We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #214 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great stay!”
Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The room was clean and nice. The staff was really helpful. And the location was great. The walk to Times Square was not bad at all and very close to the Empire State Building. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tee_isos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient and hotel rooms clean. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    802
    222
    66
    47
See reviews for
632
506
147
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I'm as excited about this hotel as I can be after just a one night stay there. The location is prime, the price - reasonable (compared to some other hotels in NYC I've seen), the staff - helpful and efficient, everything is very modern, clean, well designed and well maintained. Spacious room, good toiletries, lots of electricity plugs around the room, very quiet, vending machines on the floors, plenty of towels, bath - I can't find any flaws at all!

I've had breakfast in the office, so not sure about the quality of the breakfast. Other than that - A+!

Room Tip: I'd probably choose a high floor, to make sure it's quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for the excellent feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our rooms are very clean and well maintained. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 10, 2012

My LI home is still without power (for 12 days now), so my family and I've been staying at Manhattan hotels this week. 6 nights in the cold was brutal! I am a Hilton Honor's member so I tried Double Tree, Hampton Inn, and Hilton Garden Inn this week. So far, I really like Hilton Garden Inn in Chelsea so far. I stayed in Double Tree right next street, but that place was tiny and more expensive. This Chelsea HGI, loved the fact that it's free wifi (although it's too slow), free coffee in the morning and yummy hot apple cider at night. My heart immediately warmed from Hurricane Sandy power outage stress.
Most staff were very friendly, but one house keeper in my floor was not that nice. I asked for a few more shampoos & conditioners since our family has long hairs and wanted to take multiple hot showers before we head out to cold- blackout home, but the house keeper was literally yelling at me in Spanish, "I put one in the bathroom! You need more?!!!!" Don't think she needed to yell. Just simply say, don't have spare to give. Then the same house keeper came to our door on the day we are checking out at 9:30am bang the door even though we had "do not disturb" sign on the door. We yelled, " we are checking out at 12!," but kept on banging the door loud and I lost all the morning sleep. Other than that, I give GHI a great review!!! I really recommend! Note: The room is a bit cold and hard to control the temperature of the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

This was my first stay, I normally stay across the road but the rates were too high. I had a nice, clean room, large TV, and comfortable bed (evidently you can modify the hardness of the mattress but I couldn't tell the difference!) and my rate came with a great cooked breakfast, and the staff service in the breakfast area was the highlight of my stay.

Room Tip: High floor, you get a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Muscledito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and comfortable. Our staff does a wonderful job assisting guests and offering personal attention. We agree that our full service Great American Grill restaurant makes a great breakfast indeed. Thank you again for your kind words, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deventer (NL)
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The location is great! The street in which the hotel is located is rather quiet - apart from the fact that there are several flower shops that are served very early in the morning (ask for a room on the back side!) - and the hotel is in a great midtown location. You can walk up to Times Square in half an hour (great walk by the way) or down to the NYU area. The hotel is also close to several subway stations with different lines. Also some restaurants and shops nearby.
Good size room for New York. No complaints!
We booked well in advance and got a great deal!

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy in the early (4-5 am) morning with honking traffic. So book early...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anonyma-NL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks so much for the very nice review of your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location pleasing. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed at this property on a business trip for five nights, and was pleasantly surprised. The location is great - while the street that the hotel is quiet, the hotel is in a great midtown location. You can walk (25 minutes) up to Times Square or (25 minutes) down to the NYU area. The hotel is also close to several subway stations, making the whole city easily accessible.

The rooms are incredibly small (not much room to move around), but if you're in NYC to sightsee and visit, the room size shouldn't be too much of an issue. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the size of the hotel (rather small, with only a few rooms on each floor) made for quiet evenings and restful sleep.

The amenities of the hotel are so-so, and nothing worth noting. The staff at the front desk vary - some are extremely helpful, and others seem like they wish they were anywhere else - carrying on personal conversations, not providing many details or information about the hotel and surrounding area. My only complaint about the hotel would be the poor attitudes of some of the staff, but other than that, a solid place to stay while visiting NYC.

Room Tip: A high floor, not facing the street - super quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChantalF01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear our location was convenient for you. It is nice that we are so close to major attractions, but yet our guests are able to escape large crowds and a lot of noise. I apologize that every interaction you had with our staff was not pleasant. That is certainly not standard to find in our hotel. We strive to ensure every team member knows how much we value our guests. Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 7, 2012

I usually give good reviews, but I had a hard time finding anything good about this hotel! We had stayed in a different Hilton Garden Inn (8th and 48th) in NYC prior to our cruise, so I was expecting a good experience at this one. The bed was so bad that we couldn't even take a quick nap! They have the "sleep number" type beds, and ours was not working properly so it was uneven, lumpy, terrible! We were finally moved to another room, but the manager was way too defensive and argumentative! The second room was okay, but we paid way too much for an "okay" room -- terrible view out our window, crowded area of town, no good restaurant or bar. I can't believe we paid the bill! The only good thing I can say is that the hotel staff (except for the manager) were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a room here. Find a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saundy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Saundy S,

Thank you for sharing feedback on your recent stay with us in Chelsea. We are glad to hear you found our staff friendly and welcoming and will relay your kind words to them. We are very sorry you were uncomfortable on our sleep number beds and that we were unable to provide you with the quality of amenities and service you deserved. If your travels take you back to New York City, we hope you will consider giving us a second chance in order for us to show you the Hilton Hospitality that you know and love.

Thank you,
Silvio Zinnanti
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 468 in New York City
776 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#156 of 468 in New York City
1,853 reviews
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#324 of 468 in New York City
1,952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#218 of 468 in New York City
805 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#117 of 468 in New York City
817 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#181 of 468 in New York City
3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing