We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Hotel in a funky area, absolutely a bargain.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #216 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Basic Hotel in a funky area, absolutely a bargain.”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have very few issues with this place . I got a fantastic corporate rate on short notice so I was not being very picky. We got there early and could not get our room, but they took our bags and the lobby is decent. Very nice clean bathroom in the Basement if needed. they don't do Mini bar, but have foood for sale in the lobby including wine. Room was well set up with hundreds of cable channels and cozy king bed. Temperture control is hard to get right 73 is too hot and 72 is freezing. Staff was very good, and overally it did it's job.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    852
    802
    222
    66
    47
See reviews for
632
506
147
364
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I recently stayed at this hotel on visit to New York. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. The location is superb and the staff welcoming and attentive. The breakfast, which was included in our rate, was terrific. Omlettes made to order and a generous selection of prepared fruits and other breakfast foods.

It may not be a five star hotel but it certainly delivers excellent value for a New York hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shleper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our guests are well taken care of. We agree with you that our breakfast is delicious thanks to our great chefs. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I am a native New Yorker who currently lives in Arizona. The purpose of my trip was to sell my coop in Manhattan. My three-day stay was not the first time I have stayed in a hotel in NYC. First let me compliment the staff. They were all first-rate from the bellman/doorman, check in, concierge, etc. I would suggest the lobby be refurbished, it's sad looking. Upholstery is worn through and the colors are drab and dark. The size of the room is typical for New York - but would greatly be improved by painting and using brighter colors. Our room overlooked the roof top of the adjacent building sooo if you want to have some sort of a view be sure to request. What made this a bit more difficult I had stayed at a Hilton Garden Inn in Wisconsin which was spectacular but then again, it was in Wisconsin and not the BIg Apple.

Room Tip: If you want some sort of a view, be sure to mention at check-in. However, it may prove a bit noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giuseppina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had an overall good experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find out location to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. We have a planned renovation this winter for our lobby area. We hope you come back and check out the upgrades in the future. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

I stayed here in September 2012 for two nights for a business trip. The hotel is located right on top of a bunch of flower shops, which is kinda cute. At night, though, it can be a little bit deserted.

When we arrived, the front desk staff was amazing. Several of my co-travelers have stayed here frequently, and the front desk staff checked them in by name, and then even joked that I was the next person they would have to get to know! So friendly!

I was on the second floor in a single room, which was comfortable and nicely maintained. The bed was comfy and the bathroom a good size.

All in all, this is as well maintained as any HGI I've ever stayed in. The location was fine, but not fancy. It was super close to the red line subway! What put this place ahead was the amazing customer service! Really above and beyond the service I usually expect at any hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lcking82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. The entire staff works very hard to exceed the expectations of every guest and making sure everything is clean and well maintained. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Thank you again for your great review, and we hope to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and it was well worth it. The room was large (for NYC standards), modern, clean and freshened up daily, AND the bed was really comfortable! The hotel is in a fantastic location, minutes walk to 34th street and the subway, and only about 10-15minutes walk to Times Square. The hotel is very central, and makes a great base for exploring NYC.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teppesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our rooms are very clean and well maintained. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a fairly small, modern hotel, well-located and reasonably priced. We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in a double queen room which was big enough by NY standards. The room was clean, beds were comfy, staff were very pleasant and helpful and very welcoming of our 2 children. I would definitely consider staying here again if visiting New York.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and spacious. Our employees do a great job of taking good care of our guests. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was very clean and the rooms fairly comfortable. The price was good. I waited until the week before the trip and the price dropped so I booked then. 204/night Fri and 234/night Sat 2 queen, cty view, no-smo, included breakfast. The breakfast was a great start to the day with omelets and waffles to keep up going until whenever we wanted a late lunch. My only complaint is that the airconditioner in the room is a little noisy and I had a hard time falling asleep the first night of our stay, but that is usually the case anyway with traveling. It is near the subway and walking distance (very close) to Penn Station. We walked to Times Square up Broadway on our first night and had a lovely time visiting Bryant Park on the way. Took the subway back. Do not get tix from the concierge for museum visits. The prices are suggested so you can pay what you want when you get there.

Room Tip: Higher floor, city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal for your many adventures! I'm so sorry you were faced with air conditioner noise your first night. I apologize you did not get a good night sleep. I'm happy to hear that your morning was better after a delicious breakfast though. Our chefs are fantastic! Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
773 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#217 of 468 in New York City
804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#323 of 468 in New York City
1,951 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 468 in New York City
815 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#181 of 468 in New York City
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing