We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of citizenM New York Times Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
citizenM New York Times Square
Ranked #22 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good value, Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Nice chain hotel that's been give a boutique vibe. Definitely a hotel for someone planning a great manhattan location with really clean and functional rooms but not a big price tag.

Nice rooftop bar with great views. Rooms are small but very functional with a large bed virtually built under the window and a huge flat screen TV. Large shower room.

Breakfasts were very good and the staff very, very good.

Will be using this place again

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank richardspeldhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Hello richardspeldhurst,

Thanks for your review. I was happy to read you found us a good value. New York is an expensive city but relative to other hotels in our area, we're priced competitively. Thank you too for your nice comment about our team. Appreciate it.

See you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,812
    553
    90
    30
    15
See reviews for
300
1,386
217
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel is great and strategic. In 1 min you are in time square and there is subway stop just right to the entrance. Rooms are very cool, all is controlled by a tablet (lights, heating, curtains, etc...). The staff is very nice and polite. When you arrive you can also choose the late check out,so paying 56 dollars more you don't have to leave the room at 12 but at 16. Only "negative" thing is that rooms are small, but it's the standard for NYC. I really suggest this place.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank F1L00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
HI F1L00,

Thanks for your review. I was very happy to read you felt we were "amazing". Glad you appreciated our late checkout option. We think it is good value and see you agree. Yes, as others have noted, our rooms are smaller, but most, like you, think they work well for their trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

Very cozy/trendy hotel. Staff is very helpful. You can do everything from your bed with the tablet. Loved the mood lighting. Times Square is just around the corner. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Wicked is right across the street. Go see it. Amazing show! Read the quotes on the walls. I learned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tri300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Tri300,

Thank for sharing with us. Very happy to read that you enjoyed and would return. Hope your first trip to the Big Apple was fun and you'll be back soon.

Look forward to seeing you again.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

It's a nice hotel..very modern but a bit pricey. Rooms are pretty cool but could be better. My room didn't have any wash cloths or coffee & hotel doesn't offer free breakfast like most hotels in NYC does but for the most part I would stay again. Location is great & so is the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Fungal33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Fungal33,

Glad you chose citizenM for your visit and very happy to read you liked us and would return. New York is an expensive city, but we work to keep our prices reasonable when compared to other hotels in our area. We also provide free water in the rooms, free WiFi and free movies. We do charge for breakfast, but if you pre-purchase (or at check in) it is only $16 including tax for a full, hot breakfast. Relative to other hotels & restaurants, we think it's fair.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed 3 nights at the Citizen M Times Square. I am a huge fan of the W Hotels but too often just too expensive.....well for me from now on I will be looking for a Citizen M hotel when I travel!......loved the common areas....fantastic staff.....mini rooms....but mini techno rooms with a fantastic bed is just WoW to me!!!......love it love it love it......I tried very hard to find flaws.........found one : no hair conditionner???......euh.......no worries......still big time in love with Citizen M!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BacchusB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi BacchusB,

...and we love, love, love you! Thank you for your review, especially acknowledging the team. The cool stuff is cool, but it our connection to our guests that we are most proud of. We will be adding washcloths soon and our brand team is looking at other enhancements, like conditioner.

Hope you come back soon.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

The minute you walk into the lobby this place will put a big smile on your face. Great design features, quirky ideas. Friendly staff. Great facilities. Two great bars. Our room was a double but even though small it felt large as the designers made the most of every inch of space. Got to see it for yourself.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geezers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi Geezers5,

Thanks for your review. When I read that we put a smile on your face...what a great compliment...thank you. We hope others take your advice and come see us.

Until next visit...

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Geneva, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014

Trendy/design hotel. Young, efficient and friendly staff. Very enjoyable indeed! Loved the modernity & the location of the hotel; the clean, fresh, calm, high-tech room.
Very good breakfast.
Everything is just perfect and spotless!
The lounge bar on the 21st floor is just amazing!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LUCIA P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
citizenLance, Manager at citizenM New York Times Square, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Hi LUCIA P,

Thank you so much for your review. So pleased to read you liked us and things were perfect. We fully agree about the rooftop bar, cloudbar. It is a very special place that our guests love.

See you back here on your next trip.

citizenLance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#37 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Midtown
Casablanca Hotel by Library Hotel Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#58 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,864 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#12 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Midtown
The French Quarters Guest Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to citizenM New York Times Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about citizenM New York Times Square

Property: citizenM New York Times Square
Address: 218 West 50th Street, New York City, NY 10019-6702
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — citizenM New York Times Square 4*
Number of rooms: 230
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in iconic Times Square, just off the corner of Broadway & 50th, citizenM New York offers 230 boutique rooms in the heart of the theater district. Come for a piece of cultural notoriety and stay for the anti-jet lag rain showers and free Wi-Fi, free movies, hi-tech MoodPad tablet to control every detail of your room, super chic lobby spaces designed as Vitra living rooms, an on-site MENDO library for perusing or purchasing, 24/7 dining and cocktailing at canteenM, a quiet mezzanine terrace, fully-equipped gym and yoga terrace, and the skyline showstopper: an exclusive rooftop bar, cloudbar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your citizenM New York Times Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing