We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clever and entertaining” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stomp

Stomp
Book In Advance
More Info
$81.25*
and up
STOMP Off-Broadway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Matchboxes, brooms, garbage cans, Zippo lighters and more fill the stage with energizing beats at STOMP, the inventive and invigorating stage show that's dance, music and theatrical performance blended together in one electrifying rhythm.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clever and entertaining”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Always good to see a show that turns a clever idea into something entertaining. This show is not about the technicalities involved in tap dancing but nevertheless provides the audience a novel way of being entertained. The show can be loud, so if after a while your ears hurt, be advised to take some earplugs. Overall, very worthwhile for all ages to enjoy.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Blacken2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    572
    149
    34
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“"Interminable"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Please, don't be put off by the title of my review. There is no doubt that STOMP is so incredibly entertaining, so clever and steeped with performers who are so undoubtedly talented. The biggest - that is, the only - problem is that STOMP is soooooo long! Now it's true our tickets were freebies. As a result, upon being seated my emotional investment in the show was not at 100% (fair weather theatergoer, I confess). However, once the performers come sweeping onto the stage the audience is engaged and delighting in the percussive beats. It's great! The first 45 minutes are GREAT! But minute 46 and well, you don't have to beat this dead horse. By then, it's simply overkill. My focus shifted from the show to my own plans of escape - - Fake a heart attack? Generate a parole letter mandating my prompt return to the cell block? Have my kid fake a seizure? Really, if I hadn't been given seats in the first 5 rows any one of these schemes would have been executed. By 1 hour, the tourists were boppin' and whoopin' and stompin' along while I tried to induce an aneurysm. You can imagine my fury during the encore. Maybe I'm impatient. No. I AM impatient but really my money's worth was awarded so soon into the show that all that extra was wasted on me. The kids got restless too - but maybe it's in their blood.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank savinis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun! Kids loved it!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013

Considered Broadway, but ended up selecting Stomp due to location and availability of good tickets at a reasonable price. We had 5 adults and 3 kids (young teens). Everyone enjoyed the show!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
87 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“This is the show to see if you have boys!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

(Don't be caught with your teenage boys tagging along with Mama and Grandma to see Mammma Mia. Take your boys to see STOMP! they'll be talking about it or years to come!)
The other reviews are very accurate!! A must see show!
STOMP was so exciting and every act was new and held a surprise. We laughed and enjoyed the audience participation. There were so many items used to produce music and the actors had a good idea of how to keep everyone's attention. We got a lot of fun out of watching a family with boys ahead of us in the audience. The tickets were also reasonable for a family on a budget who still want to see some New York shows. (Don't be frustrated by the graffiti in the area of the theater. It just adds to the exciting elements of the show!)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank RaeEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“The Highlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This was our first trip to New York, traveling as a family with two teenagers 19 and 15. It requires audience participation and lasts 1 hour 45 mins with no intermission. Time flies when you are having fun, everyone enjoyed this show. My husband and I were laughing so hard, we were literally crying. Worth every penny, this is a must see!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank BMalissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stomp also viewed

 

Been to Stomp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing