or the subway around the corner, and also not to far from madison and 25th where eately is. and then right down the road is various shopping to Paragon Sports and other nice shops. A well placed convenient hotel by Hilton.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. I will be sure to pass along your kind words to Natasha. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures as well. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We stayed at this hotel over the Thanksgiving holiday. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I especially want to give kudos to the bell staff they were always smiling and greeted us everytime we left or arrived at the hotel. Even after we checked out they held our bags until we were picked up for the airport. The rooms were small but very clean and we used the fridge and microwave in the room. The hotel is close to the subway and many restaurants. My only disappointment was that breakfast was not included with our room, it has always been included in other Hilton Garden Inn's we have stayed at. I would definately stay here again on my next visit to NYC. :-)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsgal4401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find our location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed that our breakfast was not complimentary. The Hilton Garden Inn brand does not include breakfast unless a bed and breakfast package is booked.We offer a delicious full, cooked-to-order breakfast which is a step above other hotels' free breakfast offerings. Thus, we charge for it. Please take advantage of our bed and breakfast rate where breakfast is included with the room rate during your next stay. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just spent four nights at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Excellent stay. Convenient location, quiet, almost new, and amply sized rooms with microwave and refrigerator. Breakfast restaurant and small bar on site. Fitness room as well. On our third day we returned to the hotel around 4:30 pm tired and chilly only to find our room had not been cleaned. However, what was an inconvenience was quickly addressed by management and charming staff. A four rather than a five due to concern over construction on the street including a new building next to the hotel. Ask for a room at the back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhale53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and hotel rooms convenient. We also agree that both our location and hotel amenities in every room are ideal. I apologize you were inconvenienced that your room wasn't cleaned when you returned in the afternoon. When it is very busy at the hotel, the housekeeping staff will sometimes works past 5:30 to ensure every guest room is thoroughly cleaned. I'm happy to hear the staff quickly addressed the situation for you. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

Had a great stay HGI Chelsea recently. This is a nice hotel for the price. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. The rooms are standard HGI rooms. Of course they are quite small which is normal for NYC. Subway in very close which is very nice. No complaints overall!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert-037307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location and value ideal. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Spent a week here over Thanksgiving. Located half a block from the 28th/7th Ave subway and 1.5 blocks from 28th/Broadway line. Several decent restaurants within a block--we used The Greek Corner for good breakfasts, Mustang Sally's on 7th is good, Starbucks, McD's, etc. Rooms are much nicer than what we've paid much more for in previous NY visits--more space, very clean, roomy bathroom, nice bed. The concierge scored us great seats for a Jersey Boys matinee about four hours before show time. Our room was facing 28th, and there was some street noise at night, but not bad. Staff was friendly and helpful. We booked about four months out and paid about half of rack rate. We would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DCfromKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and spacious and our location convenient. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 470 in New York City
1,954 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#327 of 470 in New York City
2,098 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 470 in New York City
2,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#48 of 470 in New York City
942 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#189 of 470 in New York City
3,516 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn New York/West 35th Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Family Hotel in New York City
#191 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#197 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $137 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing