We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Ranked #220 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Good choice for Hotel”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel was very clean and the rooms fairly comfortable. The price was good. I waited until the week before the trip and the price dropped so I booked then. 204/night Fri and 234/night Sat 2 queen, cty view, no-smo, included breakfast. The breakfast was a great start to the day with omelets and waffles to keep up going until whenever we wanted a late lunch. My only complaint is that the airconditioner in the room is a little noisy and I had a hard time falling asleep the first night of our stay, but that is usually the case anyway with traveling. It is near the subway and walking distance (very close) to Penn Station. We walked to Times Square up Broadway on our first night and had a lovely time visiting Bryant Park on the way. Took the subway back. Do not get tix from the concierge for museum visits. The prices are suggested so you can pay what you want when you get there.

Room Tip: Higher floor, city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location ideal for your many adventures! I'm so sorry you were faced with air conditioner noise your first night. I apologize you did not get a good night sleep. I'm happy to hear that your morning was better after a delicious breakfast though. Our chefs are fantastic! Thank you again for choosing the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,969 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    842
    795
    219
    66
    47
See reviews for
626
500
147
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

NIce staff, especially the gentlemen working the front of hotel at curb. Always said hello. Good rate and room was clean. But air con was either too cold or needed to be shut off. One day maid service didnt come until we came back to room at 4 and wanted to rest so that was bit awkward and surprising. Only bad news was street noise. People really like to blow thier horns in NYC. Two of four night stay was awoken at 2 AM by loud truck air horns honking. So maybe try for higher floor in back if possible. Also several block walk to a good place where you can get a reasonable breakfast (Brooklyn Bagel). Again covers the basics but if you want a special nice occasion hotel,might be a bit underwhelmed. Yet again if you can swing for under $200 probably worth it.

Room Tip: As far from street as possible. Maybe also leave air con on at night and bundle up with extra blank...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jagurundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay. Our staff does a wonderful job welcoming our guests and making sure everything is spotless. I'm sorry you were woken up to NYC noises. It's definitely the city that never sleeps. Depending on our occupancy, our housekeepers work everyday until 5-5:30 to ensure every guest room is serviced. I apologize they interrupted you during working hours. I hope you weren't faced with this inconvenience throughout the rest of your stay. Thank you for staying with us. We hope you will be our guest again in the future, so we have to opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

A nice well located, well furnished, clean place with a surprisingly friendly and helful staff -- what more can you ask for. Our room was on the 20th floor with windows facing away from street noises so it was quieter than one would expect of the Big Apple. The negatives, small room with a very small closet, and a "city view" of rooftops, were of no signficance considering that we did not come to NY to stay in our room, and considering the reasonable price tag. It was a very good experience and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks so much for the review of your recent stay at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea! Our entire staff makes every effort to accommodate our guests and make them feel welcome. I'm sorry you found our rooms small. We actually have "larger" rooms than most hotels in our area. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for you though. We look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and the first morning I was woken up at 7:13 by construction next door that I thought was coming through my wall. I called to the rude desk clerk and she said there is no construction noise. I said come up to my room! I gave two stars because it was clean enough and some of the doormen were nice enough. Then they out a hold on my credit card for incidentals ,which there wasn't anything to have anyway , no room service ,only frozen food sold is the lobby shop for microwave . When I questioned the charge he said it will be released in a few days ,even though I checked out at noon Friday . I would not recommend staying here and the lobby could use a facelift the chairs were very ragged on the arms and dirty as can be. I felt like I was crawling and couldn't wait to take a shower. Also they were very overpriced from Wednesday $459 - $189 on Friday really??

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Cheryl M,

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review on your experience. We do acknowledge that there is construction going on next door and at times could be a bit of noise. However, the noise is intermittent and not for a very long time. We apologize for any inconveniences that the construction might have caused. We do take approval on credit cards and the funds are released upon check out. Regarding our lobby, we are in the final stages of drawings for a renovation and by year end; we will have a new and beautiful lobby along with a gorgeous restaurant.

We thank you so much for choosing us as your home away form home and hope you give us an opportunity to welcome you back to our property.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, I can be reached at szinnanti@alliancehospitality.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I was a little hesitant when I made my reservation after reading some of the hotel reveiws, but I must say I was really impressed with this hotel. My family and I flew in from Ft. Lauderdale on August 5, 2012 (we stayed 4 days) and arrived at the hotel hours early. I was afraid there would not be a room available, but we were checked in with no problem. We paid extra for a room with a veiw and we were put in a room with a beautiful view of the Empire State Building. From the moment we stepped on the hotel property we were treated with exceptional service from the Concierge staff to the Front Desk Staff. Everyone was so freindly and helpful. We were very surprised by the size of the room. The sheets on the bed smelled very fresh and clean and the room smelled very nice. It was a really pretty room with a microwave and refridgerator. The location was AWESOME. On the street itself there was nothing but flower shops mainly, but the subway is just steps away and Times Square is basically a 5 minute train ride. This hotel is very closeto everything. NO, I did not have a problem with slow elevators. I have to say we had a great experience at this hotel. I have already recommended it to freinds who will be visiting in March and I will visit again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonya529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you had an overall good experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. We find out location and room amenities to be very convenient for our guests. Our employees do a great job of welcoming and taking good care of our guests as well. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
396 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My wife and I had a 5 nights stay at the Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea. It was an almost perfect stay. The hotel is very well located on 28th street between 6th and 7th avenue, and with 3 subway station in walking distance from the hotel.
The staff was very helpful, two examples are:
We arrived in the evening and the hotel was fully booked, and we got a room on the 7th floor. We asked at the front desk if we could have a room on one of the higher floors. We were told to leave our bags packed in the room the next morning then we left the hotel for the day. At our return to the hotel we received new key cards to our new room at the 23th floor, where our bags were moved to.
One of the mornings we went for breakfast at the hotel restaurant, we did both order the breakfast buffet, but my wife was not so hungry anyway, so she did only have a bagel and a cup of coffee. We were only charged for one "buffet" and a bagel instead of two "buffets" which we had ordered. Most places would have charged for two.
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea is clearly a hotel we would like to return to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterOdgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! Our staff works diligently to bring personal attention to every guest interaction, and we are pleased you received that attention. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures as well. It is nice that we are so close to major attractions, but yet our guests are able to escape large crowds and a lot of noise. Thank you again for your kind words, and we are looking forward to see you during your next visit to New York!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn - Chelsea on Labor Day. We found an incredible AAA rate ($79!) and I couldn't believe what a deal we got! Our King room was spacious as far as New York City hotel rooms go. The room and bathroom were spotless and the bed was super comfy. We had planned to visit Soho that day/evening and then midtown for business the following day. This hotel was the perfect base camp for visiting both areas. The hotel staff were all super friendly and helpful. This hotel is a gem!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gomesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hgichelsea, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are so pleased to hear you had a great experience at the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea. Our staff does a wonderful job exceeding expectations and making sure everything is spotless. We are happy to hear our location was convenient for your many adventures. Thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#154 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,828 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#187 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New Y...
#316 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,921 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#124 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 800 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#167 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea

Property: Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Address: 121 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001-6102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#201 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delight in Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea - a modern Madison Square Garden hotel. Perfectly located in the city's Flower and very chic Chelsea district, the hotel is in the heart of it all. Just south of Times Square and convenient to Penn Station, Grand Central Station and all subway lines, this charming Chelsea hotel is central to the wonders of the city. Less than 0.5 miles to Jacob Javits Center Four blocks to Macy's Seven different subway lines within a short walking distance Three blocks to Madison Square Garden. Connect in Business at this Madison Square Garden Hotel. Corporate travelers enjoy an easy walk to many businesses and area corporations: Jacob Javits Convention Center, Fashion Institute of Technology, Flat Iron Building, Macy's, Fisher Price, Cisco Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn New York - Chelsea Hotel New York City
Chelsea Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton New York City
Hilton Garden Inn Chelsea
New York City Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing