We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$177
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$153
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$339
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$183
$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$144
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$236
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$215
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,165)
Filter reviews
2,165 results
Traveler rating
930
859
250
75
51
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
930
859
250
75
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflower districtpenn stationnew yorktimes squaremicrowave and fridgemadison square gardentwo queen bedshotel is locatedconvenient locationwould definitely stay here againbusiness centerempire state buildingfront desk stafffew blockscity viewthe high linestreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,291 - 1,296 of 2,165 reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in January and it was well worth it. The room was large (for NYC standards), modern, clean and freshened up daily, AND the bed was really comfortable! The hotel is in a fantastic location, minutes walk to 34th street and the subway, and only about 10-15minutes walk to Times Square. The hotel is very central, and makes a great base for exploring NYC.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teppesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a wonderful review about your stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location convenient. Our staff does a wonderful job making sure our rooms are very clean and well maintained. We agree that our rooms are nicely sized in NYC. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice, and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in New York!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This is a fairly small, modern hotel, well-located and reasonably priced. We (2 adults and 2 children) stayed in a double queen room which was big enough by NY standards. The room was clean, beds were comfy, staff were very pleasant and helpful and very welcoming of our 2 children. I would definitely consider staying here again if visiting New York.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrsMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our hotel clean and spacious. Our employees do a great job of taking good care of our guests. Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was very clean and the rooms fairly comfortable. The price was good. I waited until the week before the trip and the price dropped so I booked then. 204/night Fri and 234/night Sat 2 queen, cty view, no-smo, included breakfast. The breakfast was a great start to the day with omelets and waffles to keep up going until whenever we wanted a late lunch. My only complaint is that the airconditioner in the room is a little noisy and I had a hard time falling asleep the first night of our stay, but that is usually the case anyway with traveling. It is near the subway and walking distance (very close) to Penn Station. We walked to Times Square up Broadway on our first night and had a lovely time visiting Bryant Park on the way. Took the subway back. Do not get tix from the concierge for museum visits. The prices are suggested so you can pay what you want when you get there.

Room Tip: Higher floor, city view
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal for your many adventures! I'm so sorry you were faced with air conditioner noise your first night. I apologize you did not get a good night sleep. I'm happy to hear that your morning was better after a delicious breakfast though. Our chefs are fantastic! Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

NIce staff, especially the gentlemen working the front of hotel at curb. Always said hello. Good rate and room was clean. But air con was either too cold or needed to be shut off. One day maid service didnt come until we came back to room at 4 and wanted to rest so that was bit awkward and surprising. Only bad news was street noise. People really like to blow thier horns in NYC. Two of four night stay was awoken at 2 AM by loud truck air horns honking. So maybe try for higher floor in back if possible. Also several block walk to a good place where you can get a reasonable breakfast (Brooklyn Bagel). Again covers the basics but if you want a special nice occasion hotel,might be a bit underwhelmed. Yet again if you can swing for under $200 probably worth it.

Room Tip: As far from street as possible. Maybe also leave air con on at night and bundle up with extra blanket
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagurundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. Our staff does a wonderful job welcoming our guests and making sure everything is spotless. I'm sorry you were woken up to NYC noises. It's definitely the city that never sleeps. Depending on our occupancy, our housekeepers work everyday until 5-5:30 to ensure every guest room is serviced. I apologize they interrupted you during working hours. I hope you weren't faced with this inconvenience throughout the rest of your stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will be our guest again in the future, so we have to opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A nice well located, well furnished, clean place with a surprisingly friendly and helful staff -- what more can you ask for. Our room was on the 20th floor with windows facing away from street noises so it was quieter than one would expect of the Big Apple. The negatives, small room with a very small closet, and a "city view" of rooftops, were of no signficance considering that we did not come to NY to stay in our room, and considering the reasonable price tag. It was a very good experience and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thanks so much for the review of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. I'm sorry you found our rooms small. We actually have "larger" rooms than most hotels in our area. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for you though. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews